Echo Dot bfdw boutiques-francophones Introducing Fire TV Stick Basic Edition Beauty home Kindle sports Tools



on September 13, 2017
Good transfer of the original to BluRay. Visuals don't suffer from being shown on higher resolution systems- although it's obvious at some points that Hollywood will be working tirelessly to improve makeup, since facial imperfections are much more noticeable on the higher resolutions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2016
This movie was really worth getting. It engages the viewer and keeps one watching right to the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2017
super
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2017
Arrived as promised. Good movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2017
Arrived on time and in good order. Thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2004
Many people tend to compare this movie to armageddon, as they are both about the idea of a celestial body (in this case a comet, in the case of armageddon an asteroid) on a collision course with the earth, and seeing as how they were released in very close proximatey to one another. I think this has a lot to do with some people's lack of love for Deep impact, but the reality is these were two very different movies.
While "Armageddon" was a great movie in it's own rate, it was more of an action-romance movie that was meant to apeal to a braoder audience and satisfy movie-goers' typical demands of a major release. But with Deep Impact a much different aproach was taken, following in the way of the traditional Disaster Movie Genre.
From the beginning we are introduced to one of the main Characters, an upstart reporter investigating your run of the mill political love affair scandal, but stumbles instead upon the biggest story of history, that there is a monstrous comet on a collision course with earth. And so unfold's the American government's plan to send an team of asteronauts to intercept the comet and plant enough nukes on it to deflect it off course. The movie handles the plot from a much more epic, and at the same time much more personal level than armageddon.
The romance angle of the story is provided by the young boy who unwittingly discovered the comet and his girl neighbor. As counter measures fail, and plan B, C and D are called into action the terrible reality that only so many can be saved, and that it has to be decided who lives and dies sets in. A national lottery determines who will get passage to a special fallout shelter-like cave complex that was built in secret to house 1 million people. The rest are left to fend for themselves.
I really found deep impact to be more emotional, though not as romantic as armageddon. Characters will die, babies will be deperated from parents, young people will be asked to carry burdens that they shouldnt have to deal with and cities are destroyed as part of the asteroid hits the atlantic and causes a massive tsunami. Watching all this really had a more realistic and more message-orientated feel to it than Armageddon. I liked that the movie seemed to follow closer to the science and horrow of what a comet impact could cause, and how that affected the characters and our society. This made the movie much more interesting to me in many ways, and much realer as well.
The special effects are well done enough for the time period, and actually the tidal-wave scene where you watch a city massive wall of water inundate the city, hills and forests was quite ae inspiring. This is well done and will make your jaw drop when you see it.
The only problems are some inconsistant acting, and the fact that this movie is a bit slow and might not appeal to some viewers as much as armageddon because it's not an action movie.
All in all this was a great disaster movie and I thought it did a better job than armageddon in many ways of dealing with the actual plot scenario, though I like that movie as well just for different reasons. But if you're looking for a good sci-fi based disaster movie that will touches on many deeper levels than similar movies than this is your best bet. You're better off renting Deep Impact than you are going to the theater to see "The Day After Tomorrow".
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERon June 30, 2002
"Deep Impact" is the classic example of a movie that had everything going for it, and simply failed to gel. It has many excellent actors, good special effects, and a script that should have been better than it was. In its effort to give a more "human" approach to a worldwide disaster, it doesn't work.
Astronomy schoolboy Leo Bierdman (Elijah Wood) spots an unusual speck in the sky; out of curiosity, he sends the information to a scientist, who meets a needlessly theatrical demise moments after finding out the horrible news. A year or so later, reporter Jenny Lerner (Tea Leoni) begins snooping out a potential sex scandal: strange calls about a woman called "Ellie" have been circulating from the president's office. She discovers the truth only days before the president (Morgan Freeman) tells the public: It's E.L.E., not "Ellie," and stands for Extinction Level Event. An enormous chunk of rock is hurtling toward Earth, and if it hits, it will destroy all life on the planet.
A spaceship called the Messiah is launched, in an effort to destroy the comet, with a mixed crew of minorities and non-Americans, lead by Spurgeon "Fish" Tanner (Robert Duvall). In case that doesn't work, a series of tunnels are being built in which selected humans, animals, plants and so forth will be sheltered if the comet were to hit. As the potential doomsday draws closer, Jenny tries to make peace with her fragmented family, Leo tries to save the people he cares about most, and the astronauts struggle to avert the diaster.
Handled correctly, this film might have been a triumph of moviemaking. But the director's handling of this is melodramatic, often illogical, unrealistically noble, and chock full of cliches. Among the cliches is an older, more experienced astronaut among younger ones who consider him a dinosaur; the lead character fussing about her father divorcing her mother for a pretty young thing; the teen boy who risks it all for the girl he loves, and so forth. The lack of logic kicks in quite often: Why does Leo see the comet when every conservatory on the planet managed to miss? Why doesn't anyone freak out until scant days before the comet hits? How could a pair of teenagers on a very slow motorcycle outrun a tidal wave? What kind of teens, when faced with impending death, would applaud silly sex jokes?
One of the biggest drawbacks in this movie is Tea Leoni, a sort of Katie Couric on tranquilizers, who expresses all the pain, angst, and turmoil of a breadboard. This woman simply cannot act. Over the course of the movie, Jenny mumbles in a soulless monotone, failing to display a single identifiable emotion, no matter what is going on around her. When Leoni does display some emotion, it resembles rambling drunkenness rather than mild hysteria. Morgan Freeman is excellent as the President of the United States; he manages dignity, poise, outward calm and inward unhappiness, and a sense of being larger than life.
Robert Duvall is similarly convincing as the grizzled veteran astronaut. Elijah Wood is clearly trying hard to make Leo Biederman halfway sympathetic (I'm told that the script was altered substantially after he was signed on). Wood also had to bear, on his narrow then-teenage shoulders, the burden of the worst proposal scene ever committed to celluloid, in which Leo displays both arrogance and insensitivity. LeeLee Sobieski, as Leo's girlfriend/wife Sarah, acts well at the beginning of the movie, but apparently stops trying about halfway through.
The scripting is on and off; sometimes it's dreadful, sometimes it's very good, especially when Leoni is a peripheral presence. Sometimes the camera shooting is a little too cheesy, such as the back-and-forth shots between Leo and Sarah's "young love" wedding, and the lonely primping of Jenny's divorced mom; on the other hand, I thought the scene where Duvall reads to a blind crewmate to be quite touching and sympathetic. The movie also raises some intriguing questions. How would humanity react if we faced extinction? Was it in the best interests of the people to keep it all a secret for a year? Who would be saved, and why? And is the "lottery" to choose the survivors a good idea, or a cold, soulless way of determining who deserves to live?
This movie has some deep flaws, but is worth watching if you have some empty time, or if you are a fan of some of the actors in it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2001
With just three films under her belt, Mimi Leder has established herself as a legitimate contender for the title of the Worst Mainstream Director working today. What distinguishes Leder from other mediocre directors is that she seems to take her films so incredibly seriously. Exhibit one: Deep Impact.
In a familiar plot, it is discovered that, in just a few short weeks, a gigantic meteor is going to wipe out all life on Earth. The film becomes about how the people of Earth prepare to meet their fate and in Leder's utopian vision, that fate is met with dignity. Never has dignity been quite as sickening and downright dull as in this film. In attempt to qualify as an "epic," the film follows four interconnected plotlines that are meant to illuminate the full reach of the human experience. Unfortunately, the film doesn't have enough imagination for one plotline and, in the end you get four subplots involving generic, uninteresting characters doing just what you'd expect them to.
In the first plotline, we meet a crew of brave astronaughts who are sent to make a last ditch effort to save our planet. The crusty old timer is played by Robert Duvall. This plotline is actually halfway compelling. Natrually, Leder devotes the least amount of time to it.
In our second plotline, Elijah Wood plays a high school science nerd who discovers the meteor that's going to kill everyone on the planet. Natrually, this makes him the most popular kid in school. He gets to speak at a school assembly where all of his soon-to-be-horribly-killed classmates applaud him and assure him that he's now going to have more sex than he knows what to do with. Hmmm...maybe this is the way Leder and the film's writers would like to think a bunch of high school kids would react to their impending doom. I have doubts that the nerdy kid who just told everyone they're going to die would then be reborn as some sort of apocalyptic sex symbol. But maybe I just need to go hang out in Hollywood a little bit more.
In the most mundane plotline, Tea Leoni is cast as a newswoman who basically uncovers Wood's discovery and, despite the best efforts of the government, broadcasts this news to the world. To the abject horror of any viewer who hasn't been meditating for the past few years, Leoni's scenes are used to make big statements about life. Leoni is a wonderful comedic actress so natrually, she plays a totally humorless character here and looks bored to be doing it. Her rich, vaguely European parents are divorced and are played by Vanessa Redgrave and Maximellian Schell. Redgrave is a bit of a pain as she tells us that the knowledge of her impending death is probably the best thing that could have happened. Its freed her up to concentrate on living, she tells Leoni. It would be interesting to see how somebody who was neither rich nor old would react to that. I doubt that a guy in his early twenties who is working retail to pay for college would be as content to hear that he's now going to die before he can accomplish anything. But, we don't get to hear from any of those folks, perhaps because Leder hasn't ever met any in Hollywood. If this seems to be a petty complaint, its one that Leder opens herself up to by presenting Redgrave's silly comments as an important statement.
Lastly, Morgan Freeman is the President. Freeman's one of the few actors out there who can convey the type of moral weight that the role calls for. But wouldn't the film have been much more interesting if, instead of some all-seeing, wise leader -- we'd instead had, say, Peter Sellers' President Merkin Muffley from Dr. Strangelove? It doesn't help that Freeman's plan to save humanity (all the important people hide out in underground caves for a few years while all the unimportant people die) is the exact same plan proposed in Dr. Strangelove.
Of course, what's truly annoying is that once this plan is announced, its accepted by everyone with, of course, dignity. Sure, we get a few shots of an angry crowd trying to get into the caves but those crowds are made up of extras. The characters we've gotten to see all except their fate with a stoic acceptance that wouldn't be so offensive if not for that fact that Leder seems to be so convinced that this foolish display is somehow making an invaluable statement about the human condition. Couldn't we see just one character say, "Wait a minute -- I'm going to die and that little pipsqueak Wood gets to live just because he discovered the stupid meteor!?" But no, that just wouldn't fit into the film's artistic aspirations. Watching all of this, one is reminded that Ed Wood sincerely did mean for Plan 9 to be a touching anti-war statement. Leder's film -- with its thinly drawn characters and niavely smug attempts to be important -- may have made her feel like a better human being but that doesn't make it any less of a pain to sit through.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2001
I have been wanting to watch this movie for so long and now that I have seen it, here are few things that came to mind.
First, knowing that this movie and "Armageddon" were both going to be compared because they came out the same year and nearly the same time about the same topic, "Armageddon" is more action based and focusing about people trying to save the Earth. "Deep Impact" is somewhat the same but focuses more about people and their last days on Earth and impending doom. It focused on people and their emotions more than action.
I really enjoyed the movie and there are a lot of popular people in this film which is a plus. The acting was good but Tea Leoni...I like her a lot but her acting in this movie was not at all involving and emotional. I really couldn't care less for her character because of the acting.
I'm glad this movie is different from "Armageddon" because it would lose if it was an action film. You need action stars like Bruce Willis but in "Deep Impact" our heroes in Robert Duvall, Blair Underwood and others were still good to watch and again, this movie is about saving the world but knowing that doom is ahead.
The video was very colorful and beautiful. The sound was awesome but I believe I got more out of my 5.1 in "Armageddon" but that doesn't mean "Deep Impact" is a slouch because it sounds good!
As for special features, just only a teaser trailer and the theatrical trailer. I'm sure they could of added more to this DVD and that was the only thing I was bummed out about.
Otherwise a very good movie!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse