countdown Beauty boutiques-francophones home Kindle Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
237
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Firstly, I'm not going to review the film at all as most people know the film quite well and probably already own it on VHS or DVD. As far as I can tell, it's the same film as on the DVD and no cutting or editing has been done to the length of the film or scenes, etc.

However, the Blu-ray image quality is significantly clearer and improved. By comparison, the DVD looks like a it came from a VHS tape! That would be the main reason to replace your DVD with the Blu-ray. At this price, I believe it's worth it.

There are a few more bonus features on the Blu-ray as well. However, the bonus stuff that is on the DVD and the Blu-ray is edited DIFFERENTLY, so some interview footage is missing or shorter on the Blu-ray. That would only bother the fans who want it all. Personally, I prefer the Blu-ray editing of the bonus footage anyways.

Others who are more passionate and intimate with the film than I have already posted discrepancies in the audio and music - the songs have been beefed up sonically they say. They admit it sounds stronger but don't like it that the original music and mix was tampered with. That's understandable. Myself, I was able to enjoy the film without being distracted by any noticeable changes. However, there is no 2-channel stereo audio mix, so I had to listen to the film's surround mix even though I only have 2 speakers. This is the reason I deducted one star. I can only assume the mix sounds good with a proper surround set-up. Also, there was one song where a noticeable amount of reverb was added to the vocal for part of the song.

A "funny" final point. My wife has loved this film all her life. We watched the film with the subtitles on, so she could see what the real lyrics to the songs are. It was shocking how dirty the songs (and the film in general) actually are and how much got past the censors! Be warned, if you're watching it with kids (or your parents) DON'T turn on the subtitles!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2014
This DVD is a Musical starring John Travolta and Olivia Newton John. It is loaded with fun songs and the Choreography is good. Both John Travolta and Olivia Newton John deliver strong performances. There is also a strong supporting Cast.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2012
I'm pretty sure this is the first time I've sat through this movie from beginning to end. I purchased it on blu-ray and it looks absolutely amazing! The picture is crystal clear and there is literally no aging on the film! It looks completely brand new for a movie shot in the 70's. The story itself is a classic and the music legendary. An absolute must have!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2002
Finally, one of cinema's all-time favorite musicals has made it to DVD! Grease - a long awaited dvd release of mine -- holds that magic that makes a film a rounded complete cinema classic.
Everyone knows the story of the Rydell High group, each going through their own little quirks and some getting share that through amazing song and wonderful dance. It's awesome how director Randal Kleiser combined the main plot of Danny and Sandy with subtle subplots such as Rizzo and Kenickie (Which - in a way - are the main stars of the Broadway version), the Thunder Road ordeal, and Frenchie's dropping out of school for beauty school. The cast is an awesome group of talent. Olivia Newton-John and John Travolta as our leads are captivating with the best moves and wonderful voices. Jeff Conaway and Stockard Channing add that sufficient racy attitude into the film with their smirky one-liners and great voices. The rest of the Thunderbirds and Pink Ladies were all great assets to the film and are memorable in their own way. Especially Didi Conn and her voice. Loved the lady.
Although I praise the movie highly, the DVD is a the littlest bit of a disappointment. We do get the film in anamorphic widescreen and the nifty original theatrical trailer, but there's nothing new in regards to bonus features. We get the same interviews that can be found on the 20th Anniversary special VHS edition (Which aren't bad, but I've seen it so many times). But there's nothing more than that. Warner Bros. did treat us to a nifty packaging, but the menus aren't gawkable. All in all, the DVD presentation is a fair one.
Grease is a piece of cinema classic fare if there ever was one. Disagree with me? It's okay. But I know me, a fan, and tons of others agree with that statement.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
GREASE was directed by Randall Kleiser (The Blue Lagoon, Honey, I Blew Up The Kids) as an attempt to revive the old Movie Musical format. It was a great success on Broadway and it wasn't until Paramount Pictures took on the challenge before anyone realized the movie musical, if done right, could be a great success.
This movie has the best casting around at the time. John Travolta (Saturday Night Fever, Face Off, Pulp Fiction) and Olivia Newton John (Two Of A Kind, Xanadu) as Danny and Sandy trying to make their senior year in high school the best it could be after spending a summer together falling in love. The trials and tribulations of high school, graduating, rivals gangs and sexual advances all in the 1950's - a time of music and passion and a lot of simple things.
Great costuming, great musical arrangements and the best part for me was the choreography. Staying true the tradition of musical theatre, the dance numbers where fun and energetic and simply the best for a modern day musical on the screen. Such hits came from his movie like the title track itself GREASE (written by Barry Gibb), You're The One That I Want and Hopelessly Devoted to You are a few that made the pop charts back in 1978.
Great supporting cast members and some incredible performances by Jeff Conoway (Taxi, Babylon Five-TV, Man On The Moon) Didi Conn (Violet, Grease 2) , Michael Tucci (The Garry Shandling Show, Blow) , Sid Caeser (Your Show Of Shows-TV, Grease 2, Vegas Vacation), Eve Arden (Under The Rainbow, Grease 2) and the best of them all Miss Stockard Channing (The First Wives Club, The West Wing -TV). Her performance as Rizzo could never be matched.
This movie is fun for everyone and whole family and will keep your toes tapping and the tunes humming long after you see it. The DVD extras include and anniversary celebration for the movie as well as a retrospective on what it took to make this thing happen. According to them it was a joy of joys to work and even more fun to watch over and over. (10-27-02)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2002
GREASE is the word? I don't think so! One of the most overrated (yet profitable) movie musicals ever made. The plot and script are thin, the direction is VERY bad, the characters look way too old for their parts (high schoolers?), and while some of the musical numbers and songs are memorable (SUMMER NIGHTS & GREASE LIGHTNING), they too are terribly directed. Notice the singing of the characters in the film are all out of synch when anyone is performing. John Travolta and Olivia Newton-John play the leads of two love struck high schoolers (Danny and Sandy) who have previously met at the beach during summer vacation. They fall in love, but when summer ends they part ways thinking they'll meet intermittantly because Sandy is vacationing from Austraila. However, when school begins, she unexpectedly stays in the states and begins school where Danny goes. When they meet again Danny can't show his true feelings to her. Also, he takes on his alter ego, opposite of the romantic beach boy, because he is part of a greaser gang (The T-Birds). It wouldn't be "Cool" to be love with a "Sandra Dee" type... that is, a girl who doesn't "put out". (The guys think they are a bunch of toughs, but in reality are a bunch of wimps in disguise i.e. Micheal Tucci as Sonny.) Then there is the Pink Ladies, the mirrored opposite sex equivalent of the "T-Birds" who are equally puzzling because you have two cool chicks (Stockard Channing as Rizzo and Dinah Manoff as Marty) and the rest seemingly act like Sandy (most notable.. Didi Conn as Frenchie). The rest of the story deals with Danny trying to win back Sandy when he realises he wants to be with her despite of what the other greasers think and still maintain his tough greaser image. So, he tries out for different sports to be a jock to impress her etc...Also, here are minor subplots such as the T-Birds competing against another gang (or car club). The film scores only because of the supporting cast and cameos with the likes of the late Eve Arden as Principal McGee, Sid Ceasar as Coach Calhoun, Alice Ghostly, Frankie Avalon, Sha Na Na, Ed Byrnes, and the late Joan Blondell. Movie gets worse with each subsequent screenings because the main characters are all mean spirited and annoying (especially Jeff Conaway as Kenickie). Note: look for Michael Biehn (TERMINATOR, TOMBSTONE) as one of Lorenzo Lamas' (Tom the Jock) athletic buddies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2002
Today, I went out to the local video store and purchased GREASE on DVD at a very low price and yours truly is now delighted to own this long awaited film on DVD.
I was delighted and disappointed by the films release on DVD. First off, this film is just a rehash of the 1998 VHS release which was the disappointment. ....
Despite the disappointments, there are many delightful things to say about the DVD release. I love the packaging. This film is available in Widescreen (2.35:1) and Full Screen (1.33:1) editions... This film is packaged like a book (like the Panic Room) with the disc inside with a GREASE Songbook, which I though was a real hoot. I have always wanted the lyrics to all ot most of the songs from the film....
