countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more scflyout Pets All-New Kindle sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$37.54+ $3.49 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 17, 2007
Tim Burton is a master at bringing gothic fairy tales to life. Every film he has ever done, be it a full-blown blockbuster like Batman or a Christmas story with a twist like Nightmare Before Christmas, has his own unique dark edge, and when you watch a Burton film you can't fail to recognise it immediately. Edward Scissorhands is no exception to this rule. It is a wonderfully dark gothic tale about a man with scissors for hands. Edward is no ordinary individual; he is a great artist and can shape a wonderful topiary from any garden variety hedge. Despite this, having scissors for hands causes him a few problems. He cannot touch another human being or himself without causing pain; as a result, he is doomed to be an outcast. Edward Scissorhands shows us Burton at his best. It also gives us an early glimpse of the type of movie star Johnny Depp was to become. Hot off Twenty-One Jump Street, Depp was expected to become a movie star, equalling the status of a Brad Pitt or a Tom Cruise. Instead, he chose a harder path, going for roles that were not the leads in the latest summer blockbusters but quirky roles that strayed from the path a bit. Nearly twenty years on, his choices have paid off; he is now a commercial and critical success and a sure thing to get an Oscar before Mr Pitt or Mr Cruise.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2004
Tim Burton could never be accused of pandering to Hollywood studios by producing bland, mainstream, blockbuster films. He is known for his quirky, weird and individual style of film making. Edward Scissorhands is a typical Burton film in its originality and is probably one of the best he has made to date.
The story centres on Edward, an isolated, shy and socially naive young man who was created by a scientist (Vincent Price). Unfortunately his maker dies before he has completed him and so Edward is left with scissors for hands. For years he lives alone in an old house on top of a hill. Edward's isolation is interrupted by the local Avon lady (Dianne Weiss) who decides he needs to be taken under her wing and promptly moves him into her home and attempts to integrate him into the local community.
Initially all goes well as his 'novelty' appeals to the locals who flock round to have their hair cut or hedges made into fantastic shapes by the wonderfully artistic Edward. As the film progresses however, things turn ugly as the locals turn against this all too different young man. Burton takes a magnificent swipe at middle class suburban America in his portrayal of the neighbourhood (identical houses, cars etc.) where everyone acts the same in an effort to belong and anything new or different is rejected.
Edward is brilliantly portrayed by Johnny Depp who demonstrates a tremendous ability to show his thoughts and emotions without speaking. His confusion and hurt at what is happening around him are so palpable and his doomed love for the daughter of the house (Winona Ryder) is heartbreaking.
This film is a magical fairytale for adults and will make you laugh and cry in equal amounts. Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2013
An Inventor living in a castle creates a young man named Edward out of a cookie cutting machine. The Inventor unexpectedly dies one day, leaving Edward alone and stuck with scissors for hands, before giving him regular human ones. An Avon saleswoman Peg ventures into the castle when looking for a customer and meets Edward hiding in the attic. She decides to take him in to live with her family of four in a suburban neighbourhood with Edward trying to adapt to this new environment and interacting with the people around him. Edward makes good use of his scisssor-hands by giving haircuts to people, opening up cans, slicing meat and vegetables and cutting hedges into the shapes of people and animals. Even unlocking doors when there is no key handy. He falls in love with Peg's daughter Kim and she eventually develops the same mutual feelings as well. Will the heroine dump her boyfriend Jim and go for Edward instead? You'll just have to watch the film and find out!

I felt actors Johnny Depp and Winona Ryder did an excellent job in their roles as the central characters of Edward and Kim.

This feature film is just filled with a lot of emotionally charged and funny moments to it. I personally found Edward Scissorhands a very different and unique movie from what I usually watch! I bought this DVD during the holidays and loved it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 28, 2003
The story begins with an old lady,telling a story to her granddaughter on why it snowed.. Johnny Depp's character, Edward, is an artificial man made by an inventor. The inventor passes away suddenly one day, before Edward could be finished and so Edward is remained with hands of sharp shears.
One day, an Avon lady, Peg, finds him in the castle where he was all alone, and so takes him back to her home in Suburbia. There, he is welcomed by the townpeople as he did their gardening (made wonderful figures from the trees) cut their dogs' hair and the people's hair.
However, Peg's daughter, Kim (Winona Ryder), was the only one who found him odd and scary at first. Edward,however, fell in love with her the first moment he saw her picture. When Edward appeared on a television show and got shocked when he accidently cut the microphone wires, it was the first time she appeared concerned for him. Her boyfriend, Jim, seemed like an obnoxious jerk when he laughed at the situation. After Edward helped her, Jim, and other friends break into Jim's place and was the only one who got caught and took all the blame, she started to have feelings for him. He would have done anything for her, for when she asked him if he knew it was Jim's place, and he said yes, and then asked why he did it then..he replied, because she asked him to...
With the break in event, saving Kevin (Kim's bro), from almost being hit by a van but accidently cutting him with his scissorhands in the process, made the townpeople feel threatened by him..
Kim tells him to run away when police sirens were heard, and so he runs back to the castle. Kim follows him and also her now jealous ex-boyfriend, Jim, who thinks he lost her to a non human thing..(since he saw her before dancing in the snow that Edward made when making an angel out of a huge block of ice)..
A fight ensues and Jim is killed and Kim tells Edward that she loves him..and it's the last time they see each other...
The old lady, from the beginning is actually Kim, and so says that before Edward came, it never snowed, and after, it did...
This story is a fairy tale but when u watch it, seems so believable. Johnny Depp plays Edward so beautifully...the expressions he make and how he sees innocently makes you love him..The scenes with Kim..the part when she asks him to hold her but he couldn't and when he says goodbye to her and she kisses him and says she loves him as it's the last time they see each other, will make you cry..what a bittersweet ending!
Edward and Kim made a truly beautiful yet odd couple. They were like soulmates who couldn't be together..(although Johnny and Winona ended up being engaged for yrs)...between a real woman and a real yet unreal man...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2002
This is one of my two all time favorite films (American Beauty being the other). Straight from the heart of genius director Tim Burton, Edward Scissorhands is the story of a boy who has scissors for hands. He is created by an inventor and they live in a castle on top of a mountain. The inventor dies leaving Edward incomplete and all alone. Then one day Peg, an avon lady, comes to his rescue and brings him to live with her. There he is introduced to suburbia and the colorful characters who live there. Edward then meets and falls in love with Peg's daughter, Kim. It would be a crime for me to tell anymore for I might spoil the film for those who have not yet seen it. Johnny Depp is perfect as the lonely scissorhanded boy and Winona Ryder is gorgeous as Kim, but this movie is above all a triumph for director Tim Burtom who really pours his heart and soul into this film and makes a movie so beautiful it will make you cry. Tim Burton is my personal favorite director and all of his films are dear to me but this one is the icing on the cake.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2002
Welcome to Dullsville, USA. It is an early 1960's suburban community of cookie cutter houses (distinquished only by their colors) and postage stamp lawns. Husbands drive their vehicles to work leaving their wives to fantasize about having an affair and gossiping about one another.
What a wonderful and safe community, that is until Edward comes in. He creates a sensation. He's male (great potential for sex), dresses funny and has an entirely different perspective. His only peculiarity is his hands. They are made up of sharp knives, scissors and other cutting implements. Who cares? After all what could possibly happen with him in this great town?
Quite a bit! Edward Scissorhands is a marvellous comedy spoofing the lives and values of a myopic community. Diane Wiest does a great job in her role as the Avon lady who brings this weird "monster" into the community. Somehow the Avon lady misses seeing that Edward is different. Unlike the others in the town, she accepts him for who he is.
Johnny Depp gives us a stellar preformance as Edward, the creative, quiet and reflective young "creation" who is slowly emerging from his years of isolation. His openess for change and need for acceptance will touch your heart. This video touches all of those weak spots in the community. We witness their hypocrasy, lack of meaningful lives, peer pressure and the inability to appreciate the gift that Edward brings to them.
You will throughly enjoy this film which will touch your heart and make you reflect upon what are the true "monsters' in our lives. Are they the Edwards or ourselves? Find out in this splendid tale.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2002
I just saw this as a TV special, and "Edward Scissorhands" just has to be on my favorite movies list. As a matter of fact, after "Nightmare Before Christmas," it is my favorite. Tim Burton and Danny Elfman amazed me again. This movie kept constantly reminding me of "Nightmare," and the story is just beautiful. I think that only Tim Burton could come up with a storty like this.
The story is of a man named Edward who is a creation by an inventer, who, sadly, died right before he could Edward a pair of real hands. He has lived alone for who knows how long in an old castle, with a haunted house interior, but a front yard full of plant sculptures, until the Avon lady comes by, hoping for a sale, finds Edward, befriends him and takes him home. What surprised me was how friendly the neighbors were when they met him. Usually, in recent movies, people freak as soon as thwey see someone like Edward.

I think this movie, like "Nightmare," deserves more than five stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 31, 2000
It had to be a difficult pitch, even with the brilliant blockbuster director of "Batman" and "Beetlejuice" attached: a fairy tale-like romantic-dramedy about an unreal man with scissors for hands, who is taken in by an Avon lady with expectedly chaotic results. However Tim Burton convinced the studio moguls to produce this film, it has been for the benefit of movie lovers everywhere. "Edward Scissorhands" is the most hauntingly, strikingly original and beautiful film to come out in decades, and we still have not seen anything quite like it since.
I have already exposed as much of the plot as I am going to in this review. A straightforward recantation of the story would not do justice to the complex thematic elements, the incredible imagery, the perfect score, or the once-in-a-lifetime performances given by Johnny Depp, Winona Ryder, and the rest of the amazing cast.
I say "complex thematic elements" because that is exacly what this film is full of. Many may laugh this off, thinking that the film is nothing more than a strange love story made for a mainstream audience. To truly appreciate this film, however, you have to examine the undercurrents of discrimination, small-town politics, ideals of society and modern culture, and of course exclusionism.
The visuals are nothing short of amazing. My favorite is the obvious yet perfect contrast between the neon colors of the neighborhood's cars, houses, and people and the pure black and whites of Edward. You will find many other interesting visual ques obviously, such as the "BANK" and the castle. Consistently side-by-side with these visuals, the music is simply breathtaking. No other film score come close to matching the brilliance of Danny Elfman's music, and no other score complements a film so well. And for the performances, let's just say that I believe this film to be the height of the careers of many of the stars, particularly Johnny Depp, who has never quite achieved this level of quality since.
Do not believe that just because this film was made by a major studio with major actors and a major director that it can be passed off as mainstream fluff. "Edward Scissorhands" is one of the most underestimated and understated films of the decade. It is sure to gain the recognition and understanding it deserves in the near future.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2000
"Edward Scissorhands" reminds me of nothing so much as one of those fantastic Caribbean meals that blends flavors, colors, and textures you'd never think of putting together -- but, prepared by the artful chef, becomes an eating experience to be retold for years. The characters are its pungent ingredients: Johnny Depp's innocent Edward, Winona Ryder's ethereal Kim, Alan Arkin's crusty Bill, Dianne Wiest's sweet Peg, Anthony Michael Hall's brutal Jim, Kathy Baker's man-hungry Joyce, and Vincent Price's cadaverous, fatherly Inventor. Edward's world gives color, from his black and white castle, to his eerily green gardens, to the pastel-mint kitsch of his neighbors' houses. The story brings the meal together with chew and crunch -- and Edward's and Kim's romance finishes dinner sweetly.
Of course, when your chef is Tim Burton and your server is Vincent Price (in one of his last performances), the lights are dim, the tablecloth black, and the candlesticks cobwebbed. Though told as a children's fable -- which, like Rocky and Bullwinkle, is a special treat for the grownups who "get" what the kids don't -- this might not be for young ones who still fear the darkness under the bed. But for anyone older, set aside an evening. Start with jerk chicken, roll "Edward Scissorhands," and relive it all over a rich coconut pudding.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2003
"...'Cause I know that you feel me somehow
You're the closest to heaven that I'll ever be
And I don't want to go home right now."
--"Iris", from the City of Angels soundtrack
In Edward Scissorhands, Tim Burton delivers a devastating slam against a conformist, superficial society, and even as we might snicker at the vacuous, gabbing neighbors, this movie forces us to ask some difficult questions about ourselves. "Don't ever let anyone tell you that you have a handicap," one of those neighbors tells Edward towards the beginning of the movie. In the end, however, the acceptance turns out to be all show and no substance. How often do we give lip service to tolerance, but hold bigotry in our hearts? Only one character, Kim, succeeds in (literally) embracing difference.
The world of "suburbia" is just as devoid of life as the "desert of the real" seen in The Matrix. It may be painted in bright colors, but in the end, it is still a desert. Although all the characters in this movie are caricatures, it's a great irony (and masterstroke on the part of Mr. Burton) that the most unusual-looking character is in fact the most real in a different sense. It is poor, confused Edward with whom the viewer can truly make a connection. Marooned among empty shells of people, this artificially-constructed boy seems at times to be the only one who genuinely has *soul*.
Johnny Depp does a mindblowing job of bringing Edward to life, perhaps even injecting something of himself into the shy, awkward artist, if his rather nervous conduct in the "Sound Bites" section is any indication. The greatest part of his acting is nonverbal, far beyond the few words he softly speaks. For instance, it was clear to me that Mr. Depp had studied the movements and facial expressions of virtuoso artists who are in their element. In the scene where Edward begins giving haircuts, he reminded me of a soulful concert pianist, in how his surprisingly gentle movements were each charged with emotion. Another interesting nonverbal aspect--and one that may even cause the viewer to misinterpret Edward for a moment, just as the neighbors do, is the way he nervously twitches the blades of his "hands" at times. Although it can appear threatening, once you look in his eyes it's clear he's simply fidgeting in the same way as one might tap their fingers on the table.
But to me (besides the touching scene where embraces Kim), one of the most poignant moments was when Edward flinched away from the Avon lady's touch, when one would *think* that of the two characters, he was the least threatened. In the end, Edward seems to have had the correct measure of the situation. It is tragic that his exposure to "what we call reality" resulted in such great pain to Edward and Kim. Although the court psychiatrist comments that Edward's grasp on reality is tenuous, I came away thinking that only Edward and Kim were in touch with the substance behind the illusion everyone else confused for "real".
"And I don't want the world to see me
'Cause I don't think that they'd understand
When everything's made to be broken
I just want you to know who I am."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse