Echo Spot countdown boutiques-francophones Introducing Fire TV Stick Basic Edition WFM Furniture Kindle Paperwhite Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools



Showing 1-10 of 30 reviews(4 star). See all 226 reviews
on February 25, 2017
I recently watched this very frightening movie on my laptop as I mistakenly got a version that was coded for area2. This is an older film but one I missed. This was a terrifying film in parts.

If this was the price for accepting Castro's castoffs into the US it was too high. Pacinos' (and that of his sidekick from Cuba) introduction to Miami is to witness the dismemberment and death of others with a chainsaw! Al Pacino does a great job of playing a Cuban hood, who, through his own drive and guts takes over a portion of the cocaine trade and eliminate his boss and then indulges in exorbitant spending of the illicit gains. The theme is to take from others but to brook no interference with his own wants. Al Pacino plays the role of a domineering cocaine merchant convincingly. When he steals his boss's girl, marries her and maltreats her, even she leaves him. Even his faithful mother (whom he hasn't bothered to contact on the flimsy excuse that he wanted to keep her and his blossoming younger sister safe) disowns him and tries to keep his sister from his influence and money. The saddest piece occurs when, he has charged his buddy with minding the store in Bolivia, he finds him with his sister - he does not stop to discover that they have exciting news for him - they are married!. He guns his buddy down as he opens the door.

Pacino cuts a deal for cocaine supply with a Bolivian drug lord. In exchange he is to facilitate the bomb murder of a diplomat trying to stop the trade by some sort of legalization. Pacino refuse the facilitation because the diplomat's wife and children are in the set-up car.
All in all this is an excellent portrayal of the seamy life in the cocaine trade. There follows a bloody invasion of the South Americans in which Pacino dies in a hail of bullets. He dies with his his face in cocaine and later his body riddled with bullets. I don't normally tell the story but this is a ghastly tale which the tender of heart should stay away from unless they want to be suffer nightmares!n
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 16, 2017
Awesome steelbook and an awesome movie. Just one problem, the movie came in the mail with a Walmart sticker on it that said $6.88 and I paid close to $16.00.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 2, 2017
Great movie, but the digital download was the god awful Ultraviolet which the description did not indicate.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 14, 2017
"Say hello to my little friend!" Classic film!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 5, 2015
It's like Grand Theft Auto: Vice City: The Movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 1, 2016
parfait
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 22, 2016
Wicked movie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 11, 2015
A little scratched due to DVD moving around inside but plays fine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 5, 2003
I missed this intentionally when it came out in 1983 believing it to be another version of the Al Capone story. It is, sort of. Of course Al Pacino would be brilliant as Al Capone and demand every square inch of the screen and get it. And he was and he did. And director Brian DePalma would spray the screen in scarlet, and he did. However this updated and revised version set in Miami from a script by Oliver Stone is very much worth watching even though it's almost three hours long.
First of all, Al Pacino is riveting as Tony Montana, a Cuban refugee released from prison by Fidel Castro in 1980 who arrives in Florida with a yearning to rule the world and a huge chip on his shoulder. His character is an extreme version of the "live fast, die young" species, the kind of guy who takes extreme chances and fears nothing. It is a shame that it is not obvious that for every one of the Tony Montanas in the world who actually made it to the top of the cocaine pile, there are thousands who weren't able to dodge the bullets and died not just young, but very young.
Second, there is not a dead spot in the whole movie. Stone's action-driven script and DePalma's focused direction compel our attention. If you can stand the bestial mentality and the animalistic flash culture of the drug lords and their sleazy world, you might even want to see this twice.
What I found myself watching closely was Michelle Pfeiffer at twenty-something, strikingly beautiful and totally degenerate as the cocaine-addled moll. Also very much worth watching was Mary Elizabeth Mastrantonio as Tony Montana's sister Gina. The big brother/little sister incestuous theme (from the original Scarface of 1931 starring Paul Muni and directed by Howard Hawks) was craftily prepared and reached a striking climax (if you will) in the scene in which Gina tells Montana that he must "have her" (that's not exactly the words she used) since he won't let anybody else have her. The touch of necrophilia that followed was perhaps gratuitous.
What I loved was the way DePalma reminded us again and again of how trapped the characters were by their desperate indulgences, the expensive liquor, the cigars, the cocaine, the stacks of money that took hours to count by machine. The scene in which Pfeiffer takes a snort of cocaine, a puff of a cigarette and a swallow of booze one after the other as the only thing she knows how to do in this world (with the white powder still on her nostrils) was wonderful in its piteous effect. I also liked the scene in which Montana, seated in his black leather chair with his initials in gold lettering, surrounded by his security video screens, dives into a pile of cocaine and comes up with it on his nose. Reminds me of the old doper saying, "Too much is never enough."
The shoot 'em up finale of course was much, much overdone and about as realistic as a John Wayne barroom fight, but I loved the way Pacino played Montana near the end as a kind of paranoid Napoleon, the little guy who wanted to rule the world now finished and insane. Note, by the way, in how many scenes Pacino played a very vigorous persona sitting down.
In the final analysis this is a morality tale, a kind of very flashy "crime does not pay" saga not because the cops will get you (they don't) but because the life itself will corrupt you beyond anything human. Those who live by the gun will die by the gun, and there is no security among murders and thieves.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 7, 2003
At this point, there's no need for me to summarize the plot of this much-revered gangster epic by Brian DePalma. Chances are, you've already seen this movie, and if you haven't, then you know somebody else who has. What I WILL discuss is the DVD, which I have been anxiously awaiting for at least a couple years. I bought "Scarface" during my lunch break from the office and waited impatiently for the day to end so I could rush home and watch it later that evening. As most of you all know, "Scarface" was originally released many years ago on DVD, but was slammed by many for its terrible picture quality and crummy sound. It got yanked out of print, and now a 2-disc version has been re-released for its 20th anniversary. So, how's the picture? It's not flawless, but it certainly looks impressive for a 1983 film. The colors are rich and the picture delivers a fairly sharp image throughout. I didn't notice that many print flaws; however, the darker scenes were a bit fuzzy at times. Regardless, Universal redeemed itself in a big way and did a very good job fixing this picture. The sound, however, is my sole disappointment. I own a five-channel system, and most of the sound came from the center speaker. Even the shootings (and there are several) came from the center! This is particularly upsetting, considering that "Scarface" is a very loud and action-packed film. In fact, the main occasion where the sound moved to the front and rear channels is during Giorgio Moroder's chessily synthetic 1980's score. Quite simply, the remastering didn't always allow the sound to utilize all five speakers as it should have. It would have been nice if the sound moved to the surrounding speakers during the more action-oriented scenes. I know this is nitpicking, but I am a royal pain when it comes to these details. However, the second disc of supplements is an attractive package. It has a few documentaries including interviews with, among others, DePalma, Al Pacino, and Oliver Stone (who wrote the script). There's also another documentary that covers the movie's influence on hip hop culture, featuring interviews with P. Diddy, Eve, Snoop Dogg, Russell Simmons, and, yep, the Geto Boy Scarface himself. This clip has prompted some interesting responses from viewers, and others turn their nose at it, asking "What does 'Scarface' have to do with hip hop?" Well, here's my $.02 on this matter. If you don't like hip hop, that's fine. But only an ignorant fool would deny the clear and obvious connection between this film and gangsta rap. Like many rappers, Tony Montana had a tough background, overcame adversity, and quickly climbed his way to be one of the baddest thugs in the business. It is mainly this reason why "Scarface" survived its box office failure and grew to be an underground classic. But hip hop connections or not, this movie is a hugely entertaining film with an explosive performance by Al Pacino. It isn't perfect, but it's vivid, incredibly outrageous, and invites multiple viewings. Even though the DVD's sound leaves much for improvement, "Scarface" gets the green light from me. Buy this movie and reunite yourself with "your little friend."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse