countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Furniture Music Deals Store All-New Kindle sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
107
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$24.19+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 14, 2016
This is the 1969 film adaptation of one of the most decisive battles of World War II. It is largely seen through the eyes of the defending British,
however there were many contributors to Britain's defense, including No. 1 (Canadian) Squadron. From what I've been told, the German
fighters and bombers used in the filming of this motion picture came from the Spanish Air Force. Overall, the movie is quite good, flying sequences
done well, however one can clearly see where models have been used to show destroyed aircraft mid-flight. Ground shots of destroyed aircraft and pilots bailing out of doomed aircraft are done remarkably well. The producers have the Germans speaking in their dialect with sub-titles, some which may find difficult or bothersome to follow. Those who enjoy movies of this variety will not be disappointed. For Canadian readers, this should prompt
further research into Canada's contribution to this extremely important time in 20th century history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2014
This purchase arrived on time and was just as the seller described. I found this to be a beautiful movie, Battle of Britain, and plan to watch it agains. It has wonderful photophography and the action scenes kept me on the edge of my seat. Lots of times I wondered how the director, photographers did their work so well. I like this movie and am glad I purchased it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2016
I am glad to own it. I saw it many years ago and it brought back many nostalgic memories of my childhood seeing all this happening.
Rex

I am pleased this DVD came from the USA as the other two I ordered came from England which is "Region 2" and I cannot play them.
I need "Region 1" to play them in North America. I have returned them to England and hope for a refund or a DVD for Region 1.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2013
True icon of the air war over Britain during WWII. The movie holds your interest through its entirety and appears to be a pretty accurate depiction of events. It's nice how they weave the contributions of the WAAF into the film and a reminder of the horrors that war can inflict on people in general. Excellent movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2004
This movie was produced by Harry Saltzman, who along with Cubby Broccoli co-produced the early James Bond movies. It was directed by Guy Hamilton who also directed Goldfinger, Diamonds are Forever, and two other of the 007 capers. With that crew you would expect that this would be very much an action-packed movie for guys, and it is. The very limited attempts at human interest sub-plots fail miserably.
Aerial sequences dominate, and there are enough WWII era fighters and bombers, such as Spitfires, Hurricanes, Messerschmitt 109s, Heinkels, and Stukas to satisfy any military hardware nut. No cheating with digital effects when this was made. That means that the aircraft are all flying just as they would have been during the battle of Britain. On the downside, some of the explosions are pretty fake looking by today's standards. But for sheer action and a dramatic re-telling of the story of Britain's courageous and heroic stand against the Nazis, this film cannot be surpassed
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2003
All of the problems noted by previous reviewers of the DVD are correct: the different opening titles, the changed subtitles, the substitution of the ineffective Walton end title music for Ron Goodwin's beautiful ending, the alternate Churchill quote, the omission of German losses in the tally at the end, etc., etc. Why? Where did this come from? Was it an early version? A British theatrical release that differed from the American release? I also missed the original UA opening logo, which has been replaced by the modern MGM one. Who makes these weird decisions? Did the producers of the DVD have a clue? Did they care? The image quality is good, and no scenes or shots have been cut, as far as I can tell. The aerial scenes are intact. Like others have said, keep your VHS and laserdisc copies. I waited and waited and waited for this DVD, and what a disappointment. Maybe in 10 years there will be another with all these problems corrected, and some extra features.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2004
Although made as a tribute to the RAF and this episode in World War II history, it nonetheless followed the successful formula of Tora, Tora, Tora, by making the enemy human and reasonable. It captures the essential spirit of the contestants in this epic air battle. The fact it was done for real, before CGI effects were what they are today, is an asset. There is a reality about it, a versimillitude, that comes from actually using the real articles. It gives the film an authentic look and thus there is no temptation to monkey with history by flooding the skies with an exaggerated computer panoply of planes or having the aircraft demonstrate exciting but very unrealistic maneuvers.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2004
Battle of Britain is a huge war epic along the lines of A Bridge too Far and The Longest Day. In the years before the United States entered WWII, England had to hold back Nazi Germany almost singlehandedly. After the disaster at Dunkirk, it looked like there was no stopping the Germans. All that remained was for the German Luftwaffe to weaken England to the point where a land invasion could take place allowing Hitler to take control of Great Britain. The only surviving hope for England was the RAF, Royal Air Force. Hopelessly outnumbered, 2500 German planes to 690 British planes, the RAF had to hold back the Luftwaffe in the skies above England. The movie tells the story, from both sides, of the British pilots and their efforts to stop Germany from complete domination of Western Europe. This movie has the best aerial combat sequences ever put on film. One particularly effective scene has the musical score playing over the silent dogfights between the RAF and the Luftwaffe. Battle of Britain is a great war movie, full of action that should not be missed.
Battle of Britain boasts an impressive cast full of notable British actors. The huge list includes, in alphabetical order, Harry Andrews, Michael Caine, Edward Fox, Trevor Howard, Curt Jurgens, Ian McShane, Kenneth More, Laurence Olivier, Nigel Patrick, Christopher Plummer, Michael Redgrave, Ralph Richardson, Robert Shaw, Patrick Wymark, and Susannah York. The ones that really stand out from the rest are Robert Shaw as a squadron leader trying to get his fighter squadron through the battle and Christopher Plummer as a fighter pilot trying to save his marriage. The DVD offers a great-looking widescreen presentation and the theatrical trailer. For a great war epic with a huge cast and great aerial combat footage, check out Battle of Britain!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 25, 2003
As several reviewers have stated, the DVD version is almost picture perfect, but somehow the final product was fiddled with between the VHS and DVD products. The inclusion of additional subtitles is interesting for those of us who dont speak German.
Again, the real sore point is the altered ending-the original/VHS is much much better than the DVD version. WHy the change??? Whoever suggested it should be fired-the VHS ending is much much better. Still, the DVD is a good buy just for the clearer pictures and yes hopefully they will change back to the original in a "Special Edition".
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2015
I loved the original 1969 version (on vhs), but I am disappointed in the new version released on dvd released May 2003. As previously stated in other reviews, the changes made (different opening, additional sub titles and the change of ending and music) took away from the original near-perfect film portraying this epic World War II struggle.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse