Echo Dot countdown boutiques-francophones Introducing Fire TV Stick Basic Edition WFM home Kindle sports Tools



on March 10, 2017
wasn't what i though it would be. fast shipping thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2004
Since reading "Into Thin Air", I have become a virtual Everest '96 hound, and this is my first quarry. The IMAX team's goal on Everest was to film David Breashear's expedition in that fateful year, focusing primarily on Ed Viesturs, a seasoned climber from the States, and Araceli Segarra, in her quest to be the first Spanish woman to reach the summit. A lot of attention, deservedly so, is paid as well to Jangbu Sherpa, son of Tenzing Sherpa who accompanied Sir Edmund Hilary in his premier trip to the summit.
And watching these climbers was riveting--ascending sheer sheets of ice, yards high, that look as though they are leaning in towards the climber; crossing bottomless chasms by placing an aluminum work ladder from one side to the other, and using it as a bridge; and feeling (in part through the excellent cinematography) the pull the mountain exerts on them to continue on. But I was floored, completely, by the thought of the cinematic team following along, all the way to the top, regardless of the weight and awkwardness of the equipment. For example, in the aforementioned aluminum ladder scene, shots seem to be taken from each side of the chasm. Had they carried that heavy equipment accross that ladder? And, once they came down from such a difficult and draining climb, they still managed to piece together a marvelous film.
The cinematography, once again, is gorgeous. Shots of the mountain convey not only its beauty, but its terrifying danger, as ice and whirling snow tower over the climbers, as a rescue helicopter wavers, uncertainly, as Liam Nelson explains the scientific impossibility of a helicopter to work in such thin air (it does). Seeing the Icefall alone, I think, was worth the price I paid for the video.
Warning: If you get this movie expecting it to be a documentary covering the Adventure Consultants and Mountain Madness Expeditions, chronicled in "Into Thin Air", you will be disappointed. The IMAX expedition was unrelated to the others, and of course the crew could not predict that those expeditions might yield more interesting, if tragic, results. But the teams do interact with each other when it becomes clear that members are facing unexpected danger. I enjoyed "meeting" many of the folks I had read about.
Finally, "Everest", the film, stands on its own. With a terrific story in Araceli Segarra, wonderful images from Utah and Spain as well as Nepal, and a score assisted by George Harrison melodies, it provides a great armchair journey to the top of the world.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2001
Having seen a few Everest videos, this one is at the top. Wheareas the IMAX format affords a clear and crisp panorama of the climb and the descent, it is really the bonus cuts which make the DVD worth a viewing, in particular: the computer-generated 3D climbing route and vista from the summit, the interviews with the 3 featured climbers, and the thoughtful and methodical introspection of a climber rescued after a near-death experience, Dr. Beck Weathers! The video could have given the viewer a better background on the mountain itself. Its 3D graphics, though clear, reminded me of the graphics from my son's video games of a few years ago. To the moviemakers' credit, they justly call the Sherpas who toted their equipment and supplies (some of it all the way to the summit), "the real heroes of the expedition." Among world-class climbers, such acknowledgement and attribution are rare. Finally, of special note are the comments of Jamling Norgay, the son of Tensing Norgay, the first climber, along with Edmund Hillary, of Everest in the 1950s. If you get a chance to get your hands on this DVD, please see it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2004
I am professional outdoor/aerial photographer from Alaska who has seen grandeur of mother nature which would make most people cry in utter awe. This movie reminds me of spending quality time at Denali (Mt. McKinley) climber's basecamp at 7,300 feet. With 14,000 to 20,320 foot peaks and the constant rumbling of avalanches all around you, you get a sense of "total sensory overload". This DVD is as real as big mountains get when placed onto the big silver screen or your home TV. The "extra" parts to the DVD make it even more worth buying!

This movie is also a godsend for the tourism in Nepal and Himalayan Region. The sheer maginitude of the Himalayas is shown here on this movie is as deep as the human spirt and as tall as the sky. However, to see this visuals from the elevation these climbers see it, you risk AMS, HAPE, HACE, snow blindness, avalanches and/or most certainly death for any small mistake in judgement.
David Breashers deserves a medal of international honour for making such a masterpiece of a documentary. In addition, I wish pay a great tribute to the late George Harrison for making such awe-inspiring and chilling music scores for the backdrop of this movie. If you were moved this movie on DVD, you owe it to yourself to buy the audio CD soundtrack as well. Every you go where Mother Nature shows off her wonders, take the CD with you and get inspired. When you listen to the audio CD, you can visualize the raw beauty of the Everest region and seens from the DVD in your mind.
May the climbers from the 1996 Everest Disaster rest in peace. Also to all potential Everest climbers, you need to learn from these climbers fatal mistakes before you become a statistic yourself. As Ed Viesturs says regarding risk and climbing, "Getting to the top is optional, getting down is mandatory".
My last words for this review are, "Always respect the power of Mother Nature"....and when out in nature "leave no trace"..
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2000
I had relatively high expectations of this video, after reading about the role its creators played in the events on Everest discussed in the books about the tragedy; the video was interesting but much shorter than I'd imagined. It includes an interview with survivor Buck Weathers (hope I remembered the name right) which is very interesting. It's worth watching, but perhaps better as a rental.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2004
I have 7 Everest DVD's and this is definitely at the top end of the collection. All the extras on the DVD also make very interesting viewing and you cannot help but feel total admiration for anyone who attempts the Everest challenge, whether it is being a cook at Base camp or oen of the elite that actually manages to reach the summit. I recommend this to anyone old enough to understand it. Great stuff!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2001
This movie deserves the highest ratings. The feature is short, but most IMAX movies are. This doesn't take away from the thrill though. This DVD contains "Making Of Everest" which makes the time a lot longer. It also has deleted scenes, extra climber journals, and a really cool 3D Everest map.
Everest puts you on site of the tallest mountain in the world. David Breashears shows the training and tribulation of the mountain that everyone goes through. The movie was filmed during the 1996 climbing dissaster. The expedition was halted to help rescue these climbers. The making of Everest documents this disaster.
The Making Of Everest also has tons of information on the IMAX film and the hiking team. The team was composed of many climbers including a rock climber from Mexico and a Sherpa, whose father was with the first ever to climb Everest. The IMAX film is 10 times sharper and can be shown clearly on screens up to 7 stories high. One reel weighs 10 pounds and only get 90 seconds of video.
A DVD doesn't do justice to what the IMAX theater does. I would totally recommend you see this in theater or on a big screen TV. This is a superior IMAX movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2000
Stunning cinematography, incredible acts of human courage, beautiful landscapes, sacrifice and hardship, pain and suffering
Everest
I wanted to take a second to address one reviewer's thoughts:
Reviewer: William from Texas January 16, 2000 If you've read "Into Thin Air", you'll be disappointed in the film's inability to capture the human drama and hardships of the climbers. It is interesting, however, to see the scenery that you read about in the book. The film is only 45 minutes long - not a real good price-performer. The additional material is very good though - the interview with Beck Weathers is by far the most impactful piece of this disk.
* * *
And if you read "Into Thin Air" you will also notice that it was written by Jon Krakauer who was not even a member of Ed Viesturs team. "Everest" is an account of Ed Viesturs' team and *their* experience climbing to the top of Mount Everest. Of of the 4 teams that got stranded on top of Everest on that fateful night, there were people that had "no business being there". I cannot remember whether it was Ed Viesturs or Aracelli but that's a direct quote from one of Viesturs team members. "Many teams lacked a critical amount of experience" was another quote from Viesturs.
Ed Viesturs' team was the "dream team" of mountain climbers. They assembled a great cast of leaders, a great support team, they planned the entire trip from the start, and as luck would have it, the "Gods" were on their side as well. They also made the right decisions at the right time which certainly helped to avoid a lot of the hardships other teams had to face. Jamling Norgay (having been born in Tibet) and his team of "sherpas" had lived in the Himalayas all their lives. If anyone knew about survival tricks and tactics living in the Himalayas it would be Jamling Norgay. Of course he was able to pass along his wisdom and insights to the rest of the team. It is not discussed in detail in the movie, but Viesturs team was probably very well financed. This results in better clothing, equipment, better food and/or more food. After all, Imax (as well as some Geological survey team) was sponsoring this event from the start. It's hard to do a film when you don't have the tools you need to do your job right. They had to haul a 40 pound camera all the way to the summit. Think that's easy? Jon Krakauer didn't have 30 pound rolls of film strapped to his back. Somebody had to carry that camera, all those rolls of film, tripod, and so forth up the summit (and back down). So in one sense Viesturs' team had to endure a lot more than the other teams did. And just to give you an idea of how important weight was, the climbers were cutting their toothbrushes in half just to save some weight! Yes, you heard me right, they were shaving off every little once just to make it *THAT* much easier to pull themselves up the ice! That 40 lb camera probably felt more like 100 lbs at the summit.
Yes, the movie is only 45 minutes long, but you have to look at this in the context of what you are seeing. You are climbing Mount Everest, the tallest mountain in the world.
You can't compare this to say, the beautiful beaches of Hawaii where anyone can go and shoot a scene. You can't compare this to the Sierra Nevada because that area is easily accessible.
There's only 1/3 the oxygen level up there so there's nothing for the rotors of a helicopter to bite onto. It's not like you can just fly up there with a camera and shoot because you might get killed.
Everest is a place where neither man nor machine is welcome and that makes this video VERY special.
Off to the side, this DVD is chock filled with extra features. In addition to the Beck Weathers interview, there's "The Making of Everest" which was about 45 minutes in length. I found this to be very informative and enjoyed it as much as the movie.
There's a "3D Map" which gives an computer generated image overview of Everest. Within this "3D Map" there's "Camp Information" (info on Base Camp, Middle Camp and High Camp) as well as the "Climber's Perspective" (a short description of that part of the mountain).
There's a set of "Climber's Video Journals" which is an up close video of 3 of the climbers.
Lastly, there's "Deleted Scenes" which are all the scenes that did not make the final cut. So actually you do get quite of bit of "bang" for your "buck". Well over 2 1/2 hours worth of film I would guess.
As for one reviewer below who was complaining that they could have made this longer and more into a "feature" film:
This isn't supposed to be a full length feature film. All of IMAX's films are around 45 minutes. It's more of a documentary, and this film has absolutely stunning cinematography for a documentary.
I've seen several IMAX movies before since I was a small child. The first time being at Mariott's Great America about 15 years ago where (at the time) it was only one of two IMAX movie screens in the entire world. This is the best IMAX movie I've ever seen. From the reviews I've read on IMAX's other films being sold on Amazon dot Com "Everest" gets the highest ratings by far. And even though you probably won't be able to see this on an IMAX screen, a big screen TV will still provide you with plenty of beautiful stills that will make you want to watch this over and over. If you have a DVD player, definitely add this one to your collection!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2000
There are so many reviewers who have vented invalid complaints about "Everest" on DVD it's ridiculous. Here's another:
"Reviewer: Thomas Alan Gamble from Kent, Washington January 14, 2000 I bought this expecting to see many wonderous things. What I got was a dull narrative, a bunch of scenes that do not belong on 70mm (packing / unpacking / talking on a telephone / assembly-line lunch) and very little footage of the mountain or climbing."
This is totally untrue. There is footage of unpacking, talking on phones, lunch and so forth, but it's very short and is put in to help build up the storyline. There's plenty of footage of the mountain and the actual climbers.
"Why would I want to see this on DVD or VHS without the benefit of WideScreen footage anyway?"
IMAX format size is very similar to the size of your TV screen so you are never going to find a "Widescreen" version. What you see is pretty much what you get in the IMAX Theater.
"I am pretty disappointed with the whole package. I would guess that the camera crew go gun-shy after the tradgedy that claimed 8 lives. As a result, we see the rear of the climbers, mostly, and shots from conservative angles."
They only had enough film for about 90 seconds of footage and they had to be conservative because they were not going to get another chance. The camera weighed 40 lbs and each canister of film weighed 10 lbs which is a tremendous load up there considering there's only 1/3 the oxygen level and you are in sub zero temperatures. I think we should show some compassion and understanding for the photographers for the outstanding work they did under those conditions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2001
Another superbly done IMAX documentary by the MacGillivray team! While shot originally for the IMAX screen, the images are magnificent and surprisingly awesome considering the restraints the film crew encountered!! Keep in mind that segments are shot in 90 second intervals before changing the film cannister and the camera/film gear weighs a couple of hundred pounds! They have footage of men and women struggling for the summit and I admire most the crew who endured to obtain the most breathtaking images of the Everest that have been shot to date. The edits are meaningful and this documentary stays true to the genre by recording what the team experienced with enough background information for context. The narration by Liam Neeson and the music of George Harrison are both blended in to make this film one amazing accomplishment. If you love cinema, especially documentary cinema, this one is for you. It was captivating for me and for my two toddler children as well. Truly a celebration of life and beauty.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here