countdown boutiques-francophones Beauty Furniture Kindle sports Tools



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 100 REVIEWERon January 4, 2017
I've watched this movie every Christmas for years but I had never seen the colorized version before. It's the same movie, but a whole different experience. I haven't looked at any of the special features yet, but there is always next year!

If you found this review helpful, please click the button below to let me know. Thanks!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2017
One Of Our Favourite Christmas Stories
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2017
great movie. classic. looks good in color.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2015
love this movie, I have it in DVD but my DVD player is not working so I purched it in cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2017
Bought this movie fory daughter last Christmas. Its a family tradition to watch every year !!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2016
one of the best
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2017
What's not to like great movie,delivered on time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2013
The colourized version is amazing. But quite aside from that, I think this film (colour or B&W) is actually quite underrated. Sure it's hugely popular, but it's still widely thought of as a mere Christmas movie. Few film buffs would think to put it on a par with, say, Sunset Boulevard, which came out just a few years later. I'm not so sure. IWL may get looked down on because it has a kind of Norman Rockwell feel to it, and Clarence the angel is kind of silly. But what makes this movie great is the tremendous inner tension that Jimmy Stewart brings to the hero, George Bailey. Oh, George does the good boy thing and stays in Bedford Falls year after year for the good of others but the sense of sacrifice and inner conflict are always there--at least until the very end. That's what makes this movie endure while more traditional "Christmas" films like "White Christmas" and "Miracle on 34th Street" fade away into film history.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2003
"It's a Wonderful Life" is often thought of as a Christmas movie -perhaps because it has become a tradition to show the movie on television every year in December. Only a very small part of the story takes place during the Christmas season, though, and that's at the film's conclusion. "It's a Wonderful Life" is most likely considered a Christmas film because it embodies the "Christmas spirit". No other movie has championed the spirit of giving and sacrificing one's own desires for the good of others so successfully as this film.
"It's a Wonderful Life" stars Jimmy Stewart as George Bailey, a bright ambitious man who is also considerate and generous to a fault. He is so considerate and generous that he has always sacrificed his own happiness and goals so that others might pursue theirs. When bad luck strikes a final blow, it seems like all of his generosity has brought George nothing but dissatisfaction and a bad end. An angel named Clarence (Henry Travers) is sent to Earth to convince George that he has had a wonderful life, after all, and one that is very much worth living.
"It's a Wonderful Life"'s message is more idealistic than realistic. And I'm not sure that advocating constantly putting the happiness of others ahead of your own is at all wise. But this is a wonderfully entertaining and well-constructed film nonetheless. Jimmy Stewart is due much of the credit for the film's success. This is one of his finest performances. Perpetual self-sacrifice could easily grow tedious, and George Bailey would be a saccharine character in the hands of a lesser actor. But with the help of a terrific script, Stewart makes George sympathetic and interesting. The supporting cast does a fine job. The cinematography and art direction are excellent. "It's a Wonderful Life" is simply a pleasure to watch, which is why it has become a Christmas classic. Recommended for viewing on cold winter nights. Somehow that works best. It will make a Jimmy Stewart fan out of you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2001
This is the kind of story that transcends all generations and ages and speaks to each individual. It is associated with the Christmas holidays and rightly so. Yet the movie's story about a good man who is frustrated with his life to the point of suicide speaks as loudly today as it did in 1947.
Some critics of "It's A Wonderful Life" call it "Capracorn" (making reference to the movie's director, Frank Capra), and say that it is unrealistic sentiment, but I disagree. The story basically shows how a man's life unfolds through a period of years in the town in which he was born. What he thinks are disappointments and cruel tricks of fate actually lead him to the place he always wanted to be. He is shown what the lives of his loved ones and friends would have been like had he never been born. He realizes that those small acts of kindness and love that he has given to people were not insignificant, but made major differences in each and every life.
Particularly moving is the scene where the protagonist, George Bailey, superbly played by Jimmy Stewart, prays a silent, but desparate prayer in the town bar. The answer to that prayer gives George Bailey some unexpected twists and turns, but shows the fabric of his life is so carefully interwoven with those he loves and cares for.
This is American filmaking at its very finest. I highly reccomend this for the whole family.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse