countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more scflyout Home All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
20
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$13.93+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 20, 2016
This movie is so good I bought it twice. I recently purchased the sequel and realized I had lent out the this 1st film to somebody and I can't remember who and everybody who I asked says they don't have so I couldn't have a sequel without the amazing original so here we are with a 2nd purchase. Great film and price. Don't pass it up if your a horror buff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon June 24, 2007
"The Descent" is a good movie in almost every way. The tension and claustrophobia of being trapped in an unknown cave system is palpable. The previous movie of Neil Marshall was, in essence, a black comedy. There is none in here. Everything is horrifying, terrifying, thrilling and scary. Six girls trapped underground and a common enemy. This film brought two things to mind while I was watching it, Aliens and the Thing, these two movies set the bar when it comes to atmosphere, and this above all others is key to a good horror film. Neil Marshall seems to be a master of this, in an era when great horror films are tough to come by. From the very beginning this movie grabs you by your collar and doesn't let go. It seems to place right in the mix of everything that is happening, and emotion, what was the last horror film anyone has seen that had emotional attachment to its characters.

The gore comes pretty hot and heavy in the second half of the film, and the ending of the film is appropriately surprising and bleak, without being corny. Another big plus in my book is that the "creature" FX aren't over-the-top and don't rely on much, if any CGI. When I first heard that "The Descent" was a "creature" film, I was kind of worried because I feel that those types of films have gone severely down-hill with the advent of the over-use of CGI...but this film doesn't fall into that category. Some of the acting isn't the greatest but it doesn't really detract from the film overall, and some seem to think that the first half of the film is slow. Personally, I think that the early sequences in the caves are a great "tension-builder" as things go from bad-to-worse, and right when you think it can't go any lower, the audience is clued in to the existence of the other "inhabitants" of the caves and all hell breaks loose. "The Descent" is a pretty good horror film and shouldn't be ignored.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2016
Sarah, her husband and daughter, and two of her girlfriends (Juno and Beth) are returning from a whitewater rafting trip when her distracted husband gets into a car accident that costs his and the daughter's life. A year later still grieving Sarah is reunited with her two girlfriends and three other women in the Appalachian Mountains of North Carolina for a spelunking expedition. Juno is running the show and while ostensibly leading them down a well traveled cave she intentionally takes them into an uncharted one. A cave-in leaves them trapped. They must now find their way out. But that is not the worst of their worries. They have stumbled into the habitat of some very unfriendly creatures.

This is an intelligent horror movie. The characters are interesting and not caricatures. Shots of the cave make one feel claustrophobic, and the creatures and darkness make for some good scares. The ending is a surprise. A very good horror movie, well worth seeing.

'The Deep' was filmed entirely in England and the cave interior was sets built at Pinewood Studios near London.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2013
The Descent is a smart and interesting film, more about about character and story than endless gore of jump scares. It's a film that's not only great to watch but is notable better a second time through, being less about scaring the viewer (which it will still likely do) than telling a story. It's about the about what it takes to ultimately destroy our self control and learned civility. And it's about what we find in ourselves when civilization is truly gone.

The plot of that of a group of lady friend going cave diving a year after one member lost her husband and daughter in a terrible car accident. The one leading the group decides to 'make it interesting' and things go south and they become trapped. That's when things start to go really bad. Not to spoil too much, things get bloody eventually and that former wife and mother is pushed back so unbearably far as to truly awaken a deeper, fight or flight part of herself.

What makes the film so excellent is how well all the characters are written and how simple, true and honestly all the motivations are and how decisions ring true. This is a realer, smarter group of people than are featured in most horror films. It's a group of real people in a terrible situation. And the best part is it all serves the main story about the main characters inability to recover from the accident and what it's done to her life. She's been running from what happened up until these friends come back together and as they go deeper into the cave system she's forced to come to terms with what happened.

It's a really great film that knows it's strengths and works within a small scope. It uses sparse but brutal violence to help tell it's story rather than be weighed down with non stop gore and tired genre conventions. It would never have won an oscar, but it's a great one to see.

For context, some of my favorite films:
The Limey, Lost in Translation, Solaris, The Bourne Supremacy, The Matrix, Solaris (2002), Kung Fu Hustle, In Bruges
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 8, 2006
neil marshal's The descent" is a great movie.the outline is as follows.six girlfriends go caving only to find out they are not alone in the cave.what follows is a fast paced adrenaline fueled thrill ride that grabs you by the throat and won't let go.there are many scary moments in the film.there is a nice buildup of suspense before the creatures are revealed, and once they are, they are terrifying.the acting is good and there characters are well developed in the early stages of the film(before the caving scenes).you may be out of breath before this one ends.if you get scared easy, you may want to watch this movie with someone or you might not get through it,as it is intense.i liked the twist ending, which sets up nicely for a sequal.i saw the britsh version, in which the ending apparrently differs from the north american.i can't wait to check out the north american version to compare.you have to check out this movie. 5* out of 5
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2007
If you like scary movies, see this one. I am a huge fan of horror movies and this movie REALLY scared me. Watch it in the dark with no interuptions and you'll get the full effect. The real action doesn't begin until about halfway through the movie, but that doesn't mean it isn't suspenseful. And when the real action does begin, it's WELL worth the wait. I rented this movie and watched it twice and am now buying it. Just my opinion of course, but definitely one of my most favs.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2012
If you like horror and suspense films this one is really good, its also a bit messed up but really good i gve this movie a 4 out of 5 stars. Must buy and to your collection
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 8, 2014
I am not a fan of horror movies, but managed to enjoy the twists in this one, even though one person I talked to who had seen the movie found them predictable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2015
its does have a slow pace in the first part of the story but it did get interesting later on, I do like it and I would recommend it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2007
This movie rocks...I have watched 'Dog Soldiers' from the same director and really enjoyed it. So, I knew this one wouldn't be disappointing. After watching, it is one of my top horror movies of all time. The movie does have a morbid ending and that what makes it different from the rest. Over time this movie will gain a cult following....if not already.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse