countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout home All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
73
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$24.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 16, 2015
Everyone knows the story, this review is on the Blu-ray. The disc package includes a small book which is embedded into the disc package so it's not removable. The book contains stories on the "Making of...", which includes information on the actors, special effects and of course the producer and director. This is a nice addition to the Blu-ray package.

The disc itself contains a lot of extras including a 7 part Making of..., commentary with Ray Harryhausen and a documentary on Merian C. Cooper. The Blu-ray disc quality for such an old movie varies from grainy to amazingly clear. Its still far superior to the original Steel Box DVD version that was released some years back. Even though its a Blu-ray disc its still shown in its original full frame format of 1.33:1.

There's no doubt about the amount of detail that is revealed with the sharpness of Blu-ray, but as mentioned, sharpness also has a tendency to considerably increase the grain in some scenes. I found the grain to be most noticeable at the beginning and in some of the jungle scenes. Those are the areas of heavy grain that I remember because with the sharpness of the video I became more absorbed in watching the details in the incredible sets and special effects that I forgot about the grain. All in all, even with some of the heavy grain here and there, watching King Kong with all this rich visible detail is like watching it for the first time. Make sure you watch the extra on how they made the jungle scene to really marvel at the inventive technical skill of these incredible special effects artist. And remember this movie was released in 1933!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2013
amazing how a movie this old can hold up and be so spectacular today. I loved this movie way more than I expected to. The animation is what impressed me as im sure it was with many other people. The stop motion is so fun to watch and since it was made in the 30's it works as an interesting period piece and Is fun to see how creative they had to be with their limited technology. Kong shaking people off a log to their death, fighting dinosaurs, holding onto his love, and of course climbing the empire state building are all super fun and interesting to watch. Ray Harryhausen in incredible and I really need to see more of his movies because this one and clash of the titans both blew me away. I can't wait to dive into more films like this!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2014
A true classic unlike some classics this movie is truely timeless and as a filmmaker the special feature and things were great. But even as a non filmmaker or even someone who only casually watches movies the special features are still interesting and makes you respect how this film helped shape filmmaking as it is today.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2014
The Bluray itself is everything I wanted and more. The condition of brand new case I ordered was not. All the edges were bent on the case and there was multiple dents and creases on it as well. As a collectors item I was not pleased.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2000
I felt that for a movie from the 1930's that the special effects were good. The movie is a favorite of my husbands and mine. I was actually very sorry to see Kong die.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon July 9, 2006
The basic story is of Carl Denham (Robert Armstrong), who makes those cute little animal pictures that are going out of style. If he wants to stay in business he must add a female interest and some excitement. Circumstances forcing him to leave port quickly, he meets a girl Ann Darrow (Fay Wray), that is down on her luck and convinces her that he will make her a star (on the up and up).

Things get complicated as you know it is bad luck to bring a woman onboard a freighter. And Ann really stirs them up including the first mate, Jack Driscoll (Bruce Cabot). On top of this she has a large date awaiting her at Skull Island.

I will not tell the rest of the story just incase you are one of the few that has missed the movie. But as you have guessed it includes a big ape named KONG. Not that cheesy thing that is always tussling around in Japanese movies, but a much more convincing Kong that can show great emotion.

You are about to watch the eight wonder of the world.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2004
Interpretations--psychological, anthropological, social, evolutionary, racial--abound about 1933's KING KONG. "King Kong is about our inner animal of rage", "King Kong is a critique of man in modern urban times", "King Kong is about technology killing our true nature..." Ad infinitum, ad nauseum.
PUH-LEASE! KING KONG is simply a great story, perfectly directed, with the best animation techniques for its time. While the acting (by humans) is admittedly the weakest link in this film, it has so much else going for it, like suspense, horror, pathos, love, and tragedy. King Kong, the animal, is complex and there are different emotions we experience about him. We don't like him when he gobbles up people or smashes the 2nd Avenue el (an incredible scene!). We admire him for trying to save Fay Wray from the flashbulbs. And we feel incredibly sad when he's killed. Why? I think it's because we see him as a human, at least of having human qualities. But to extend that to some deeper, intellectual level is pointless. It's just an amazing film.
Last comment: The film also has some humor. As a New Yorker, I love the dialogue between the two women at the theater, waiting to see King Kong.
Girl one: "Hey, what's this show about, anyway?"
Girl two: "I don't know. Some big gorilla."
Girl one: (after a clod accidentally steps on her toe): "Aw. Ain't we got enough of them in New Yawk?"
I can't get enough of this classic film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2004
This movie never fails to please because it is just basically good story telling, a solid buildup for the first 40 or so minutes and then action that never lets up and never lets you catch a breath untill the end. Some of the dialogue hasn't aged too well: "Gee,... I guess I love you" makes me cringe every time, and does anybody say "swell" anymore? "These seats cost me twenty bucks!" is a hoot and I use this movie as proof positive that it's not just Canadians who say "eh?" at the end of their sentences. (By the way, I didn't catch Alberta-born Fay Wray saying it but Cabot and Armstrong did a couple of times.)
I am looking forward to the DVD release this year but my 60th anniversary VHS copy is okay for now. It's missing the spider scene and the questionable dialogue and the film source has a bit of artifacts but I find that the transfer to video tape is done a lot better than a lot of my newer movies on VHS.
I find that Fay Wray's acting is probably the best of any actor in this movie and it's a shame her career did not grow beyond this movie. All things considered this creature feature is not one to be missed. Long live Fay Wray!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2003
This has to be the father of Scifi. Consider this movie was made in 1933. The stop motion animation of Willis O'Brien can not be better. To this day most people are amazed with the special effects, cast, sets, story, direction, and music. As one reviewer astutely wrote it is an incredible look at the lifes of common people of the 30s. Is it any wonder that it is a classic and usually rated in the top one hundred of all time SciFi favorite polls.
The only question is why isn't this incredible classic, that even the American Film Institute recognizes in a special on Heroes and Villains, isn't on DVD yet? This is one of those movies that can be watched time and time again and you never tire of it. You catch something new each time. I am always intently watching this movie, the parts where they are tracking Kong in the jungle is an unforgettable adventure and horror. If you haven't watched it in several months or even a year it is all the more entertaining when you see it again. When I think of those movies ahead of their time I always think of this and The Wizard of Oz.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2003
Most great works of world literature can all be traced, I believe to either The Bible or Homer's Odyssey. When closely scrutinized, all classic works contain some sort of quest. That quest can either be for the truth or to return home.
The original King Kong, is not only one of the finest fantasy films ever made, but a great piece of literature because it encompasses those two quests.
Granted, many of the film's elements have dated. Certainly that is the case with some the hammy, overwrought, stereotyped and even at times wooden performances. In our "enlightened", post Marlon Brando-Actor's Studio, age of acting appreciation I think we are all to eager to lay such a criticism on films from that quaint period known as the 1930's. And even though Kong gives the best performance in the film, the actors do their job and tell a believable and captivating story.
Filmmaker Carl Denham's quest for truth and his odyssey is what fantasy films are all about: a journey into a fantastic and strange new world. His desired exploitation of that savage and innocent world is what tragedy is all about. Kong's quest for safety and dominance in his natural habitat makes for a great metaphor for our modern age. So many of us have been uprooted by forces seemingly beyond our control and we all want to find our place back where we came from.
Unfortunately that quest often leeds again to tragic results, Kong, unlike Dorothy ( a story that obviously greatly influenced the screenwriters of Kong), dies.
So much has been already written about this great influential film, nothing I say here will be original or enlightening necessarily. It is just that in this day and age of CGI and garbage like ID4, Armeggedon, Wild Wild West, XXX, and so on it is (or at least once was possible) to use special effects to enhance a story as opposed to letting the screen technology engulf any semblance of humanity.
And also too . . . please release this in a gloriously remastered DVD. Please.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse