countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more scflyout Pets All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
25
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 30, 2014
I use a traditional outdoor smoker routinely on weekends. Those are typically low temp, slow smoking 3-8 hour projects. After reading other reviews and viewing YouTube videos, I bought the Cameron Stovetop Smoker, with the hopes of being able to do quicker, impromptu meals during the week. This product does the job nicely. The temperatures are higher (medium heat on the stovetop - 350F) so the cooking is much quicker. You only use 1 to 1.5 tbsp of wood chips (dust). (it came with 2 small containers of wood). I am impressed with the results. Did 5 large boneless, skinless chicken breasts in only 20 mins. Finished by placing the pan in the oven under the broiler for 3 mins. Smoke flavor was strong, meat was juicy.
Clean up is very easy, wipe out the chips, drippings, etc and place into the dishwasher. The pan will turn black on the inside bottom where the chips were, but this is normal. (like seasoning a pan), there is a covering pan and rack which separates the wood from your food.
I was concerned about how smokey the house would get. It does leak smoke slightly, but not greatly. We have a range hood which easily handled this small amount easily. There was no residual smoke smell the next morning. Love this product.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2016
Works very well, with modification. A lot of smoke escapes, I tried the fixes recommended by Cameron's, but it didn't help. Now I seal the edges with tin foil and it works well. It's a bit of a pain, but the taste is worth it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2010
It is easy to use and clean, and the results are very tasty.

The smoker will blacken on the inside, probably due to the wood chips burning against the metal, but it's safe.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon June 23, 2013
This is a healthy way to cook and everything comes out moist and tender, with a light tasty smoke flavor. I wish I had brought the larger size as the small isn't big enough to cook your meat or fish and veggies. For two servings of meat of fish it is fine. I made a strip-loin steak on it only takes 15 minutes for med. It was moist and tender but if you like it with the grill you could finish it for a few minutes to get the grill marks. I used 1 and a half table spoons of the hickory chipped wood, and it was just right!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2012
This unit gives you the ability to enjoy meals with the smokey flavour of an outdoor bbq, right in your kitchen. It is well constructed and easy to clean. And don't worry ... there is not alot of smoke in the kitchen when in use, although an exhaust fan is recommended. It does take a little time to find out what heat settting you should have on your stove, but you can use the suggested settings to work that out.. For example, a few chicken breasts should take about 25 minutes to get the bird to a little less than eating temperature (as you must grill or broil it for a few minutes to get the desired cooked look)..
The only downside is the cost, which looks to be a little high for what you get.. but this is a niche market unit, and you have to pay for it.
One thing i really like is that i use it to augment my gas fireplace usage.. As these fireplaces dont actually smell like a real fireplace.. when using the cooker, your house will indeed smell like you are firing up a real fireplace and that really is cool.
lots of fun and endless possibilities in the kitchen.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2014
Great little contraption and it didn't make my smoke detector go off. A warning though: your house/apartment might smell like the smoke for a few days - use vents/open windows and possibly consider using incense after to help clear out the smell. Thankfully though, the smell put off by the wood is quite nice.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2014
Very happy with the Cameron smoker. I cooked and smoked baby back pork ribs and they turned out the way I liked them to be. Took about three and a half hours.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2014
it works very well, I am satisfied with the result. Only concern is there is still smoke come out of the lid, I have to put wet towels to seal it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2014
Great for condominiums and apartments! Handy; setup and cleaning easy. Storage is not a problem. Food comes out very tatsy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2014
used it right away, worked as expected, flavor it imparted in the food was good,. will be using this all the time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here