countdown Learn more boutiques-francophones vpcflyout Home All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
182
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$10.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 14, 2013
A fantastic season. I'd recommend this, even if this is all you got.

Season two is a real let-down, so if you like things being neat and tidy and consistent then don't bother.

If you think she's hot, then get this. GET THIS. Holy hot damn.

A great mood, a great "universe", interesting characters and good acting. A little silly and funny at times, and there's a lot for a good mind to work with. Great entertainment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2002
Okay so we all know that Angel was always going to have a hard job living up to the expectations set by Buffy, and okay so it isn't quite as good. That certainly doesn't mean that this series isn't superb in its own right. Set up in L.A. we have Angel (David Boreanaz) running his own detective agency with the help of Cordelia (Charisma Carpenter) and Doyle (the sadly deceased Glenn Quinn). It's a lot darker than Buffy, or at least it was when Buffy was still in its fourth series, and some would argue Buffy series 6 to be even darker than Angel. The main theme is obviously redemption and what we have here is probably the closest to the kind of monster-of-the-week, no story arc material that Joss Whedon and David E. Greenwalt have ever done.
To say this isn't as good as Buffy is kind of a cop-out, because there are some absolutely superb episodes here. In particular there is I Will Remember You, an absolutely heartbreaking episode in which Buffy (Sarah Michelle Gellar) and Angel are reunited, but only for a day and of which only he will carry the memory. There's also In The Dark, the closest the show has got to something that's really disturbing, in a horrible torturer character. This episode also sees the crossover of Oz (Seth Green) and Spike (James Marsters), with probably just about the funniest speech that has ever come out of Spike's mouth starting the episode off. What will really get your attention though is the stunning, spectacular two-parter where we see Faith's (Eliza Dushku) return in Five By Five and Sanctuary. Both shows have always shown an amazing tenderness to this character that is practically abnormal among other series, with Faith being presented as a real person rather than your typical bad guy. After a fairly close-to-the-bone torture scene who can say that they didn't feel a slight shiver down their spine as Faith pounded on Angel's chest begging him to kill her. This is drama of the best kind, this is chracterisation of the best sort, heck this is TV of the best sort.
The rest of the series seems to have a main theme of redemption and lost souls in, appropriately enough, the City of Angels. Worth pointing out are Lonely Hearts (which introduces the compelling character Kate Lockley - please can we see a return of her?) and Rm W/A Vu, in which Cordelia buys a new house only to find it's haunted. Hero is one of the most tragic episodes, in which Doyle sacrifices himself to save his friends, something that has grown magnificently in poignancy since the tragic death of Glenn Quinn, who plays Doyle, recently. After that we get to see the reappearance of Wesley (Alexis), a character which Angel has done wonders with considering the almost universal cringing that accompanied his role on Buffy that has now turned him into a character with surprising depth. Given his chance to sparkle in the Exorcist-riff I've Got You Under My Skin he really pulls it off, especially given the hint at his relationship with his father that has been threatening to bubble over ever since. Angel is also capable of pulling a CSI clinical crime like investigation in the utterly compelling Somnabulist, perhaps the most underrated episode of the series, in which one of Angel's 'pupils' comes back to haunt him. The last two-parter to end the series is also entirely gripping, with the first obvious signs of what was to become Angel's major threat, lawyer's firm Wolfram and Hart. This is action drama of the highest quality that isn't afraid to get some genuine emotion in there at the same time.
Angel series 1 is a show that's trying to find its feet, and it finds them. Now in its fourth series, season 1 shows the foundations that made it nearly as popular as the cult phenomenon of Buffy.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2002
After "Buffy" Season 3 comes out on DVD in January, it's a short wait until the premiere season of "Angel" arrives. While mostly uneven, it still contains its share of exciting hours and is an important prelude to the highly-acclaimed Seasons 2 and 3.
The basic premise is that Angel, the Gypsy-cursed vampire with a soul, relocates to Los Angeles to escape the memory of ex-girlfriend Buffy, and to "fight the good fight" against vampires, demons, and the forces of darkness. He's aided by "Buffy" alum Charisma Carpenter as Cordelia (as his ditzy aide), and Doyle, the half-demon (on his mother's side) guide to "the powers that be".
The first several episodes explore the notion that L.A. is a big, bad, unforgiving city, similar to the way that "Buffy"'s Sunnydale High always reflected its characters' private angst. "Angel" was less suited to the ironic beast-of-the-week format, and quickly dropped it. In "City of...", Joss Whedon's sharply-written pilot, Angel assembles his private-eye crew, but fails to save the girl, and makes mortal enemies out of demonic law firm Wolfram & Hart. "Lonely Heart" similarly takes place in nothing but bars and nightclubs, and is most memorable for the introduction of Detective Kate Lockley.
"Angel" benefitted early on from two crossovers with "Buffy". "Into The Dark" concludes a BtVS story with "Buffy" regulars Spike and Oz visiting L.A. "I Will Remember You" features Sarah Michelle Gellar's first visit to Angel since their breakup. In both episodes Angel refuses an escape from his vampire lifestyle -- even though that means terminating his newfound romance. Both episodes stand out among the season's best, with Spike's merciless taunting of Angel ("I'm just a big fluffy puppy with bad teeth") the higlight of the season.
Other early episodes are not quite as memorable. "I Fall To Pieces", "Room W/A Vu", and "Sense and Sensitivity" all play on the theme of L.A. as a devourer of lost souls. The first of these is the weakest of the season, although the last has an amusing cameo by Steve Schirripa, later of "The Sopranos". Also introduced is Cordy's amusing invisible-ghost roommate, Dennis, surely the hardest-working character on the show. "Bachelor Party" introduces Doyle's family and features the welcome return of Carlos Jacott, who played another demon on the previous season of "Buffy".
In "Hero", Doyle is abruptly killed off, to be replaced in the next episode, "Parting Gifts", by Wesley Wyndham-Price (Alexis Denisof), making the three regulars a matched set of sidelined "Buffy" characters.
Meanwhile, although the season still doesn't have a unified arc, the various hints that pop up in "Somnambulist" turn Detective Lockley, suddenly, into Angel's enemy. A powerful female demon in "She" is supposed to rival Angel -- and provide a possible love interest -- but is never heard from again. "Expecting" features the show's first sex scene, and, as on "Buffy", there are sardonic consequences for all.
"Angel"'s first year slowly revs into gear with episode 14, "I've Got You Under My Skin", a sharp riff on "The Exorcist" which helps bridge the gap between Wesley the craven coward, and the more driven team-leader he'll become. Where "The Prodigal" limps along, introducing an evil protege of Angel's (never to appear again), "The Ring" is another fantastic hour that brings the Wolfram & Hart storyline back into focus. "Eternity", the next episode, is a not-so-welcome detour, the season's lone excuse to bring back Angel's evil alter ago, Angelus, for a very over-the-top ten minutes.
"Five By Five" and "Sanctuary", an intense two-parter, brings Faith over from the "Buffy" universe. Angel does something Buffy couldn't do -- resolve Faith's story act -- even though that means a very angry Buffy squares off again with Angel in the concluding episode.
In "War Zone", we're introduced to budding series regular Gunn, a street kid fighting his own street war against vampires. "Blind Date" finally returns Wolfram & Hart to the fore, as the three previously-seen evil lawyers (all of whose surnames mysteriously begin with the letter "M") embark on a scheme to interfere with Angel's destiny.
The season wraps up with the satisfying "To Shanshu In L.A.". Each of the four regulars is given something to do, and the episode ends with a reaffirmation of Angel's ultimate goal -- to shed his vampire nature and become human at long last. Which is only weakenedly slightly by the fact that Angel refused the gift of humanity on each of the first two discs in this set.
Overall, you won't find Angel: Season One to be nearly as satisfying as what's to come, but it's a good introduction to the show and makes a fine bookend for the three seasons of "Buffy" overflowing your DVD shelf.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon January 16, 2008
It all started with Buffy The Vampire Slayer(another great show),the show had reached some succes and was judged good enough to have its spin-off series with the lead character being the Vampire Angel.After negociations the series started production and the first episodes were aired and began airing in 1999 by that time when Buffy was currently airing its fourth season.These episodes from the first season introduce us to the series as any other show would during its first season and the first season is pretty good.It has more than the average 13 episodes any new series would have,instead we are treated to a full 22 episodes season.The first season is strong enough to keep an audience attracted to the show and wanting more.It is here that Angel started his crimes investigations team in Los Angeles,the city of loss Angels(rim shot)along with former Buffy characters,Cordelia and later Wesley and newcomer Doyle who unfortunatly didn't last very long as a character in the series.

This is continuation of Angel's history after he left Buffy at the end of the third season.He gets his own show and its great,its more than a spin off,its a great show on its own and even if i think it was cancelled a little early,after its fifth season.Angel(David Boreanaz) has now started his own buisness in LA and recruited Doyle(Glen Quinn,who died a few years ago RIP) and Cordelia(Charisma Carpenter) whom were both great choices.Doyle sacrifices himself to save the earth and so Wesley(Alexis Denisof)comes in as his replacement and does a great job at it but i think Doyle would have been a great character for next seasons as well.As little as it might seem compared to the huge cast in season 5,it works and the crew seems focused even in those early days to create a great show.This season was well made and there is lots of action,drama and even some laughs in it,the show is noticably darker than Buffy as one could tell after watching.

The plots were great even in the first season,i found the show started slow but surely and making more impact episode after another.What is interresting is to compare Charles Gun in this season to the Gun in latter seasons as he was at the beggening a vampire killer,struggling and in latter seasons he gets incredibly intelligent due to a brain implant(but is to be seen in latter seasons).Doyle was also a great character but he died too early in the 9th episode "Hero" to really make an impact in the series.The cast is great,the show was more on a monster of the week phase like Buffy had in its early seasons and it works,but there is no denying that this season wich is a great introduction and has a few great episodes is the weakest of the five seasons of Angel.The villains also looked pretty great as in Buffy and were great foes for Angel and his crew,it just all seemed to work.

So what you get is the first 22 episodes of Angel on six discs with a booklet that gives some infos about the episodes and other infos.Angel indeed proves that Buffy was not a lucky strike but a great show that was able to introduce another and influence some others.Those are pretty much all good episodes and the show is probably at the darkest its ever been and it slowly but surely introduces us good to the show.By the end of the season you'll want more.I recommend this,not to everyone as not all will like it but if you like drama,vampires,good stories,emotions and other monsters or you liked shows made by Joss Whedon such as Buffy then you will probably like this.Its hard to tell who will like it and who will not but i like it and give it a solid four.The four other seasons of Angels are worth checking out also,and there are two types of boxed sets,the original ones like these and the more recent slim cases from 2006.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2004
I don't own this set but I have seen most of the episodes of Season One! This is what I am basing my rating on:
- City Of... - This picks up where Buffy The Vampire Slayer: Season Three leaves off with Angel coming to L.A. and meeting up with a half-human/half demon named Doyle and a familiar face in Cordellia Chase from BTVS.
- In the Dark - Excellent episode which continues the feud between Angel and former ally Spike! This also shows Angel out during the daytime for first time that I can recall!
- The Bachelor Party - This sees Doyle nearly get killed at the hands of his ex-wife's fiance!
- I Will Remember You (Guest Starring Sarah Michelle Gellar) - The most heartbreaking episode on either BTVS or Angel and a bittersweet chapter in the Buffy/Angel romance.
- Hero - The final appearance of Doyle. Ironically and tragically, the actor that played him died two years later from a drug overdose. RIP.
- Parting Gifts - Cordellia gets a new power while Wesley Wyndham-Price from BTVS shows up and joins the team after a brief encounter with Angel.
- Expecting - Cordy suddenly gets pregnant!
- The Prodigal - An old protege from the past returns to kill Angel.
- The Ring - Angel goes undercover into an illegal fight ring.
- Eternity - A struggling former child actor tries to seduce Angel into making her a vampire but instead unleashes Angelous!

- Five by Five - Rogue Slayer Faith is hired by Wolfrham & Hart to eliminate Angel.
- Sanctuary (Guest Starring Sarah Michelle Gellar) - Buffy hunts Faith to settle a score (see Buffy The Vampire Slayer season 4 for the reason)
These are the episodes that I have seen. But, I did enjoy them so I am certain that the others are of good quality as well. On a personal note, I will probably purchase this item soon myself just for "I Will Remember You" alone! While I am more of an action guy, this heartbreaker even had me nearly in tears! Its that powerful and it is one of Sarah Michelle Gellar's best performances as Buffy in my view! Season one is worth the money!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2004
I started off as a Angel fan before I got interested in Buffy and I have to say that Angel is so much better. All of the cast members are all really interesting and the show is great. David Boreanaz portrays the dark and mysterious Angel and Charisma Carpenter does a wonderful job playing Cordelia. Cordelia makes a huge change from being really selffish to really caring about other people. I was really sad when Glenn Quinn's character Doyle died and sadly he died as well. He was really great but his character wouldn't have worked well with any of the other characters yet to come. Alexis Denisof replaces Doyle with his character Wesley who made a brief appearance on Buffy before joining the cast. J. August Richards comes in two of the last three episodes to introduce Charles Gunn who would join the cast next season.
Buffy played by Sarah Michelle Gellar makes two apperances on Angel as well. Her first appearance in I will remember you was much better than her breif role in Sanctuary. James Marsters and Seth Green also make appearances in the third episode In the Dark. Eliza Dushku also appears in Five by Five and Sanctuary.
Overall I would say Angel started off great and they really took off in the seasons yet to come. It's too bad they cancelled it but maybe UPN will pick it up instead.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 21, 2004
Okay so we all know that Angel was always going to have a hard job living up to the expectations set by Buffy, and okay so it isn't quite as good. That certainly doesn't mean that this series isn't superb in its own right. Set up in L.A. we have Angel (David Boreanaz) running his own detective agency with the help of Cordelia (Charisma Carpenter) and Doyle (the sadly deceased Glenn Quinn). It's a lot darker than Buffy, or at least it was when Buffy was still in its fourth series, and some would argue Buffy series 6 to be even darker than Angel. The main theme is obviously redemption and what we have here is probably the closest to the kind of monster-of-the-week, no story arc material that Joss Whedon and David E. Greenwalt have ever done.
To say this isn't as good as Buffy is kind of a cop-out, because there are some absolutely superb episodes here. In particular there is I Will Remember You, an absolutely heartbreaking episode in which Buffy (Sarah Michelle Gellar) and Angel are reunited, but only for a day and of which only he will carry the memory. There's also In The Dark, the closest the show has got to something that's really disturbing, in a horrible torturer character. This episode also sees the crossover of Oz (Seth Green) and Spike (James Marsters), with probably just about the funniest speech that has ever come out of Spike's mouth starting the episode off. What will really get your attention though is the stunning, spectacular two-parter where we see Faith's (Eliza Dushku) return in Five By Five and Sanctuary. Both shows have always shown an amazing tenderness to this character that is practically abnormal among other series, with Faith being presented as a real person rather than your typical bad guy. After a fairly close-to-the-bone torture scene who can say that they didn't feel a slight shiver down their spine as Faith pounded on Angel's chest begging him to kill her. This is drama of the best kind, this is chracterisation of the best sort, heck this is TV of the best sort.
The rest of the series seems to have a main theme of redemption and lost souls in, appropriately enough, the City of Angels. Worth pointing out are Lonely Hearts (which introduces the compelling character Kate Lockley - please can we see a return of her?) and Rm W/A Vu, in which Cordelia buys a new house only to find it's haunted. Hero is one of the most tragic episodes, in which Doyle sacrifices himself to save his friends, something that has grown magnificently in poignancy since the tragic death of Glenn Quinn, who plays Doyle, recently. After that we get to see the reappearance of Wesley (Alexis), a character which Angel has done wonders with considering the almost universal cringing that accompanied his role on Buffy that has now turned him into a character with surprising depth. Given his chance to sparkle in the Exorcist-riff I've Got You Under My Skin he really pulls it off, especially given the hint at his relationship with his father that has been threatening to bubble over ever since. Angel is also capable of pulling a CSI clinical crime like investigation in the utterly compelling Somnabulist, perhaps the most underrated episode of the series, in which one of Angel's 'pupils' comes back to haunt him. The last two-parter to end the series is also entirely gripping, with the first obvious signs of what was to become Angel's major threat, lawyer's firm Wolfram and Hart. This is action drama of the highest quality that isn't afraid to get some genuine emotion in there at the same time.
Angel series 1 is a show that's trying to find its feet, and it finds them. Now in its fourth series, season 1 shows the foundations that made it nearly as popular as the cult phenomenon of Buffy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2004
I'm a huge Angel fan.I believe it to have surpassed Buffy later on.(Mostly because season seven of Buffy was mediocre).Anyway,Angel's first season is NOT GREAT.But it is pretty good tv.The cast is too small and it's filled with an insane amount of monster-of-the-week episodes but it's good.Angel and Cordelia,especially,are likable characters.Never cared too much about Doyle.He died too quickly.Wesley is a better character for me.Kate is one of the few bad characters on both Buffy and Angel but she left before the second season ended,anyway.I should probably mention that the first season suffered from way too many cross-overs with Buffy.With the exception of the amazing Faith episodes,they all feel like stupid gimmicks to make Buffy fans interested in Angel.Still,in the end,the last five episodes transformed Angel into a great show for me.Many say the second season is where the show really took off but for me it did with the last five episodes of season one.Wolfram and Hart became an integral part of the show,Gunn was introduced and the wonderful Darla came back.I should probably mention that Wolfram and Hart is a wonderful idea with some great characters such as Lindsey and Lilah.I don't know what this show would be without the law firm.I'm mostly talking about the end of the season because,let's face it,the first seventeen episodes are nice but not anything special.Basically,a good first season but wait until season two.With season two,Angel began to compare with Buffy.And with Season three,it became a better show.Buffy season six is actually a great season but I prefer Angel season three while Buffy season seven sucks compared to the amazing Angel season four.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2004
The first season of Angel lacked the power behind Buffy. It survived solely on the Buffy corss-overs and plot continuations from Buffy. Other episodes were weak and lacked the potential from its parent show. There were a few inspiring episodes however, such as Hero. But the first season of Angel sets up what is to come. Wolfram and Hart is introduced, which will later take over as the big bad for the show. However, the reason why this season lacked is possibly because it didn't have a big bad, or an overall villain for the season. However, this is still good for any collection, and there are a few episodes that are astounding. Season One stars David Boreanaz, Charisma Carter, Glenn Quinn, and Alexis Denisoff. The episodes from the first season are:
City Of
Lonely Heart
In the Dark
I Fall to Pieces
Rm w/ a Vu
Sense and Sensitivity
The Bachelor Party
I Will Remember You
Hero
Parting Gifts
Somnambulist
Expecting
She
I've Got You Under My Skin
The Prodigal
The Ring, Eternity
Five by Five
Sanctuary
War Zone
Blind Date
To Shanshu in L.A.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2004
After he left Buffy and the gang alone is Sunnydale after the 3rd season, Angel is now trying to stand alone in LA. Ironically, there are a lot of visitors from Sunnydale in this season, including Cordelia who ends up working for him after he saves her from a vamp in the very first episode.
Spike and Oz pay Angel a visit in the third episode In the Dark. Buffy is in two episodes: I Will Remember You and Five by Five. I Will Remember You is my favorite episode of the whole series because it is every Buffy/Angel shipper's fantasy come true. And Faith is in two episodes: Sanctuary and Five by Five.
This season introduces Wolfram and Hart, which is pretty much the big bad all five seasons this show was on the air. Lindsey McDonald is introduced in the pilot episode City of as a nasty lawyer for them, although he quickly becomes a fan favorite. Lawyer Lilah Morgan isnt introduced until the 16th episode of the season The Ring.
This episode is compiled of many stand alone episodes, which I usually dont care for, but it all seems to work in this season.
Characters keep coming in and out. The show starts out with Angel, Cordy and Doyle and by the end of the season the gang consists of Angel, Cordy, Wes, and Gunn.
Some highlights of the season are Sense and Sensitivity, which is very comical with some great lines, I Will Remember You, which I already mentioned, Hero, which is a very heartbreaking episode, She, only because of the hilarious dancing of David Boreanaz and Alexis Denisof, and Five by Five, the confrontation between Faith and Buffy is priceless.
All in all, a good start to a great show.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse