countdown boutiques-francophones Beauty Furniture Kindle sports Tools



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 23, 2016
This comes with a DVD but strange enough, the dvd has english subtitles and some extra features which the blu-ray disc doesn't... Overall, the movie is great so just watch it and thank me later. Did this inspire Saw?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2004
What a great concept. A handful of people awaken to find themselves trapped inside a bunch of cubical rooms, connected by doors in each of the six faces. They have no idea where they are or how to get out, but since they have no food or water, they need to find out fairly quickly. But some of the rooms contain deadly booby-traps, and nobody knows how to tell which ones they are. Turns out all the rooms form one giant cube; nobody knows exactly why anyone wanted to construct such a complicated, useless, and potentially deadly piece of machinery -- let alone why anybody would deliberately put _people_ in it . . .
This premise would have been at home on the old 'Twilight Zone' series (or even on the original 'Star Trek', with the trapped parties being Kirk, Spock, McCoy, Scotty, and 'Crewman Green'). And ya don't gotta be Kafka to smell the allegory; at any rate, if _your_ life has never felt like this, you probably won't like the movie.
The execution is very good too. Obviously a film like this requires a small ensemble cast and a script that manages to keep things interesting for an hour and a half even though all the 'action' takes place inside a series of practically identical cubical rooms. It has both. I won't spoil anything here, but there are some genuinely suspenseful moments and there's a lot of excruciating _psychological_ tension. (And not just from claustrophobia.)
I'm knocking off a star just because I just don't think the characters quite gel. They're interesting enough, but they're neither sufficiently complex to keep me fully engaged with them nor sufficiently 'archetypal' to support the allegory. In some respects their characterization occasionally seems inconsistent.
Very cool movie, though, and the slightly weak characterization isn't much of a drawback. It's not at all a 'hopeful' film and the ending won't make you gasp with moral relief; nor will all that many of your questions get answered. But if (like me) you enjoy that sort of movie, you'll especially enjoy this one.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2005
Much like Vicenzo Natali's later film, "Nothing," "Cube" uses a highly unusual setup and setting to explore the characters who inhabit it. Seven strangers wake up in the titular cube with no knowledge of how they got there and no indication of what, if anything, they're expected to do. As they attempt to solve the apparent puzzle and escape, we learn what drives them and gradually see how the stress of the situation causes their true characters to emerge. In that respect, as a character study, I found "Cube" immensely interesting and even surprising. The character arcs are believable and well thought-out, and the dialogue supports them. I thought the casting was excellent as well -- clearly, that's a "love it or hate it" aspect of this movie, as the other reviews indicate.
The film's weakness, however, is the setup itself -- it's a great idea, but unlike the characters, it's never developed. (Skip to the next paragraph if you don't want to see potential spoilers.) Who "runs" the cube? Why were these people put in it? Where does escaping take them? These are all questions that the characters themselves ask, but they're never answered. We don't even know the time period (for that matter, we don't know if it's even Earth...). It makes it difficult to know how to feel when the closing credits roll.
It's not uncommon to leave questions unanswered to allow the audience to bring their own interpretation to a story, but it's a fine line between doing that and leaving questions unanswered because the filmmakers don't know the answers either (I get the impression that's the case here). Tough call on the rating...but I'm giving "Cube" 4 stars because by virtue of the characters and what we do know of the setting itself, there are a lot of genuinely suspenseful moments and unexpected twists, and I just plain enjoyed the movie. If you're willing to overlook the undeveloped setup, "Cube" is worth your time.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
"Cube" is a cult hit. That basically means that it's good or innovative, but not many people know about it.

Vincenzo Natali (also creator of "Cypher" and "Nothing") made his full-length directorial debut with this film -- a low-budet, innovative sci-thriller that feels like an episode of the "Twilight Zone," as written by Mark Danielewski and Franz Kafka. Yes, it's that surreal -- and that intelligent and well-written.

Seven people have been placed in a cubical room, which is connected to a bizarre maze of thousands more. Among are a cop, a disabled man, an architect, a student, a doctor and a criminal, and all of them have wildly disparate personalities. But they soon learn that behind the countless doors, there are deadly booby-traps.

So of course, their chances of survival don't seem so good. But they soon learn that their placement in the Cube is no accident -- each one has skills that the group needs. To escape, they will have to band together and use their brains. But why are they in the Cube in the first place -- and is the maze even the same as when they started?

Vincenzo Natali's "Cube" is a perfect example of what Hollywood can't seem to grasp -- it doesn't matter how much money is poured into a movie, because it's the concept, brains and skill that make it good or bad. Not the special effects or the big names.

And Natali did a magnificent job with his first full-length movie, infusing what seems to be a straightforward thriller with a taut, claustrophobic atmosphere, and some ominous hints about morality (or the lack of it) and sociology. It also has an unusually intelligent script, with prime numbers and their powers playing a big part, right next to the gruesome deaths. And of course, the solid dialogue. ("You've got a gift." "It's not a gift. It's just a brain.")

At the heart of the creepiness: Natali only reveals the secrets of the Cube as they are revealed to the characters, which adds to the suspense. What is this thing? Why are they in it? We know as much as they do. And we're only going to find out more about it when they do.

It's also a movie that bothers to have real characters. No screaming teens here -- the movie's plot depends on them being very different. Natali and André Bijelic reveal the characters through their action and dialogue -- some are whiny, some are cruel, and some are just annoying. Some of the acting is rather flat, and a few of the arguments ring hollow, but overall it's very like watching real people.

Vincenzo Natali's "Cube" gives a good name to shoestring budgets and eerie plots. Definitely deserving of its cult status -- bizarre, twisted and creepy.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 30, 2002
Cube was a good film. I thought the premise was very creative, and interesting. The cinematography was well done, and the writing was mostly good, but some of the acting was weak. I found Nicky Guadagni's (Holloway) acting to be pretty heavy handed, and unnatural. And Maurice Dean Wint (Quentin) delivered a few labored lines. But the rest of the cast was good.
The film makes use of only one set, an empty cubical room. The actors are inexplicably trapped in an enormous, and complex series of these cube rooms. Some rooms are booby trapped, while others are safe. The only variables are the numerical codes placed at the entrances to each cube. The characters use these to navigate through the maze, and hopefully to find the way out.
Cube has suspense, originality, modest action, and emotion. So for that I give it four out of five stars. If you like offbeat, creative films that have a dark edge, you should check out Cube.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2003
IMPORTANT NOTICE to those buying the Cube DVD: there are two editions out there, the first was Trimark's edition, and now there's Lion's Gate's "signature series" edition (Lion's Gate now owns Trimark). Apparently the orignal Trimark edition is being phased out.
This new LG edition is still excellent, but collectors will definitely want both editions as the commentary on Trimark's is much better since it includes cast member David Hewlett (they go more in-depth to some of the aspects of the film). Why LG decided to replace that commentary with a new one with only director Vincenzo Natali is a mystery. The only other difference is the new LG edition has a brief interview with Nicole deBoer, and a more interactive menu.
Now, on to the film itself: Cube is one of the most original sci-fi films of the last decade. If you were to think about what situation would terrify you the most, Cube would be the ultimate challenge. In a way, it is a predecessor to TV's "Survivor" in which the people each have a skill that can help them survive and possibly get them out...here, being that seven people wake up and find themselves in an endless maze of cubed rooms, some of which are booby trapped.
It all comes down to human emotions and confrontations that get in the way of the characters' progress and survival. It's a talky film, but that's the point -- figuring situations and dealing with different personalities is inevitable to any group. The solving of problems becomes very complex, but the viewer doesn't have to worry...let the characters figure it out as we go along for the ride!
While so many sci-fi films want to wow you with effects, Cube does something more daring -- it makes you think! With its limited budget working FOR its advantage and some digital effects that preceded even the film Titanic, Cube still proves itself as one of the most original and intelligent thrillers of the last decade. It is truly a nail-biter.
Those who need more visual thrills and less "thinking" should just then stick with Cube 2: Hypercube. However, this first and superior Cube is a masterpiece! Gumdrops, anyone?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2012
This is a awesome movie. It's worth the Blu-ray upgrade! The picture is perfect. Order this Blu-ray asap you will be happy you did. They don't sell this blu-ray in the usa so i ordered from Amazon Canada!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon January 14, 2013
The Cube(released Sept/97)is a wonderful Canadian production,starring Nicole De Boer(Dax in DS9),Maurice Dean Wint as Quentin,Nicky Guadagni as Dr. Helen Holloway,David Hewlett as David Worth,Andrew Miller as Kazan,Wayne Robson as Rennes(One Magic Christmas,as the guy who hijacks the children),and Julian Richings as Alderson.It is a grand study in paranoia,fear of the unknown and human beings reduced to the simplest of equations in so far as their emotional stability goes.It is instinctual and at times raw and unnerving to watch as the group`s numbers dwindle and they spiral ever downwards within themselves.
The film begins as an unknown man is lying on a floor in a square/cubed room.He gets up,takes a few steps then is sliced and diced by a swift moving steel metal sieve.He literally falls to pieces before our eyes.It is certainly a disturbing harbinger of what is to come.The film progresses to introducing us to a group of individuals who eventually all come together,and work on a way of trying to get out of their strange dilemma.They put forth their own personal theories as to the whys of their predicament,ranging from an alien kidnapping to a government run conspiracy.Among the group there is a doctor,an ex con,a cop,a student,an autistic savant and one of the actual creators of part of the structure they now stand in.He apparently worked on the outer shell,and was in communication with others working on the project,but none knew what the ultimate design was nor the others names.
The student utilizes her math skills to get the group going from one safe room to another,as each are numbered and some rooms are booby trapped.Time passes on and the group starts to dwindle and tempers flare and extreme paranoia and fear touches each one in different ways.They eventually learn they are all in a giant cube,with a myriad of other cubes that constantly move.They also figure out that the original cube they started from was the one they should have stayed in in the first place.They get back to that location,and in time the room comes to a halt at a portal that they may escape from,which exudes white light.As the film ends only one person escapes into the light and....freedom?
The films opening is disturbing but it quickly backs away and starts out slowly introducing each character and their idioms.However the claustrophobic fog permeates the entire film and it never dissipates at all,thus pulling you into their world with ease.It is a simple concept yet complicated at the same time,focusing hard on the complex beings that are humans.
Technically speaking the film is in its w/s a/r of 1:85:1 and is clear and crisp.Extras include some deleted scenes,commentary and a short interview with Nicole De Boer.
All in all a wonderful film study of humans in a guinea pig environment,with no where to go and only their wits and each other to rely on to escape....but do they?The ending has a neat and bittersweet twist.Highly recommended.4 1/2 stars.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2002
Imagine you're in a cube shaped room (14x14x14 ft.). There's a door on each side of the room that leads to another, nearly identical to the one you're in now. The only distinguishing features are the colour of the room and seemingly random numbers printed on the doorways..........oh..........and the booby traps. The traps will dice you, incinerate you, hollow out your skull with hydrochloric acid, and lots of other neat stuff (or there may not be a trap at all).
Now imagine you wake up in one of these rooms, with no recollection of how you got there and no idea of why you're there or how to get out.
This is a great low budget ($300,000 Canadian) sci-fi flick. I'm not suprised at all that it did very well internationally (and quite surprised that the Americans didn't seem to take to it).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2002
There was a reviewer who said many of these synopses miss the point and for the most part I agree with him. He argued that the characters were allegories for six common types of people: the militiristic, conceited leader, the book smart nerd who lacks common sense, the nihilist, the paranoid care giver, the innocent, somewhat ignorant, child, and the hardened criminal who cares only about himself. Like I said, he's right, but I think he oversimplifies the issue. The cube itself is an allegory. An allegory of the world we live in (yes, I realize that it was meant to look like someone's concept of hell, but who can prove that the Earth we reside on isn't someone's concept of hell?). This brings me to my most important metaphysical point. A lot of people--both reviewers in this forum as well as friends I've discussed this film with--get hung up on the fact that we never learn who constructed this cube and let this hang up negatively affect their opinion of this flick. I say that's silly because it shouldn't matter who constructed it. Nevermind the fact that the dialogue dismisses the concern by saying, let's remember that the cube is an allegory of the earth. And the characters in the film ask the same questions that philosophers have been asking for centuries: who created this? what is the point? how do we succeed and ascend? what ethical code do we need to obey? But just as all of these philosophers can't answer these questions, either can the characters. And if they could answer the questions, the allegory would be ruined, and the movie would fail.
But that's enough philosophical babble. Let's consider the film itself. Many say these characters aren't developed. I don't agree. Each character has their own personality and each character is affected differently by the cube. One goes completely insane, one gets angry and determined, another is resolved to solve the riddle, and another is convinced it can't be solved. Are these characters 3 dimensional; maybe not. But that doesn't matter. We see as much of these people as they could ever be expected to reveal of themselves in front of perfect strangers in a situation such as this. Another common complaint is the dialogue, the writing. Dialogue is a tricky thing, but it was written very well here and I don't understand the complaint.
Where the movie fails for me is the ending. I don't see it's point. All of the metaphyisical and allegorical objectives of the flick were already achieved. It had already shown us that we need to work together, rather than against each other, if there's any hope to saving the human race. It had shown us that we need to look for and find the intrinsic value of person we meet, rather than assuming some are worse than others. All the ending does is succumb to traditional horror methods, and weakens the overall effect of the movie.
Technically speaking, the camara angles do a remarkable job of further developing the cube's claustophobic effects. The sound design and music are chilling and flawless. The lighting is kind of hokie and some the shot frames a little cliched--though others are inventive.
If not for the end, I'd say this is a four (simply because I almost never give fives) considering the budget they had to work with.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here