countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more scflyout Furniture Music Deals Store sports All-New Kindle Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
286
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$19.21+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 15, 2013
Discovery is by far probably one of the most celebrated French house album in existence, only beaten by Homework by the same dynamic duo. Daft Punk is still cool no matter how many eons have passed. Their visions have surpassed the Voyager, which has nearly passed the realm of human imagination into a never-ending void of space. Space is where anything can happen, and the thing that happened is Discovery. Thomas Bangalter and Guy-Manuel de Homem Christo did an amazing job in making this album happen. The way each track as compiled together is anything but short of a miracle. These, people, are what you call professionals. They are chefs, who piece together appetizers, entrée, and desserts in a harmonious way that makes them dance on the tips of your tongue. The cover is so well thought out, that any design sympathizers would melt like the metal on the cover. I would totally recommend this to all fans of House music and music connoisseurs. This is the new world. This is the future. This is Daft Punk.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2004
This is hands down Daft Punk's best CD. Where else can you find techno music that contains elements of Supertramp, Eddie Van Halen and a creative Barry Manelow sample? This really isn't techno, it really isn't dance, it's just really good music. A must buy.
Oh and as requested, I want to recommend another instrumental CD, a killer instrumental CD, by Mr.Deviant called "Techno Obsession". It's a killer mix of power rock and hard dance music. Check it out if you don't fear any conspiracies.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon April 5, 2015
I wasnt sure at first, but after putting this on my record player, me oh my the sound that came out was fantastic!

It seems that even something that is digitally recorded sounds better through the vinyl medium.

What amazed me most, I have their new album, but I recognize almost all the songs on this album and they all sound good!

This is a good addition to your record collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2004
Daft Punk - Discovery
Este es el disco de Daft Punk clave... despues de Homework, un trabajo excepcional pero aun con algunos tropiezos en su desarrollo. Llega Discovery. Este no es solo un disco dance, sino que es una vision galactica que trata de contarnos a traves de sus videos "one more time", "aerodynamic", "harder, better, faster, stronger" y "something about us" que si existiese otra banda lejos del universo seria increiblemente raptada y lavada del cerebro para hacernos felices a los adolescentes y porque no adultos terrestres. El disco es una obra de arte, ingenioso, aunque con mucha influencia de los años disco de los 70's y 80's, aunque con una base de rock alternativo difusamente alterado postmodernista electro funk y secuencias de raros paisajes galacticos. Si lo escuchas detenidamente te daras cuenta de la historia y momentos que te relatan con la musica, me fascinan discos como este puesto que llevan una secuencia entre la musica y no termina una cuando ya empieza la otra. Entre los tracks contamos con algunos sonidos clasicos y basicos que se hallan en la historia de la banda, si es que sabes de ellos, y para los que no, pues lo siento. Pero se encuentran joyas preciosas y de tipo ambient muy muy gozables como "aerodynamic", "something about us" y "voyager", las oscuras como "night vision", "veridis quo", las bailables como "one more time", las suaves romanticas al estilo funk 70's como "digital love", "crescendolls", las expresivas emocionales como "face to face". en fin es un disco increible. no le hace falta nada a este disco. es perfecto. Podria decir que es el mejor disco de Daft Punk.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2004
Daft Punk - Discovery
Este es el disco clave de Daft Punk... despues de Homework, un trabajo excepcional pero aun con algunos tropiezos en su desarrollo. Llega Discovery. Este no es solo un disco dance, sino que es una vision galactica que trata de contarnos a traves de sus videos "one more time", "aerodynamic", "harder, better, faster, stronger" y "something about us" que si existiese otra banda lejos del universo seria increiblemente raptada y lavada del cerebro para hacernos felices a los adolescentes y porque no adultos terrestres. El disco es una obra de arte, ingenioso, aunque con mucha influencia de los años disco de los 70's y 80's, aunque con una base de rock alternativo difusamente alterado postmodernista electro funk y secuencias de raros paisajes galacticos. Si lo escuchas detenidamente te daras cuenta de la historia y momentos que te relatan con la musica, me fascinan discos como este puesto que llevan una secuencia entre la musica y no termina una cuando ya empieza la otra. Entre los tracks contamos con algunos sonidos clasicos y basicos que se hallan en la historia de la banda, si es que sabes de ellos, y para los que no, pues lo siento. Pero se encuentran joyas preciosas y de tipo ambient muy muy gozables como "aerodynamic", "something about us" y "voyager", las oscuras como "night vision", "veridis quo", las bailables como "one more time", las suaves romanticas al estilo funk 70's como "digital love", "crescendolls", las expresivas emocionales como "face to face". en fin es un disco increible. no le hace falta nada a este disco. es perfecto. Podria decir que es el mejor disco de Daft Punk.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2003
Discovery as a stand alone work works. It's an electronica pastiche of a whole lot of influences that synthesizes into some heavy break beats and great dance grooves. The first time I listened to it, some of the tracks were lost on me. There were these crazy anime videos that came out with some of the singles, and they matched to the visuals so well that it made me wonder what the rest of the album would look like as music videos.
Well, now it makes sense--the album is the soundscape for Interstella 5555 The 5tory of the 5ecret 5tar 5ystem, a collaboration between the goofy Daft Punk kids and anime artist Leiji Matsumodo (Space Pirate Captain Harlock, Spacebattleship Yamato, a whole lot of cool stuff go look him up). There have been music videos, and long form works, but only DJ Q-Berts Wavetwisters has the same kind of visual audacity. Interstella does it one better, though, by creating a film where the music doesn't stop.
Some of the tracks that seemed to drag--they make sense once the visuals are in place. Daft Punk crafted the story for the anime work, so I don't doubt that the melodies and strange transgressions are intentional now--especially the copious use of rain sounds and such.
If you aren't into spaceage anime, wierd cartoons and dance music, stay away--you'll hate this stuff. If you want to see and hear what the coolest stuff of the 21st century should be all about, check it out. Listen to the album to groove on the sounds--then see the movie and witness a pop allegory about the current state of the music industry.
werd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2001
After all the hype about Discovery, I'm just a tiny bit disappointed. These boys are definitely clever and cool and have all their pop references down. In it's own dumb way it's extremely smart.
However, despite they're apparent womb-to-adulthood immersion in pop style, too little real songsmithing seems to have rubbed off. A lot of their taking off points, like the great Kraftwerk and Chic, created confections as airy as these, but more put-together in ways that look positively Byzantine by comparison. If you're going to appropriate something with a cute ironic twist, at least fully appreciate it.
There is too littly variation per song -- no build, no bridges. The same gimmick or hook just gets worked and worked and worked to death (a la Fat Boy Slim, another critic-adored master of overworked single ideas). However (again, like Fat Boy Slim) it is invariably a great hook or gimmick and that's why I find myself returning despite my misgivings. They will be perfect in advertisements for cars, computers and brokerage firms in a few months as cool once again gets masticated and barfed up for reeating by the pseudo-hip rubes of USA Inc.
In the meantime, it's nice to see Paris, a city with a gay socialist mayor, becoming the capital of cool again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2001
I didn't have much expectations for "Discovery" when it first came out but after seeing the video for "One More Time" for the first time I knew immediately that this album was going to be special and that I had to have it in my constantly growing cd collection.
I have the duo's first album "Homework" which I loved dearly but I thought that cd was flawed. The album is so cold in comparison to the warmth and funkiness of "Discovery". This album is shorter than its predecessor which keeps the listener wanting more. I think that it is a good thing. The disco, electro-funk flavor of this album permeates the entire cd from "One More Time" all the way to "Too Long". Each song is so good that the listener doesn't pay much attention to the length of the song like "Too Long" which is a 10 minute epic dance track. Sampling Barry Manilow for "Superheroes" was brilliant. It really worked well for the song. Normally I am not too crazy about artists sampling other artists' songs but I can definitely make an exception with Daft Punk.
I definitely can rate "Discovery" as one of the best cds of the new millenium so far as well as best dance album. This album totally confirmed me as a serious Daft Punk fan. I just hope I don't have to wait too long for the next album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2001
This album really surprised me. While the powerful dance tracks in "Homework" (1997) were reminiscent of some of the best dance music from the late seventies, "Discovery" offers us a mesh of some of the most popular and uplifting synth-pop and electro-funk from the early eighties.
Each track in this album brings childhood memories. It works as a sound compilation of great top-forty dance hits from twenty years ago, but yet not sounding like one single band in particular.
"Digital Love" is the song that The Buggles never made, but you can hear hints of Supertramp in it. "Aerodynamic" uses a great deal of good humor to bring some of the headbanging metal of the time, Van Halen style, mixed with some Kraftwerk, and "Superfreak"-styled funk.
Plenty of images and sounds of the early 80s come to mind when listening to the album (Donna Summer, Styx, Jan Hammer, Herbie Hancock, Paul Hardcastle, etc). A great treat for those of us that grew up listening to that stuff.
As someone else said about this album, it's a great challenge trying to be in a bad mood after listening to "Discovery".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2001
It's back to the 70's through the looking glass of tomorrow ... Daft Punk's follow-up is just that! While not groundbreaking, DISCOVERY (was the title in any way a homage to ELO?) is a pleasure to listen to. I actually like it better than the then-seminal HOMEWORK (1996) which was hampered by some grueling and lengthy tracks. DISCOVERY opens with hit "One More Time" which uses the vocoder appropriately (sorry Cher) and firmly places us all back on the disco floor whether we like it or not! My favorite, "Digital Love", is a brilliant encapsulation of late 70's pop (Buggles, 10cc, Supertramp ... the works) delivered in Daft Punk's trademark vocoded vocals. As before, Daft Punk's knack for assembling cut-and-paste melodies from sampled fragments is showcased on "High Life" (disco diva) and quite cleverly on "Face to Face" (the opening reminded me of the quirky genius of producer Tony Mansfield had he toyed with sampling technology with his early 80's band New Musik). When listening to this album I can't seem to get recent retro films like BOOGIE NIGHTS and THE VIRGIN SUICIDES out of my head! In short, if you like 70's dance music, you'll love this album, and you don't even have to like techno.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse