countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Home All-New Kindle Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
1,009
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$8.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Yes, Eminem is a controversial public figure, however The Eminem Show by Eminem is another cd (hip-hop collection) that I found in my husband’s music collection in order to open my mind to the type of music he likes (this was another cd that he purchased around the time that it was released, which would mean that he either purchased it in Iceland or Japan). Cleanin Out My Closet and Without Me are some of the popular and thought provoking songs that are on The Eminem show. However, I admit to finding Soldier also to be a buzzworthy type of song because of the controversy that still brews today among people from various walks of life on what is best for the military industrial complex system and manpower discussions (especially in the wake of recent online news that the Army is scheduled to implement a massive troop cut). Nonetheless, The Eminem Show by The Eminem is also a strong cd for those who are eclectic music collectors of music from the early 2000’s.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2004
This really is a great cd. Listening to it almost feels like an autobiography. Em continues where he left on in "The Marshall Mathers LP" and keeps everything very fresh.
2.White America--Em bashes Lynne Cheney, the "hypocrisy" of America, and what he calls "The United States of Embarrassment". At the end of the track though, em laughs and utters "I'm just playin America, you know i love you."-4/5
3.Buisness--Em shows his "Sidekick" partnership with Dr. Dre in this "Batman and Robin" feel type track. My favorite parts of this song is the end of each chorus when Em ask "Can i get a witness?", and Dre yells "Hell yeah!".-4/5
4.Cleanin Out My Closet--Everyone has heard this song and anyone can recognize the catchy chorus. Slim tells us about this drug-addict mother, his cheating wife, and his bad public persona. Nothing you haven't heard before. Nonetheless, great lyrics-4/5
5.Square Dance--Very deceiving title...This song bashes the Bush administration and doesn't let up. Great song to get mad to. The chorus can get very annoying though.-3/5
7.Soldier--This song has a very interesting beat. Very good lyrics too, about how em has learned to take all of the hard times in his life like a soldier. One of my favorites on the cd-5/5
8.Say Goodbye Hollywood--This song really isn't that bad. The beat sounds like it took only a few minutes to create, but I really like the lyrics-3/5
9.Drips--A very amusing song about sex (etc.) feat. Obie Trice. The edited version of this album does not include this song.-4/5
10.Without Me--Em brings back his alter-ego Slim Shady for this song and does not dissapoint. The beat on this track reminds me of "The Real Slim Shady". This is a very funny song.-5/5
12.Sing for the Moment-Em's take on the classic Aerosmith tune "Dream On". Dream On is one of my favorite (rock) songs of all time, and I think Em really does the song justice. A little slow, but great rhyming-5/5
13.Superman--When I bought this cd, I expected this track to be a lot better. To be honest, I was quite dissapointed at this song. I do like the hook in the middle, though, but the chorus is more annoying than not-3/5
14.Hailies Song--I love this song. Eminem takes time out to actually sing a very heartfelt song for his daughter, and does a very good job. Em is actually an o.k. singer and the chorus in this song is song has been stuck in my head for days-4/5
16.When the Music Stops--This track could have easily been on a D12 cd, since every member of the group has a verse in it. I actually like Bizarre's verse the best in this song no matter how crazy that sounds.-4/5
17.Say What you Say--A pretty cool song w/ Dre, but the chorus is very reppetitive and boring. This song could have used some re-tooling-3/5
18.'Till I Collapse-A very basic beat, and some very above-average lyrics. And, what modern rap song in this day is complete without a chorus by Nate Dogg?-5/5
19.My Dad's Gone Crazy--This is definitely the most underrated song on the cd. I did not even know this track existed until I bought this album. Em's daughter, Hailie Jade Scott, sings a line in the chorus that makes this a fun song to listen too. While the second verse is kind of disgusting, the third verse in this song will have you re-winding your cds to listen to it over and over and over again. Wow-5/5
This CD is definitely worth the money and is a good choice to buy. Part II of the Marshall Mathers LP, and even better. 10/10 lyrics, 9/10 beats, and 10/10 production
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2002
Ok, everyone, it's about time that people put aside their doubts about Eminem's skills or staying power! Slim Shady's third album, "The Eminem Show" proves once and for all that Mr. Mathers is extremely talented, in addition to being a lightning rod for controversy. With his debut album in 1999, "The Slim Shady LP", it would easy to have written him off as another white rapper being a pretender to the throne of hip-hop greatness. Even with catchy songs like "My Name is" and "Guilty Conscience" making loud noise on the Top-40 charts, critics were in a hurry to lump him with other 'Great White Hopes' that flamed out like Vanilla Ice (just a complete joke) and Snow (just never found an audience). The success of his sophomore album, "The Marshall Mathers LP" shocked many and showed he had staying power, but the truth is, Eminem was destined for success from the start.

First, Eminem is a gifted lyricist and free-stylist, which already separates him from the pre-fabricated hip-hop garbage like Ja Rule and such. Second, he made the crucial decision early on to ally himself with arguably the most respected and skillful name in the hip-hop world, Dr. Dre. With Dre's expert and ORIGINAL sound backing up Shady's vocals, it was inevitable that he would be successful and that eventually people would come around to realize his talent.

"The Eminem Show" continues to show the evolution of that talent. "Without Me" captures the same fast-paced, light-hearted slams at popular culture that "The Real Slim Shady" did on his previous album. In addition to such 'amusing' songs like that and "White America", Eminem delves deeper into, and makes some peace with, his sordid past. "Cleaning Out My Closet" goes right to the heart of his pain about his upbringing and his fractured relationship with his mother. If his lyrics in this song are indeed and accurate depiction of his life growing up, then it's no wonder he's such an angry individual. Yet, through that anger, he seems to be making peace with himself, even if it means terminating any relationship with his mother. It's gritty, harsh, but real material.

Eminem is branching out into movies now with a loosely autobiographical "8 Mile". Early reviews there seem positive, too. It's always fascinating to see what he will produce next. The controversy he generates grabs people's attention the first time. The skill and talent that he displays keeps people returning each additional time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2002
Shady seems to get wizer with his lyrics ever album. This album explodes with great lyrics, beats, and a tight production. Dr. Dre and Eminem are the best duo. Marshall tells about social issues in America he expresses his thoughts in great detail throughout the album you get a sense of what he is going through in his life.
Curtains Up Skit- Show's Eminem ready to talk on the microphone.
White America- Displays Eminem's talent to reach out to his fans and how's he's influenced them awesome song! Very heavy
Business- One of my favorite tracks it's awesome with Dre's beats. It's kind of a batman and Robin duo. Great Lyricsm on this track it's a standout!!
Cleanin Out My Closet- Eminem talks about his fame, his ex wife, and his mother, this song tells the fans what Eminem's feeling.
Square Dance- Don't let the title fool you. Eminem seems mad on this track he trash talks canibus! It's a good rap song.
The Kiss Skit- The events that led to Eminem's arrest.
Soldier- Tells about how even though Eminem has had lawsuits against him, the press against him, and his newfound fame, he takes it all in and still moves on like a soilder.
Say Goodbye Hollywood- Talks about all the things that have happened to Shady and how he needs to keep his feet above the ground.
Drips- Talks about Obie Trice he raps about sex and STDS. Basically a son about Eminem's fictional girlfriend.
Without Me- One of my favorite tracks. Eminems first lead single and he basically tells about how he's back and better then ever. Very funny song.
. Paul Rosenberg (Skit)- Em's manager telling em not to carry a gun around anywhere.
Sing For The Moment- Aerosmith tune telling how his fans and other enterainers are attached to em.
Superman- Tells about his ex wife. And how he can care less about the situation. How's he single and his laid back attitude.
Hailie's Song- Lovesong to his daughter. Describing his feelings in this heartfelt song.
Steve Berman(skit) - The head of Interscope records says what he wants to say about this album.
When The Music Stops- Awesome talks about Em's issues and what he's feeling tight beat guest spot by D12 one of my favorite songs on this album.
Say What U Say - Em and Dre rap dissing Jermaine Dupri.
'Till I Collapse- Don't really like this song tells about how em is going to continue with his rap career till he collapse how much he loves the game and how rapping is his life!
My Dad's Gone Crazy- Eminem shines on this song it tells about him and what we've known all along Em is a little crazy!
The Curtains close- The Em show sadly ends.
*****5 stars great album!! Funny
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2003
i am not a rap fan. i listen to mainly rock music. eminem is the only rapper i will make an exception for. honestly, i was brought up not to like him, but i always have anyway. i didnt really get into him until last summer, though. i got this cd for my birthday from my brother, and i love him for it. we're both eminem fans. my rents almost took it away from me after all the cussing, but i talked them out of it. i'm gonna cut the ...now, and just give you a rating of each song in my opinion:
1.curtains up-this is just an intro, no need to rate it.
2.white america-sweet song. 5/5
3.business-pretty cool. 4/5
4.cleanin out my closet-2nd single. awesome song and video.5/5
5.square dance-possibly my fav song on cd. i just love it. 5/5
6.the kiss-another skit. he goes a little overobard on the cussing, but whatever. thats eminem.
7.soldier-first time i heard it, i hated it. it grew on me a lot, tho 4.5/5
8.say goodbye hollywood-cool. 5/5
9.drips-ok, i do not like this one. i always skip it. 1/5
10.without me-first single. whats not to like? 5/5
11.paul rosenberg-skit.
12.sing for the moment-another awesome song. 5/5
13.superman-this is em's newest single that just came out as of the time of this review. 5/5
14.hailies song-great song to his daughter. sings in this one. 5/5
15.steve berman-skit.
16.when the music stops-okay, but not nearly as good as the rest. 3.5/5
17.say what you say-cool. 4.5/5
18.'till i collapse-awesome. 5/5
19.my dads gone crazy-hailie was a little annoying at first. def. grew on me. funny song. 5/5
20.curtains close-skit.
overall, an awesome cd that definetly is worth your money!! 5 star material, no questions asked. eminem is controversy, and i know some people hate him for it, but i love him. hes real, hes no fake, regardless of what some of you say. he is a cool guy whose songs have meaning and has some great lyrics, which can especially be shown in sing for the moment. this cd is much better than its predecessor, marshall mathers lp, which is average. i dont yet have his first cd, so i cant compare to that one. anyway, i highly recommend this cd, even if you're not really into rap.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2002
This CD misses the perfection of "The Marshall Mathers LP", but it sure comes close. Em, the central producer, lays down a lot of innovative, sometimes rock-based, beats and tracks. Then, of course, are the lyrics. They are top-notch here, covering quite a few topics. When will he stop? Hopefully not until he dies, because I can't get enough of him. Here are my ratings of all the different tracks.
Curtains Up 7/10 Great introduction to the concept
White America 9/10 Limp Bizkit, eat your heart out-this is real rap-metal!
Business 9/10 Batman (Dr. Dre) lays down a phat track
Cleanin Out My Closet 10/10 Perfect portrait of raw emotion
Sqaure Dance 7/10 A little silly, and mediocre for Em, but still better than 90% of rappers out there
The Kiss 9/10 Hilarious and a great pot-stirrer for the dumb critics
Soldier 10/10 Relentlessly Pac-influenced and raw as Hell
Say Goodbye Hollywood 6/10 Probably my least fav track on CD
Drips 8/10 Nasty and raw, but the way Obie rhymes that disgusting stuff is ingenious
Without Me 9/10 Got a little old, but still rocks the house
Paul 9/10 Classic as usual
Sing For the Moment 9/10 I usually get ... when classic rock gets sampled for hip-hop, but not on this track
Superman 10/10 Awesome flow, great prechorus and chorus
Hailie's Song 10/10 What a melody...so what if he can't sing?
Steve Berman 7/10 He finally eats it
When the Music Stops 8/10 D12-Proof and Swifty are still my favs after Em
Say What You Say 7/10 Not nearly as good as it could've been
Til I Collapse 9/10 Nate rips it up, Em truly masters his art
My Dad's Gone Crazy 10/10 Hilarious, yet touchingly haunting, and amazing production by Dre
Curtain Close 7/10 Ken is back...
Keep droppin em, EM!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2002
The last two albums were great! They both, like this one had amazing crazy lyrics. But those two only had a few serious songs and the rest of the cd was joking around. Not this one, most of the cd is serious and deep. Its a lot more fersonal that the rest.
Track Assesment:
1 Curtains Up(skit)
2.White America- Great anti government song 5/5
3.Buisness - cool song, coll lyrics 5/5
4.Cleaning Out My Closet - serious, deep, personal, amazing 6/5
5.Square Dance - cool beat, cool lyrics 5/5
6.The Kiss(skit) - kim....
7.Soldier - I'm at a loss for words 6/5
8.Say Goodbye to Hollywood - cool song, personal, 5/5
9.Drips(w/obie trice) - little too nasty, but cool 4/5
10.Without Me - ya'll know this one 4/5
11.Paul Rosenberg(skit) - em, dont bring you're gun around..
12.Sing for the Moment - awsome remake of areosmith classi, 6/5
13.Superman - cool song 5/5
14.Halies Song - to halie, em has the balls to try and sing, peronal, meaningfull 5/5
15.Steve Berman(skit) - he finaly dies!
16.When The Music Stops - realy cool song 5/5
17.Say What You Say(w/dr.dre) cool song, dre disses dupri!!5/5
18.Till I Collapse(w/ nate doog) - cool chorus by nate, cool backroung 5/5
19.My Dads Gone Crazy(W/Halie Jade) - really cool, halie pust good touch on song, 5/5
20.Curtains Close(skit) - Ken Kaniff is back!
After reading that you should relize how amazing this cd is.
The bonus dvd is pretty cool. It has a couple live preformances, a few interviews, I Just Dont Give A ... video and an episiode of The Slim Shady Show.
In the DVD em says its best for an artist to grow each cd and get better, and he sure ...did on this one, ...
ps-I dont know if its possible for him to grow after this one
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2003
I CANNOT stop listening to this CD, something that came as a shock and unexpected delight to this over 40 mom/lawyer/folk music fan (maybe there IS a little Slim Shady in all of us....). After I saw the movie 8 Mile, I had to check out Eminem's music (more than just the soundtrack, that is) so I bought this and was floored. I now have all of his CDs (I think), including the early ones pre-dating his relationship with Dr. Dre. The Marshall Mathers LP was great, but I like this one better, and like it MUCH more than the Slim Shady LP. My favorite tracks are Business, Square Dance (which, as a Texan, I NEVER listen to without laughing out loud, though I think the lyrics wander off a bit at the end), and Sing for the Moment. I also like Without Me very much, though it certainly is more pop oriented than the others. If you like Eminem, you should not delay any longer. You will LOVE this CD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2004
This is the follow up to "The Marshall Mathers LP." None of Eminem's other albums can touch "The Marshall Mathers LP." His other albums are also awesome. He's clearly the best rapper of his time. All rap fans will like this and any other Eminem album, trust me. I suggest that everybody that likes rap should buy this album.
1. Curtains Up (Skit)
2. White America-4/5
3. Business-4/5
4. Cleanin' Out My Closet-5/5
5. Square Dance-5/5
6. The Kiss (Skit)
7. Soldier-5/5
8. Say Goodbye Hollywood-5/5
9. Drips-5/5
10. Without Me-4/5
11. Paul Rosenberg (Skit)
12. Sing For The Moment-5/5
13. Superman-5/5
14. Hailie's Song-5/5
15. Steve Berman (Skit)
16. When The Music Stops-5/5
17. Say What You Say-5/5
18. Till I Collapse-5/5
19. My Dad's Gone Crazy-4/5
20. Curtains Close (Skit)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2002
Eminem may have the talent and the truth, but this album [stinks], poor stupidity and ridiculous skits, and everytime he bashes over and over and over again, is this talent?, the only talent in this cd is in the candy store, This album may have done well at the billboard charts, but in my opinion, it will never be as good as 2pac, for a better white rappers try listening to beastie boys or even that new white rapper Bubba Sparxxx, even though I Didn't buy this album (thank god I Didn't), eminem is the most overrated rap artist in music since vanilla ice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here