Echo Dot countdown boutiques-francophones Introducing Fire 7 tablet, starting at $59.99 WFM Furniture Kindle Paperwhite sports Tools

on February 10, 2015
A good album but the remix could be better. The song "These Boots" is funny but it is kind of a bummer that it is partially censored. Lee Hazlewood is such a dick!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 24, 2016
Classic first album and the remaster definitely holds up! Sounds amazing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 4, 2015
Great album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 21, 2014
Very awesome record Megadeth rulz!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon November 11, 2013
Dave Mustaine's unceremonious and ugly departure from Metallica in the early 1980s is the stuff of heavy metal history books. Mustaine's heavy drug and alcohol use fueled his loose-cannon temperament; itself fueled by the seething rage and angst of a messy childhood, an abusive father, and an inferiority complex. In short, the perfect cocktail for manic, terrifying heavy metal rife with lyrics certain to anger Sunday churchgoing parents and left wingers everywhere. 'Killing Is My Business' was the first aural delivery by Megadeth, the band Mustaine formed for the sole purpose of getting revenge on Metallica, and it has stood as a vital pillar of the early thrash metal movement to this day.

Low production values and frequent spats with Combat Records meant that the original version of 'Killing' never lived up to the band's original vision. The Expanded Remix edition rectifies all of these issues, right down to the album artwork, making it a better, stronger, more cohesive record. The new remix is much more full, and sounds wonderful, with Gar Samuelson's thundering drums in the middle of the frantic guitars, instead of wedged in the background. Samuelson's fluent jazz fusion skills marry perfectly with the remix, creating a sense of fluency within Mustaine's psycho-violent song structure. David Ellefson's bass guitar hangs like a dark canopy over the cacophony of aggressive riffs and screaming solos, never intrusive, yet never far away. Then there's the tag team of Mustaine and Chris Poland, both of whom bounce back and forth between skin-shredding rhythm work and blazing solos, each attempting to outdo the other. Where Mustaine is a chaotic wrecking ball of rhythm genius, Poland is far more diverse, and able to hit notes and scales that most other guitarists would be unable to do, thanks in part to a finger injury endured in his past. 'Killing's' songs are just as you remember them. 'Last Rites...Loved to Deth' is a trip into possessive madness on the rails of rapid-fire double bass kick and noisy riffing with an off-time verse and sloppy (on purpose) lyrics that serves as the launchpad for the entire album, propelling its frantic vertical pace at the speed of light, and serving as one of the album's strongest tracks. 'Killing Is My Business' is a tongue-in-cheek ode to the Marvel Comics character The Punisher. The song jumps back and forth between biker rock and speed metal, sticking to a straightforward approach right up until the end. 'The Skull Beneath The Skin' tells the tale of Megadeth's mascot, Vic Rattlehead, giving insight into the dark occult ceremony that turns him into the being which would later shift his attention towards political and social issues. 'Rattlehead' is a blindingly fast anthem that glorifies the sheer fun of rock n' roll music, while 'Chosen Ones' pays goofy tribute to the killer rabbit from Monty Python's Holy Grail. This double-dose of snicker is traded for a much more somber tone with 'Looking Down The Cross,' Mustaine's own interpretation of what Jesus Christ might have felt at the time of his death. 'Mechanix' is a re-working of Metallica's 'Four Horsemen,' ditching the latter's fictional elements for a focus on sexual double entendre. The album closes with 'These Boots,' a cover of Nancy Sinatra's original song, but with portions of the lyrics bleeped out due to legal red tape. Mustaine goes into detail in the liner notes regarding the reason for this approach, but unfortunately, it ruins the song. Because of this, the Remix album falls short of 5 stars to a respectable 4.

Sonic purists tend to cry the blues whenever a Remastered or Remixed version of their classic albums is released. Personally, I want to hear albums the best way possible, with full sonic range and dynamic quality enhanced. You can't get that on the original version of 'Killing,' but the Remixed edition is the best you're going to hear this landmark thrash metal classic. Turn it up, shatter the windows, and irritate your neighbors.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 9, 2002
My first introduction to Metal was Metallica. After I collected all their albums and wanting more to fulfill my metal needs, I heard a Megadeth song on the radio. It was Angry Again, and from their on I was in love with the band. I started with buying Countdown to Extinction until finally working up to Kill is my Business...And Business Is Good. I usually leave debut albums for bands I collect until last because they are "usually" their weakest efforts. In megadeth's case, that statement is true. That doesn't mean it's a bad album. The standout on this album has to be MECHANIX. A great tune written when Dave Mustaine was still with Metallica, and is even better than Metallica's version titled THE FOUR HORSEMEN. The only downfall to this remastered version is that THESE BOOTS had to be editied do to a lawsuit. I personally think the editied version is hilarious, but most fans will be really disgusted. Other than that the sound is great and even better than Megadeth's send and third albums PEACE SELLS...BUT WHO'S BUYING? and SO FAR, SO GOOD, SO WHAT? If your a collector like me, save KILLING IS MY BUSINESS...AND BUSINESS IS GOOD! as your last entry into your Megadeth collection. Start With Countdown To Exctinction.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 23, 2002
When Dave Mustaine put Megadeth together after he was booted from Metallica, their debut "Killing is My Business...and Business is Good" was loud, violent, and an underneath it all middle finger to James Hetfield and Lars Ulrich. Of all the bands that put out remastered albums (Judas Priest, Iron Maiden, and Ozzy to name a few), it seems this time it has been done right. Mustaine and Dave Ellefson have remixed "Killing is My Business" very meticulously, making it sound fresh and vibrant while adding a new dimension to a mediocre album. Also included are several rough demos that show Mustaine's further disdain towards Metallica, including a cover of "These Boots" which is sadly without its profanity filled lyrics because of Lee Hazelwood rescinding the rights to the song, but it still has a rather darkly humerous quality to it. The new album cover is lightyears beyond the original cover and is an overall good re-packaging deal. ...[Guitarist] Scott Ian includes some written commentary as well, and Mustaine and Ellefson have presented track by track liner notes. If you allready have the original, this reissue is worth a listen, but if you don't own the original then pick this up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 4, 2004
This is probably Megadeth's most undderated album.Although Hit Parader magazine was smart enough to put this in the Top 100 Hard Rock CDs Of All Time most critics overlook this album.Although not as good as Peace Sells or Rust In Peace it is better than Countdown To Extinction which had I felt was a little too commercial(but still had a lot to like).This album hints at the direction they would be taking with Peace Sells.More punky and dark than either Rust In Peace or Countdown To Extinction, this album remains one of the classics of mid eighties thrash.I remember walking into a record store when the album first came out and I liked the name of the band and was to curious to find out what it sounded like I was definitely not disappointed.I guess Im sort of a wuss which is probably why I like the moderated thrash stuff more than the extremes of Slayer or even Pantera.Still this stuff is still pretty heavy just more accesible which is one of the reasons it remains a classic.If youre a Megadeth fan and dont already own it whats wrong with you?Do anything you can to pick it up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 17, 2002
I Love This Album. Hell Yeah. What an awesome re-master. This is the best debut by any Metal Band so if you like metal this is for you. This is by far Megadeth's most unique album. It is not like anything they have made or anything anyone else has made. It is probably the most original album ever. This is the only album by Megadeth that I consider Speed Metal. PSBWB, SFSGSW, RIP, are all thrash albums. Just listen to the riff on rattlehead and you will know what I am talking about. The best songs are Skull Beneath the Skin and looking down the cross. They are all good traks but those two stand out for me. Skull Beneath the Skin has great lyrics and is so damn heavy. Looking Down The Cross shows Megadeth's great Musicianship. Buy this album today, you will not be disapointed. As soon as you hear the piano intro to Last Rites/ Loved to death, you will instantly be hooked.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 11, 2002
This review doesn't have anything to do with the music, as this disc has been around forever and you should already know the magnificent nature of this groudbreaking artistic masterpiece.
What this does have to do with is how much BETTER this album actually sounds now that Dave and Dave have taken the master tapes back in the studio and remixed the ... out of it. My's brilliant. I mean, it sounded OK for being recorded in '84. But due to some well documented money squandering (well, of what money there was) on the part of Mustaine and Co., the album ended up sounding like a cheap demo. But, for a cheap demo it literally changed the face of hard music. Because of this fact it sorted grated on you after time. It was neat that it had a gritty quality to it, and by no means did it [stink]. But actually sounds better than Peace Sells and So Far, if you can believe that. You can really hear everything as it was meant to be heard...and FELT. It's super evil...super heavy and Faster Than ..., baby!! The demo tracks included are kind of cool to hear as it gives you an idea of the process, but the main quality of this release is it's new life. It's like hearing a brand new release from Megadeth...the OLD Megadeth which I miss very much.
The only negative thing about this release is that it was made after the legal battle that Megadeth had with the rights to publish "These Boots". The actual owner of the music did not allow Mustaine to use the lyrics, so now the singing is pretty much bleeped out throughout the whole track. While this is dissapointing, it doesn't take away from the rest of the CD. It's actually quite funny at times.
I'm really glad that Dave and Dave decided to do this, because it just made a brilliant work 1000% better. I absolutely recommend picking this up. It'll change you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse