countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout home All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
751
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$15.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 616 reviews(5 star). Show all reviews
on July 12, 2016
An epic movie like this should only be watched in Blu-ray format, if you ask me, and this version doesn't disappoint! The extras that this edition comes with, makes the viewing experience all the more richer. I would highly recommend you purchase it, for years of viewing pleasure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2014
Loved the movie. Some parts did not co-inside with Scottish History but was a dam fine movie to watch. It was very true that Scotlands downfall was the rich land owners siding with the English so the could acquire more land. But all in all it was only a little off in history and at the battle of York if Wallace had kept going instead of stopping there it might be only Scotland and Wales now. I would recommend this movie to anyone who likes a good movie, it was fantatic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2014
Have you not seen Braveheart? How can you not have seen Braveheart?! It's got everything, hilarious Irishmen, a love story, I'm pretty sure that was actually Mel Gibson's behind too. Plus the fight scenes are pretty impressive. Buy it, watch it, love it, stop there though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 13, 2012
Excellent movie. Mel Gibson is superb. Movie is great. So sad at the end, but the acting is just awesome. One of the best movies I seen in a long time. Alot of bloodshed though, but the battle scenes are excellent. There were times I was so mad at the English and the way they treated the Scottish people. It was a great movie worth seeing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2011
You're not reading this because you want a review of Braveheart, the movie, you're reading this because you've already fallen in love with this spectacular film and you want to know how it looks and sounds on Blu Ray. The answer: amazing! This is one of the best blu rays I've had the pleasure of watching. The picture is crystal clear and the colours pop. The sound is glorious. Braveheart showcases everything that makes Blu Ray great.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 11, 2013
When I watch this movie at first I thought it was going to be long and boring movie. As it goes a long it was starting to get interesting. I told my wife this is great movie you have to wtch it. She said she hates fighting movies, but I kept incourage her to watch...and turn out to be she loves the movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2004
I watched Braveheart again over the weekend and this is truly an excellent epic drama. But let's get one thing off the table first. I do not view this movie as an accurate portrayal of William Wallace or Robert the Bruce - nor is it what the rating is based on. Obviously plenty of liberties were taken with history. The movie is great because it's a good story well told.
Braveheart is about the war for Scottish independence in the 13th century and the historical William Wallace who led the initial phases of the revolt. Wallace is portrayed as a man of deep principle who wanted peace but wanted freedom for his countrymen more.
The large battle scenes and the leadership of Wallace are awesomely portrayed, as is the untenable position of Robert the Bruce. Bruce is caught between the Scottish nobles who prefer land, wealth, and favoritism from the British crown to freedom and safety for their Scottish brethren, and William Wallace, whom he could ally with to fight for freedom, but at the potential cost of his life, land, and status. Robert the Bruce's internal struggle was well captured on screen.
The only problem I had with the movie and story - but a minor one really - is the unlikely liaison between Wallace and the Princess of Wales. Even in a fictional account of William Wallace, this seemed like a terribly unlikely event. But in the scheme of things, this is a minor quibble.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2004
Is it accruate? Don't know. Is it Entertaining? Yes! I watched Braveheart, The Patriot and Gladiator back to back. I would rank them in that order 1,2 & 3 starting with Braveheart. I would rate it a 4.5 to a 5 starts.
As you might already know, these are not "chick flicks". They include too much  fighting, blood, guts and death to be considered a date movie. You know what I mean, at the end of the night when it is a question of what to watch these usually get pushed to the bottom of the list because they don't have a happy ending. 
I think movies like these are viewed for the feelings you experience while rooting the characters on to victory not just the gore of battle.  I picked up on the general themes of bonding, team work, fraternity and living for a higher purpose.  It must be a guy thing I guess.....Overall, the story is told in an engaging manner and the sets in addition to the costumes are done VERY well. One negative: I must say it is quite long, so put the kids to bed early and disconnect the phone if you want to get through it in a single evening. Add it to your collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2004
This was a fantastic film, period. A lot of people are criticizing the movie for not being 100% historically accurate. Well, just to save you some time, no, this movie is not historically accurate. This film is about a 13th century Scottish freedom fighter named William Wallace. Wallace is a national hero in Scotland and to this day is attributed by a massive statue that stand there.
The movie is a bit on the longer side, however these days, with all of these new epics coming out, three hours really isn't that long anymore. The cinematography is fantastic, and the shots of the lush landscapes of Scotland and Ireland are breath taking. The battle scenes are realistically gory, and the love scenes are often. The film does a nice job of portraying Wallace's chilodhood adding some character development. This film is great for those who love the hardcore brand of violence and for those who have a softer side as well. I loved this movie.
However, as you may have read from other reviews, this movie is not 100% accurate. I think this is a ridiculous reason to not like this movie, because nothing is really that accurate. I know the LOTR movies weren't all accurate with the books, but no one complained about those. And in the second century A.D., there was no Gladiator that defied the emperor Commodus. Commodus did in fact partake in the Gladitorial games, but as opposed to the movie, he won every match he fought; man or beast. Everyone seemed to like Gladiator. Braveheart is fiction, and a damn good fiction at that. Don't be persuaded not to see this magnificent film because it's been to Hollywood. As for the Scots upset at the inaccuracy of this film, get over it. The American revolution wasn't won by a malitiaman running up a hill flying an American flag either. (The Patriot)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2004
First off - this movie is superb. Absolutely phenomenal. I watched it again last night when I only had an hour to spare and ended up watching the whole thing. It's like a well written book that you can't put down until you get to the end. Now - on to the title of this review: Nearly every review which gives this movie less than five stars mentions historical inaccuracies as the reason for the lower score. Now, I'm not an expert on William Wallace or anyone else who was living in Scotland in the 13th century, but I do know that I wasn't watching this on the history channel. I was on a movie channel - it's a movie! Braveheart doesn't claim to be (and shouldn't be) a historically accurate representation of the life and times of William Wallace. It's a passionate love story about a pacifist who becomes a warrior because he can no longer accept the tyranny of the Britains. (And for you British folk who are tweaked by this - get over it. It's just a movie and "strange women, lying in ponds, distributing swords, is no basis for a system of government" anyway). Bottom line: This is a really really really good movie and you should buy it instead of renting it because it'll save you money in the long run - but wait for the DVD because VHS will wear out too fast.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse