Echo Spot countdown boutiques-francophones Introducing Fire TV Stick Basic Edition WFM Furniture Kindle Paperwhite Vinyl Day sports Tools



on December 31, 2016
One of Capra's gems, a lot deeper than it seems at the end, the film shows Stewart at his most sophisticated and his fellow smalltown citizens at their most selfish and most generous. What a paean to possibility, what a hymn to hometown potential. It takes n angel of great delight and no wings, and a suicide-decision, but Stewart who never wanted to love his town, realizes he does and they do, too. It's a scary film in its quiet examination of "the revot from the village", and Stewart's never-ended desire to be "on the road" to wealth, importance, and adulation. Capra and Stewart at their finest. No, America at its mythical best, its dream of a matrix, not one to leave, one to nourish. DVD arrived in 36 hours in perfect condition and in a lovingly restored version of the old film. And just before Xmas Eve! A++
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 5, 2016
An exceptional cast crafted this heart-warming story to perfection. The story asks the viewer to reflect upon his/her particular life in light of the positive difference in the lives of others he made, but perhaps overlooked in some later, troubled time. We make a positive difference in the lives of others, and often subconsciously; but in reflection, the world would have a tragic void had we not passed through it: meeting and touching the people we did along the way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 16, 2013
The colourized version is amazing. But quite aside from that, I think this film (colour or B&W) is actually quite underrated. Sure it's hugely popular, but it's still widely thought of as a mere Christmas movie. Few film buffs would think to put it on a par with, say, Sunset Boulevard, which came out just a few years later. I'm not so sure. IWL may get looked down on because it has a kind of Norman Rockwell feel to it, and Clarence the angel is kind of silly. But what makes this movie great is the tremendous inner tension that Jimmy Stewart brings to the hero, George Bailey. Oh, George does the good boy thing and stays in Bedford Falls year after year for the good of others but the sense of sacrifice and inner conflict are always there--at least until the very end. That's what makes this movie endure while more traditional "Christmas" films like "White Christmas" and "Miracle on 34th Street" fade away into film history.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 30, 2013
My age group is from the 50's to the 60's and those years were about family togethet sharing and loving the time. It wasn't about gifts because there is no better gift than family. If you feel down right now as many do at Christmas then get this movie and watch it.This is a movie that reflects family values and love. In this chaos we live in we need a reminder. I love it and thank you Amazon for having it available.M.Marr
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon December 5, 2014
Absolutely the best classic to watch at Christmas time, the story is the best and will always be a timeless classic. It's a "wonderful" story and you would not be disappointed buying it. If you have not seen this (living under a rock) then I recommend purchasing this movie, you to will be hooked into watching each time at Christmas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 1, 2018
Was nice to see the colorized version at a cheap price. The extras included with Tom Bosley was a good kick as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 20, 2017
Wonderful movie! Sadly our DVD came scratched or something because the first few minutes of the movie won't play. We had to fast forward over it (missing part of the movie) in order to watch the rest. Bummer! Had saved it for Christmas and then missed the return window.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 4, 2014
There are certain movies that are necessary for those Christmas times when you can and want to find time to watch a classic and the ability to watch them commercial free is a blessing.

Cannot wait until Christmas 2014.

This movie is still better in black and white.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 11, 2017
great movie. classic. looks good in color.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 26, 2017
The movie has been a 5 star epic for decades. I started out simply intending to replace my old VHS version with a DVD version. It was indeed a real joy to be able to see it "in colour". What a tremendous difference the colour made to our viewing enjoyment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse