countdown boutiques-francophones Luxury Beauty home Kindle Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$9.51+ $3.49 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 19, 2015
A great movie in its time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2016
Every good DVD thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2004
"You had to be there to understand", was a veteran's answer. "I had to be a six years old from New Zealand to not care less", was my response. Is Platoon, drama or documentary? It is not particularly good at either - neither attempting to explain the conflict nor obey the basic rules of dramatic engagement. In fairness, the good efforts of Messrs. Berenger and Dafoe saved what would have been the strangest war movie since "Francis Joins the WACS". But, this is a serious movie and there needs to be a hero, one who happens to be the only white, rich, educated, pretty boy in the platoon. I learned a lot about Americans by watching this movie. And I learned a lot about Vietnam, too. I learned that Vietnam was littered with the bodies of people who would not have made a living in Hollywood.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2004
Very bad messages in this movie. I thought this movie had a lot of violence in it and encouraged people to kill oriental kids. That is not a good message to send. Kids should not watch this. There were good parts though. The battle scenes were very realistic and the actor from the movie about garbage men was really good in his part. Some of the movie was unrealistic, such as when people got shot they would talk a lot still, chatting even though they got shot. Real people don't do that. I thought this would have been a better movie if they brought the Harry Potter character into it. He is more friendly for families. War is violent is this movie's message.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2015
thank u very much
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2016
as advertised
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2004
Not only does this movie portray the darkness and horror of the Vietnam War, but it shows the evil that can occur within a group. The struggle for control is shown very accurately and can be related with, not only with Vietnam vets but with people who dealt with bad individuals in there life.
I highly recommend this movie and feel that it is a "MUST HAVE" and a classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2004
This is my personal favorite vietnam film. It blew away the others for me (ie..Hamburger Hill, Full metal jacket etc) The story, acting and gritty take of the war made this film VERY important. It asks some pointed questions and is a breathtaking film. Not to be missed! This should be in EVERY war film fan's library. plain and simple.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2004
A great film about Vietnam. Willem Dafoe, Tom Berenger, and Charlie Sheen gave incredible performances. The movie was not as much about Vietnam but about the struggle among themselves. A good versus bad story mixed up in a Vietnam setting. A great depiction about life in vietnam and the impact it had on the characters of the movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2014
Good!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse