countdown boutiques-francophones Eco Friendly Cleaning and Care Furniture Kindle Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
43
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$16.34+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 20, 2016
J'ai toujours aimé Benefit que j'ai acheté en 1971, je connaissais déjà le précédent Stand UP! mais celui-ci est complétement différent, Ian Anderson est mon artiste favori, il a un style très original dans sa façon de composer ou d'interpréter ses chansons et c'est un des Front Man les plus spectaculaire. Ce disque contient un amalgame de chanson alternant de l'acoustique à l'électrique toujours avec l'omniprésence de la flute jouer par Anderson, les meilleurs titres sont With You There To Help Me, Nothing To Say, Teacher, Sossity; You're a Woman, mais le reste est aussi très intéressant. Ce n'est pas ce qu'ils ont fait de mieux mais Benefit fait parti des albums classiques de Jethro Tull.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2016
Quality of that vinyl is marvelous. The only crticism is the Steven Wilson sound a bit grainy in the upper frequencies.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2017
Good!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2015
Jethro Tull. nuff said
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2016
play it all the time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2004
"Benefit" remains my favorite Jethro Tull recording, likely for all the wrong reasons. First, this was the first session where Ian Anderson and his band mates embraced folk music over the blues-tinged sound of their earlier work. Next, Martin Barre sounds engaged, determined, and focused on guitar, and his strong effort here keeps the music well grounded (something that is a failing on some Tull recordings in my opinion). Third, John Evan's returns to the fold and adds some stellar work on keyboards that greatly enrichs the sound. Fourth, I liked Glen Cornick's bass lines better than those by any other Tull bass player. Fifth, Ian Anderson crafted some of his best lyrics for "Benefit," avoiding the ornate and tiring style on both his later and subsequent Jethro Tull recordings. Sixth, Mr. Anderson plays some inspired flute and contributes some excellent acoustic guitar that meshes wonderfully with Mr. Barre's amped up electric guitar.
This recording still retains enough of the edginess and eccentricity that caused Jethro Tull to stand out during the band's early years and that caught my ear way back when. I would recommend getting the remastered CD more for the improved sound quality than the bonus tracks (which aren't bad though).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2013
Have not received product-- order, placed on April 14, 2013 & still not received= very disappointed looking forward to getting this product
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2003
1) Sorry, a decision not to "schedule" "Living in the Past" in "the remastered catalogue" does NOT "justify" the "inclusion of those tracks from ["Living in the Past"], here" or "in the other remastered CDs". One crime against art does not justify another. Two wrongs don't make a right.
2) Even if it is true (and I'm dubious) that the ordering of the songs we find here was the original "British" ordering, in contradistinction to the U.S. ordering, it is still very reasonable to fault the ordering we find here. The "U.S." ordering, if U.S. ordering it be, is distinctly superior to this.
3) Contrary to what one may hear from the Jethro Tull camp (or hear from those who claim to hear it from the Jethro Tull camp), the "Living in the Past" songs were originally excluded from various Jethro Tull records because they were judged inferior: Jethro Tull didn't suddenly discover anew at each recording session that a vinyl disc can only hold so many songs. They are not so inferior that that they aren't worth owning collected together onto one record, but they are inferior to the original (and TRUE) "Stand Up", "Benefit", "Aqualung", "Thick as a Brick", and "A Passion Play".
4) Neither Jethro Tull, nor its record company, nor anyone, is authorized by the Gods of Time to rewrite the past.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2004
For starters, I'm not crazy about remasters of original releases, especially with new tracks. I mean, the original is the original. If I wanted an extension, I'd buy a "best of" and be really happy. But still...
Imagine 1970, a house on a lake in the woods with nothing to do for a day. My true introduction to Tull was in Columbia, MO. "Stand Up" was an eye opener. But "Benefit"? That's where the house on the lake comes in. Nothing to do but listen to Benefit over and over and over and so on. Remember, it was 1970, the house was in New Hampshire and everybody I knew was on some sort of jag. Ten tracks of angst, anger and re-or-un requited romance. all set to the edged voice and whispering like thunder flute of Ian Anderson, bash-about drums of Clive Bunker, the strong bass rythym of Martin Barrre and the co-lead-work of Mick Abrams. After 18 hours straight, these guys were inside my head.
For openers, "With You There To Help Me" plaintively weaves the story of someone who's just about had it. The saving grace is you, probably. The lyrics are cleverly twisted while the melodies segue through a plodding set up and end the song with joyful whispers.
"Inside" is a marvelous desription of relationships and the comforts of home, while "Son" is a true teen tirade. "To Cry You a Song" sums up the regrets for the night before.
The seven remaining cuts are just a strong. The album closes with "Sossity, You're a Woman" is the tenderest of "its not me, its you" breakup tunes.
All in all, this is one of my most loved recordings. Too bad the "new age" re-releasers of this gem had to add the bonus tracks.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2004
One of my favorite albums ever - doesn't really need any improvement but nice to have in the convenient CD form. I also appreciated the liner notes by Ian since I have always wanted some personal background on this era that led to this great music. Unfortunately it seems this was a somewhat depressing period in Ian's evolution and he seems to kind of want to forget this part and get on with the next 'big one' so maybe that's why the project seems kind of flat. I liked the additions from Living in the Past but was disappointed with the same old USA version of Teacher and like another reviewer said I don't like the UK edition that much but it should have been there. Why not have included both? Also I think there was some other material they played at the time or live stuff that could have made a more enjoyable remastered version. But, at least now I don't have to get up and flip the record after for michael collins,jeffrey and me!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse