countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more scflyout Pets All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
441
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$13.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Self-conciousness is what "Tenenbaums" is all about: it's the entire point. The film's inverted universe collapses into itself so completely that nothing can escape, most especially laughs.
This movie is a textbook example of the difference between "witty" and "funny". Yes, it's intelligent, well-acted and witty. Computers (and insecure intellectuals) undoubtedly could point out all the correct spots at which to pump out a forced "ha!" of admiration.
But, good grief... for the rest of us, this is a tedious and vaguely repellent waste of talent.
Pay NOT to see this one. If you need an Anderson hit, "Bottle Rocket" is better, and "Rushmore" is actually rather good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2003
I went into this film really wanting to like it. I'd read reviews of people who'd absolutely loved it, and people who absolutely hated it. Two hours later, I was part of the latter, which is a shame, as I really loved Rushmore and at the time it seemed that Wes Anderson was one of the best directors upcoming directors today. Well, he WAS one of the best upcoming directors. And what were Criterion thinking, giving this film their usual deluxe treatment? A dts track was certainley a silly idea.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2015
Très bien
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2003
Can a movie be too hip for its own good? The answer in this case is an emphatic yes! This film has nothing more going on in its self-satisfied little brain than a series of ultra-stylized poses and attitudes that gives the entire thing the feeling of one big in joke. The only problem is the audience isn't let in on the joke.
Though some real issues are alluded to, there's no genuine emotion, either on screen or elicited in the viewer. There's also an anything goes mentality that militates against the creation of a coherent alternate world that the stylized filmmaking is clearly aiming for.
Gene Hackman's acclaimed performance is ham on rye and the Wilson brothers' affectless performances exemplify everything that's wrong with the movie. Only the sublime Angelica Huston rises to the occasion, and indeed above it in this case.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2003
I thought 'The Royal Tenenbaums' was a bad movie. It was like watching a blank screen for two hours. There was alot of mumbo jumbo going on, but no real story happened. I didn't laugh once and the movie was just dull.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2012
Le dvd était en parfait état, tel que décrit. Je suis très satisfaite. Il est arrivé rapidement et était très bien emballé.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2004
First, a note to our sniveling, self-appointed "IQ" experts who have deemed to enlighten us with thier laughably cliched psychological profiles of anyone who doesn't wet thier pants over this pretentious turkey:
1. I am an avid film fan who fully understands the "language" of film.
2. I fully grasp the concept of "irony".
3. I LOVE "quirky".
So why did I feel the "Royal Tenenbaums" sucked with the intensity of 1,000 black holes? Because even Stephen Hawking would agree that if it LOOKS like $#!+, and SMELLS like $#!+... well you know the rest. For a truly ENTERTAINING story about a "quirky" and dysfunctional family that SUCCESSFULLY mixes bathos, pathos, slapstick AND intellect, check out the 1972 cult classic "The Ruling Class" instead (also from Criterion, who have really made a rare, but baffling misfire by adding "Tenenbaums" to thier impressive canon.)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2004
This movie is a totally bizarre pile of boring crap. I saw the Rushmore movie years ago and thought it was a great story with great acting, but this is such a far fetched story line with lame weirdo characters. The movie takes place in New York during the 60's 70's or 80's, im not even sure and the characters are so boring and dysfunctionally weird. The actors act as if they are being held against their will to act in this movie. Also the stupid character gag that the actors look exactly the same when they are young as they do when they get older (same clothes, hair styles, etc.) is so far fetched. The story itself is cluttered and impossible to follow. Furthermore, the characters are always miserable about nothing, just because their father left them when they were younger, GET OVER IT ALREADY!! which in turn makes the audience feel miserable as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2003
Don't waste your money on this slow moving, dismal comedy. Big name actors and a defibrillator couldn't bring this "comedy" to life. The biggest disappointment of all was popping it into the DVD player, pushing play and hearing the voice of Alec Baldwin coming through the speakers. Never would I have spent my hard earned AMERICAN money on a film that employed this America-hating, so-called actor who should have left the country long ago.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2004
I dont know why people thought that this is such a great movie. I personally think this movie was horrible with the dry humor that was not funny. A complete waste of time and money!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse