countdown boutiques-francophones Eco Friendly Cleaning and Care Furniture Kindle Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 276 reviews(5 star). See all 350 reviews
on March 24, 2017
Un des meilleurs films de Luc Besson...il n'en fait plus des films comme le Grand Bleu, Nikita ou le 5 ième Élément. Je l'ai vu de nombreuses fois et je reste toujours avec l'envie d'avoir une suite du genre : La Professionelle. Elle joue tellement bien la gamine !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2017
The Jean Reno Movie!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2017
Every thing met my expectation. Thank You
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 11, 2017
One of the best!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2004
There's hardly anything I can say that will do justice to the splendor of 'Leon - The Professional'. The insanity of both the action sequences and Gary Oldman's performance... the touching love story of 2 lonely outcasts... the fantastic cinematography... the heart-breaking tragedy... the pulsing score... the violent life of a shy, milk-drinking, plant-loving hitman... the soul of an innocent little girl... the blistering, chaotic, blood-drenched fury that lives in all 3 of these characters...
...Wow...
...It's just a vortex of beautiful destruction. All these things crammed into one amazing film. A remarkable cast giving remarkable performances, and a very visual director shoving this seething powerhouse of a film right in our faces...
Like I said, there's nothing I can say. So, just believe me when I tell you that this is a very great film.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2000
Maybe one of the few movies that truely deserves 5 stars. One of the most overlooked and underrated film of the 90s.
While the movie as it's presented here is a great film, it's not the movie as it was meant to be seen. A few years after The Professional came out (known outside the US as LEON), an 'integral version' was released. This version, with 25 extra minutes, expands greatly on Leon and Mathilda's character, and their unique relationship. It truely is 'integral' to the story.
The bad news is that this version isn't out in the US. The good news is that it's coming! Columbia TriStar will be releasing it in summer 2000. No idea about the name, they seem to be leaning towards the original international name of LEON, but they may keep The Professional as the title as well... It will mostly likely have the "International Version" subtitle, similar to The Messenger DVD.
Enjoy The Professional now, but be sure to check out LEON later!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2017
This is simply amazing for the price! I bought this product because my friend recommend me to buy. It's nice when a product does exactly what it says it does. the price is very favorable I am very pleased and would definitely recommend them. worked just as I had hoped
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2008
This is literature on celluloid. The music is top notch too. I recommend only the so-called "International" (deluxe) version, or as Besson calls it, the "long" version. Far too much character development was removed from the American release, making that version just another action flick.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2001
REVIEWER'S NOTE: Here is another review that my son wrote:
This one movie, Leon, is absouloutely beautiful. And I'll tell you why. Leon (Jean Reno), the best of the best of his profession, cleaning, which is being a hit-man, has always been the dark, yet mysterious type. Leon is always being sent out by Tony of the New York Mafia, to clean situations. Right next door to him, is a girl named Mathilda (Natilie Portman), who is always being abused by her family and step-family. Mathilda always liked Leon, although never knowing what he did for a living. She did know he liked milk, so she went out to get some for him. 2 quarts. Her dad, being a drug dealer, had to report to--of course-- a drug lord. But when the drug lord (played masterfully by Gary Oldman) finds out that Mathilda's dad's drugs are not 90% pure, when the day before they were 100%, he gives him 1 day to bring it back to 100% again. Well, we are back now to when Mathilda got the 2 quarts of milk for Leon. While she is gone, the drug lord and his connies, arrive. What happens next sets up most of the story. The movie is emotional, gripping, exciting and incredibly intelligent, also with amazing acting. 5 stars!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2004
I don't usually like to watch movies about hit men or cops and robbers. I remember I got interested in this movie because of two things: Luc Besson's movie the Fifth Element, which was so wildly different and fascinating that I wanted to see what else this French director had done; and secondly, seeing Natalie Portman for the first time in the Star Wars: Phantom Menace movie.
Behind all of the dense make up and bad script and horribly non-existent directing from George Lucas in Phantom Menace, I sensed in Natalie Portman one heck of a terrific young actress struggling to come up with a meaningful performance. In "Leon - The Professional", working with a superb director, her acting talent is on full display.
When one thinks of modern day child actors, Anna Paquin comes to mind, in "The Piano", because she aced out some terrific adult actresses in 1993 to win the Oscar. Well, Natalie Portman, at age 12, had Anna Paquin beat by a mile in this movie, since her character takes up about half of the movie. If not for the truly unusual and off-beat story line of this movie, Portman would have gotten a lot more attention for her role in this movie, I think.
If you just focus on Portman's facial expressions and the way she carries herself in this movie, she goes through an amazing acting range in this movie, from hurt, terrified, bored, stuck up, cool and calculating, manipulative, sweet, child-like, and pubescent sexual allure.
As mentioned by other reviewers, the uncut version restores scenes that basically give a harder edge to Natalie Portman's character. The additional scenes of her assassin training with Leon and her efforts to attract and get closer to Leon definitely put her character in a harsher light. I remember from my first viewing of the cut U.S. version that Mathilda came across as a much more sweet and innocent child. The uncut version shows her more to be a hardened child of the mean streets of New York. Given the usual Hollywood propensities, it's not that surprising that these scenes got cut for the U.S. release. The uncut version does show the fullest acting range of Natalie Portman, even if they make her character less sympathetic.
Basically, the movie skates close to, but avoids the pedophilia controversies of the "Lolita" movies by having the character of Leon adhere to a strict code of ethics that firmly blocks all of Mathilda's advances. Even at the end, when he kisses her good-by and says that he loves her, it is clearly in the vein of being her protector and a big brother/father surrogate figure.
All in all, this was a great movie. Jean Reno was just so hauntingly sad as the loner-assassin Leon. Gary Oldman was definitely over the top in his portrayal of the crazed DEA agent - you almost expected his Dracula fangs to come out and his eyes to glow red when he popped those pills into his mouth.
So all of you Natalie Portman fans, this movie is a definite must-see. All of you Phantom Menace/Attack of the Clones haters who think that Natalie Portman can't act, you've got to see this movie to understand that no, Natalie Portman is a terrific actress. It's just really, really tough to play opposite total stiffs like Hayden Christiansen and Jake Lloyd, working with an idiot director like George Lucas.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse