countdown boutiques-francophones Beauty Furniture Kindle sports Tools

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$56.35+ $3.49 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 23, 2017
An excellent album: the final song, Echoes (one of Floyd's highlights), transports me to alternate realms.
This was the first album I ever bought, when it was first released, and I had darker hair (and much more of it!).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2017
Love this album, was glad to track it down within​ Canada. Excellent customer service from a great seller. Will buy from again!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 21, 2017
thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2017
Excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2003
Here's a track by track breakdown:
One of These Days: A nice bouncing bass line, Dr. Who Synth lines, and wicked lyrics make this one a 5/5
Pillow Of Winds: A sentimental favorite of mine, and of the prettiest songs ever. Listening to this reminds one of a falling feather. 5/5
Fearless: Amazing!!! Life Changer!!! Holy moly!!! The accoustic guitar is so clear and perfect and the singing is so amazing!! It's so well thought out and delivered with a level of sensitivity that is only achieved by the greats.This one is written from deep within. 5/5
San Topez: Catchy song. One that you may not like at first but just you wait you'll find that you'll have "As I reach for a peach...' stuck in your head. 4/5
Seamus: Seamus is pronounced Shamus. It's kind of like Sean/Shawn. On this one Floyd plays some deep blues with a real dog adding a nice effect. Not a life changing song, but short and pleasant. 4/5
Echoes: Pure genius!!! This song foreshadowed some of the greater themes to come on Dark Side of The Moon, Wish You Were Here, and so on. This song is a well orchestraded psychadelic masterpiece. 5/5
Final note, the genius of Fearless and Echoes makes up for any blemishes (as tiny as they are) that this album may have. This album is up there with the greatest albums ever made in my opinion and should be a part of any serious CD collection for a fan of rock music.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 15, 2001
Many folks, me included, can tell you the exact time and place they first heard Meddle. Of all the Pink Floyd recordings, this may be my favorite, but I have to confess that it sounds a bit dated these days. Still, the music here captures the band at a moment when their early experimentalism, which reached its nadir with "Atom Heart Mother," and the bloated excess of their stadium rock such as "Animals" are kept at bay. There is a bit of everything here, from the lilting San Tropez, to the playfulness of Fearless, to the masterful water-pipe ode Echoes.
If you don't have this PF CD, you should. The boys are in fine form here, letting their strong musical talents push the music. The studio hijinx so lauded on "Dark Side of the Moon" and the subsequent body of their work can be detected here, but these are kept in check.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2008
The extravagant piece, Echoes, remains brilliant to this day because it stretches the listening ear and imagination of the listener. The opening riff and subsequent lyrics soon explode into a totally mind-expanding, improvisational set that is totally absorbing and slightly unsettling. Then the piece gradually returns to a more melodic sound and the listener is set gently down on the ground to the sound of the original echo. To this day I have never heard such a brilliant piece of "rock" music, and when I first heard it in 1970 it was THE radical sound.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2006
I could listen to this album all day, and I often do!! It's seamless, timeless, and ethereal music will get you through that rough day at work without a hitch! LOVE IT! This and "Wish You Were Here" are my two all-time fav Pink Floyd albums. I saw them several times in concert in my youth (those darn YUTS!@) and wow, if only we could turn back time..........buy this one, you won't regret it!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2003
Before The Wall, before Dark Side of the Moon, Pink Floyd created a very different kind of masterpiece. While their later albums were a triumph of concept, it is on Meddle where one can hear the *musical* peak of Pink Floyd's career. This is not a concept album--it is a musical journey showing off a variety of musical styles. The lyrics do not demand--they suggest, and allow the music to do the rest of the talking. Perhaps the most wonderful thing about Meddle is the fact that the band was truly functioning as a *band* here. Everyone's talents can be clearly heard, and no one shouts anybody else down.
There is no such thing as filler, on Meddle. Bookended by the mindblowing tracks "One of These Days" and "Echoes", the four "interior" tracks are severely underrated. "A Pillow of Winds" and "Fearless" are both pleasant, leisurely guitar-driven songs, and seem fairly well appreciated by fans. However, I believe that the much-maligned "San Tropez" and "Seamus" are also deserving of appreciation. "San Tropez" is particularly notable for some very unique Roger Waters vocals--rather optimistic and even a touch bluesy...a style he unfortunately never pursued after that point. "Seamus" gives a rare glimpse of the fun side of Pink Floyd, as well as a flashback to the band's origins as a blues cover band. This was never a song meant to be taken so seriously as some do. "One of These Days" is an explosive, energetic instrumental that perhaps foreshadows the angry, driven rock of Animals, but with only one lyric--a rare appearance by Nick Mason, whose processed vocals growl menacingly, "One of these days, I'm going to cut you into little pieces!"
The album's final piece, "Echoes", may be Pink Floyd's greatest work ever. From first to last "ping", this brilliant near-symphony is fantastic. Each bandsman's talents are clearly audible, even the simple-yet-effective contributions of Nick Mason and Roger Waters. The vocal harmony of David Gilmour and Richard Wright is mesmerising. Without question, this song contains the best verse Mr. Waters ever wrote: "Strangers passing in the street, by chance two separate glances meet, and I am you and what I see is me. And do I take you by the hand, and lead you through the land, and help me understand the best I can?"
Unfortunately, this reminder to walk a mile in the other man's shoes was a lesson Mr. Waters forgot in later years, at the price of devastating consequences to the band's output and to the members themselves. This moment in Pink Floyd's history is therefore one-of-a-kind, completely irreplaceable. The entire album can be summed up by the "jam" sequence in "Echoes". Never before, never again do the pieces fit together so seamlessly, each a joy on its own and in combination.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here