With this film being finally available on DVD, the menu board and scene selction and audio options are quite basic. The film on Widescreen or Fullscreen are presented in top notch sound and picture quality with not much dirt or dust to be found. The sound could have been better cause it was a bit loud and scratchy at times when it didn't need to be. There are cast and cast interviews originally contained in the 1998 VHS release and of course, the theatrical trailer which was exciting to watch.
In conclusion, GREASE is greatly welcomed on DVD with its great packaging and available feautures but this DVD deserved much more extra feautures than what was put in here. Otherwise, run out and get your copy of GREASE today.
GREASE is forever the word !!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2002
I won't go into the plot here, because, let's face it, if you haven't seen Grease by now, you probably won't ever see it. And you are missing out on a really fun film. That is the secret to this movie's popularity. It's just plain fun! It doesn't have a really great script, none of the performancies (with the exception of Stockard Channing) is anything above run-of-the-mill, but it's got a lot of great, catchy songs, a very likeable cast, and is just a treat to watch again and again. I was disappointed by this DVD release though, because it's exactly the same as the laser disc, only smaller and you don't have to turn it over. The cast interviews at the end are four years old, and this is really just a delayed release of the 20th Anniversary Edition on DVD. And what fan of Grease needs a cheap, paper booklet of song lyrics? Believe me, we know them all by heart. Truly the most profitable and one of the most popular musicals ever made deserves a better DVD package. The fans certainly deserve it too, having waited so long for this. Boo! to Paramount for, apparently, wanting to wait and pick our pockets again some time down the road when they release the two-disc set with all the extras this movie should have. At least it's in widescreen, which is a totally different viewing experience for anyone who hasn't seen it letterboxed or on the big screen yet. The musical numbers have a much larger scope, with dancers and other action on the sides that had previously been cut off. You will be surprised how many previously unseen guys are on the bleachers with Danny and the gang for "Summer Nights". And to anyone who is planning to buy the full-frame DVD--shame on you! You are truly missing out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2004
I've never been a big musical fan but who could resist a movie like GREASE?
It's rare when a movie can take a look at a time in America and manage to capture all the fun that period had to offer. Being based on a well-established musical play helped, I'm sure, but I also think all the other elements--especially that dynamite cast--really helped.
I was a teenager in the 70's when it came out and, looking back at it now, I appreciate the filmmakers' respectful approach to the period and characters while gently poking fun at the 50's. I doubt such a film could be made now: the characters would be caricatures and Hollywood would want to "right any wrongs" of the era, I'm sure.
(Check out the review by the person "offended" by the roles of girls in the movie/1950s. I'll bet every teenage girl in the 50's had more fun being a girl than that person in the 00's ranting about it. Yikes, calm down.)
I loved the extras. The recent interviews with the cast and the footage from the Hollywood premiere.
Mom and Dad had their youth in the 50's and we got to watch it on the movie screens of 1978.
Now the grandkids get to watch it on their portable DVD players.
GREASE is still the word.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2004
Firstly because it reminds me of a carefree and happy time in my life. I saw this in the summer of 1978 when I was 12 years old and the only thing I had to worry about was making sure I didn't have any overdue library books, keeping the lawn mowed and starting ninth grade in the fall. Secondly because there's some great pop music in this movie, _Hopelessy Devoted to You_ is one of the best pop songs about unrequited attraction ever written. Thirdly because of the subtext of this movie, the lesson this movie teaches you is that in order to get ahead you have to be a slut, just look at the way Olivia Newton John (who was 30 when this movie was made) turns from a good girl at the beginning of the movie into a leather trouser wearing slut at the end. Fourthly I love this movie because all of the actors in it are so obviously too old to be in high school. I figured as a kid that this was because the lead paint factory at the town of Rydell was dumping a lot of stuff into the water supply in those halcyon, pre-EPA days of the 1950s and the resulting heavy metal poisoning made the children of Rydell somewhat slow, which was why they were all still in high school even though they were in their late 20s and early 30s.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse