countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout home All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
276
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-9 of 9 reviews(1 star). Show all reviews
on June 25, 2000
Truly an outstanding film and I agree with all the positive comments. However, I have seen the film 3 times. First in German with English Subtitles, Second Dubbed in English, and again in German with English subtitles.
The impact of native German spoken in combat is awesome and cannot be captured in the English dubbed version. The dubbed version just felt so fake. For that reason alone I gave the dubbed version one star. Get the English subtitled version if possible, DVD if you can!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2016
👍
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2003
The original version of this movie is a German public television production
and is 6 hours long. It shows the good and ugly in very young people who
were sent to war. The absurdity of war as well as fear, desperation and
suffering of the victims are in the spotlight. This is one of the best
Anti-War movies. Highly recommended, if you can find the original version.
The "Director's Cut" is a carnage made by Hollywood's simple-minded
monopolists. Every contrast shown in the original movie is gone. Only the
faceless ugly side is left. Hollywood's wrongdoers take pride in replacing
the sound of an exploding bomb. Hollywood never did and never will
understand war. And because they don't want you to understand it either you
will never find a translated version of the uncut original production. This
is censorship of the most disgusting form.
At long last Amazon managed to spell the names of the actors right. Cheers!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2001
Wake-up! The original four hour version (serial compellation)"is" Das Boot. How about a condensed (less than 30 minute)"Hunt For Red October"? Don't waste your money. Five stars? I am, disappointed--
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 1999
This so called "Director's Cut" is a travesty. Wait for the originally released version. It is far better
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2012
Not very happy.
Tried to play both sides of the DVD and couldn't.
Took it out and realized it was broken in the center.
Not worth the money to ship it back and get a replacement.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2000
I did not like this movie. I tried and I tried, but it just never payed off for me... You keep waiting for the real action to start, and it never does. Way too long, it could benefit from cutting an hour or two. Then it might be bearable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2000
This is a very boring and slow movie. I do not understand almost the 100% 5 star ratings for this movie. All we get to see for most of the movie is the crew eating food and talking vaguely about things that are of no consequence to us or the movie. And the rest of movie is how they were hit by other ships.
In a word, this movie is very boring. I would give 0 stars if I could.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2004
This movie is horrible! If I hadn't paid $30.00 for it I'd toss it in the trash. The depiction is about a German u-boat on patrol and it does a great job of replicating the harsh conditions the crew had to endure-pure hell. This is nothing you can't figure out by reading a few pages in any WW2 submarine book. But if you would rather watch several hours of it then this flick is for you. This movie drags, and drags for hours showing these men living in their own filth. They bare their ass, pick their nose, belch, fart, snore, sweat, puke and lay around waiting for contact with the enemy. If you are not bored out of your mind or passed out asleep, you find that you have to play the 2nd DVD to see a little action. An hour into the 2nd DVD they finally fire a couple torpedoes at what appears to be model boats at night. The special effects are a joke, and the music continues to loop with each scene showing the u-boat riding on top of the water-this in itself drove me crazy. The crew goes nuts and so will you trying to figure why the damn thing was made in the first place. I think doing laundry is more exciting then wasting time watching this crap. Thumbs DOWN-it SUCKS!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse