countdown boutiques-francophones Beauty Furniture Kindle sports Tools

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$28.24+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 16, 2003
Lucia has read and re-read a writer's work so often and so passionately that she grows to love him. She follows him and ultimately confronts him with her devotion and asks if he will live with her. He reacts positively to the suggestion and things go swimmingly until the writer is confronted with his past and struggles with a transformative writing experience. Several odd peripheral characters appear and interact with implicit or explicit passion etc etc
There are some foreign films that gain a US audience because they are heavy on the romance (wink-wink nudge-nudge), and this is one of them. If you want to see attractive foreigners get playful, then this film will meet your expectations. Don't, however, let its being subtitled convince you that this incomprehensible blur of writer's-imagination-cum-time-travel melange is deep. It's just pretty people being fleshy. Not that there's anything wrong with that -- but Kurosawa it ain't.
DVD extras include short statements by nine cast & crew members, a 25-minute behind-the-scenes featurette, stills, biographies, soundtrack information and trailers. The film is in Spanish with English or French subtitles available.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2004
There's an interesting article in the December issue of the British film magazine Sight and Sound where Brian de Palma, Paul Verhoven and William Friedken are interviewed and they lament the fact that Hollywood (and the indie scene) are afraid to tackle serious adult dramas that frankly deal with sex, sex that isn't just humping and grunting - but wildly enthusiastic sex, sexy games and sexual awakenings.
This Spanish film deals with all these human of all topics in a fascinating way. Oddly, when this film did come to the US it was edited -- take some of that sex out; even though it's in the title.
Paz Vega is the next Spanish Starlet waiting to break into the International Cinema scene. All she needs to do make sure she takes the right film choices, and doesn't date some flavor of the month white dude (i.e. Salma Hayek, Penelope Cruz). Her performance as Lucia in this film is startling, surely an Oscar worthy performance that outshines Nicole Kidman's Oscar-winning work, and any other female star in the past 5 or 6 years.
The film is beautifully shot and the locations are marvelous.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2017
These are pretty cool and very handy! fast and reasonably priced Exactly what we were hoping for. get these, you won't be disappointed. This product is very good material and excellent design, as well as the evaluation and quality on the market, I feel very good.

Very good quality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2004
I guess people are molded by holywood standards and talk too much about some naked piece of flesh, but this movie is so much more than that. Relax and watch the movie and you'll enjoy it and if you have time to see the extras on the DVD you'll understand even better why it is so special. The plot, the actors, the camera and the music score are absolutely amazing. It's like drinking coffee at work (in US) for years and than you go somewhere overseas, in Italy or Spain and suddenly realize that coffee is so much more than some dirty brown water. You might not like it, but you'll have to accept that the real thing is great. Somewhere in this world some people think of acting and movies as a form of art, not just a money machine.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2004
this movie does require the viewer to pay attention so that you do not get lost in a somewhat complex little story.
I really did have to restart to DVD since it kind of jumps at you from the get go as the director flashes from the present to the past without warning. If you enjoy books along the Black Lace line of erotica then this definitely is the DVD for you. Our waitress heroine. Lucia, knows what she wants and is willing to work for it even though the man she loves is a suicidal writer on the verge of imploding.
As an added bonus the cinematography and acting of course are stupendous, the sex is not gratuitous and clearly provides the motivation of the story. But, again be forewarned you have to pay attention to the story and watch it to the end to enjoy the full art of this great erotic masterpiece.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2004
The first time I saw Sex and Lucia I was a bit shocked. I had never seen a film so sexually explicit(...). I couldn't watch it(...). Then I rented it a secong time and I sat through the whole movie. Boy was I dead wrong!! What an excellent movie! It has a very good plot with twists and all, great pacing (considering some spanish films are really long, slow and sometimes boring and plotless), breathtaking cinematography, excellent actors and creative erotism. I was so pleased with the movie that I decided to buy it. If you're too close minded and offended by explicit nudity then this movie is not for you(...).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2005
"It's a story filled with advantages. The first advantage is that at the end of the story. It doesn't finish. It falls in a hole, and the story starts again halfway. The other advantage, and the biggest ... is that you can change course along the way. If you let me. If you give me time."

First viewing ... mostly watched and "kind-of" read the dialogue; found it a stunningly attractive film with good acting and confusing plot.

Second I sat down and went though some of the extras that were so caringly included on the DVD; and decided to really sit through it and try to keep on the dialogue. You can tell the makers of the film believed this one on terrific script.

Third, sat up until 2am reading and watching it. Wow, I was moved by the detail and caring that went into the script. The expressions on the faces: when Lucia runs home fearing something bad has happened to her boyfriend, the expression of the Nanny when she opened the door, and Lorenzo running down the street, and of course the last 20 minutes with the swaying camera (which was increased by having the actors walk on a board on-top of a roller to keep them off balance when they walked).

SYMBOLISM and Foreshadowing: The Moon=Daughter, Sun=Lorenzo, Mermaid=Mother. Even in early bar scene the TV images foreshadow what is to come; as does Lucia's review of his second novel and its "optimistic" ending she felt took away from the impact. The lighthouse and moon images. Such detail, even when it shows a couple getting into an SUV, the car interior is sudden lit to show bars in the back cargo area - so subtle it is easily missed, but so important.

Sex is a theme, and they use it to effect the viewer -- yes trick the viewer -- into focusing on it just like the characters are doing and to miss the gravity of what is important around them. Sex is the Island -- and it is hollow -- such is how people focus on sex as being the substance of something when it is not the fabric of reality people seem make it. Hypocrites (people in denial) will have a real tough time with the nudity because - guess what - they obsessed on it just like the characters in the movie. Take it like someone holding hands, going shopping, or eating dinner -- sure it is part of life, but it is not what life is about (the hollow island).

It takes some concentration, but you will find it so moving. This movie is packed with so much content, you get more out of it with each viewing. Highly recommended for the thinkers out there.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2004
A strong statement is being made here, the world has changed and sensuality is a large part of films, but it possesses this film like the Devil possesses a priest. This dvd is exellent. Watch this if you ever want to be a filmographer, the shots are magnificent, the story slow in spots, but well paced, the girl actaully is not too pretty but that just shows how good the cameramen are, they make even her look enticing, with shadows, and flatterign angles. a great art film, that has more vicual appeal then anything else, whcih is funny cuz the girl is almost what I would describe as ugly.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2004
The thought of watching this movie came after i watched another beautiful movie, Malena. Malena was an excellent thought provoking movie, i did not expect Sex and Lucia to beat it. But it almost did.
The movie begins well, has several plots in the middle, and keeps you guessing till the very end, the end is very memorable. On the whole a movie which makes you think and wonder, it leaves you with a smile.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2003
The 2001 Spanish film directed by Julio Medem is visually engaging and terribly confusing. It's a mixture of reality and fantasy and it's impossible to tell the difference. And even when it was over, I wasn't quite sure what actually happened. I was fascinated, however, and couldn't stop watching.
The film is set in modern Spain, where a waitress, played by Paz Vega, learns that her writer-boyfriend, played by Tristan Ulloa, has been in an accident. Believing him dead, she travels to a special unnamed island to discover the secret that plagued him for the past few months. They've been living together for six years and their relationship was good until recently. The audience is also treated to extremely explicit romantic scenes between the two of them, which stretch the limits of what is usually shown on a screen.
There's a back-story too, about an erotic adventure the boyfriend had with a stranger on the island. Unbeknownst to him, this union has resulted in a lovely little four-year old girl. The boyfriend hears of the child and goes to see her in a playground. Her nanny is young and attractive and more erotic scenes follow. The resultant tragedy from this encounter is the cause of his depression.
As he's a writer, he writes about all of this and it's never clear what is fact or what is fiction. It's all very dreamlike, as the story gets more and more complicated. It's a daring and sensual film, which jumps back and forth with plot. I found myself trying to make sense of it all, but the minute I thought I understood what was happening, everything would change and I never did put the pieces together.
I was able to enjoy the film, but only after I realized that I had to suspend my belief in logic. I can therefore only recommend it to the adventuresome few.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse