countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout home All-New Kindle sports tools

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$22.36+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 2, 2000
Like the other two movies in the Indiana Jones series, "The Last Crusade" is one of my favorites. It's a little different from the other two because Indiana Jones (Harrison Ford) rescues and teams up with his dad (Sean Connery), and they go on one of the most unforgettable journeys ever seen on film. They are both trying to find the legendary Holy Grail, which is the most remarkable item in archaeological history and it will give whomever drinks from it, eternal life. But the father and son duo will have to face more than just the traps, spikes, and other obstacles that come right before they reach the Holy Grail. They have company. Many other archaeologists and some Nazis will try to stop the two in their path.
"The Last Crusade" has more of a story to it than the other two in the Indiana Jones series. But that doesn't mean that it lacks in adventure or action, because it doesn't. It also has a sense of comedy to it in parts, which makes it even better than it should be.
If you like great adventure/action movies, I recommend getting "Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade." In my opinion, it's one of the best movies that you could buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2002
Steven Spielberg and George Lucas were back along with Harrison Ford for this 3rd and final entry in this incredibly successful and beloved trilogy of films. The film was released in the summer of 1989, which was a tough summer. Batman, Ghostbusters 2, Lethal Weapon 2, Licence To Kill, etc. Indy held his own for the last time. The film is set in 1938, Indy is battling nazis who want to find the holy grail. This time around, we are joined by two characters who were seen in "Raiders", but not in "Temple Of Doom". Those characters being Marcus Brody(played by Denholm Elliot), and Sallah(played by John Rhys-Davies). But, the most interesting character is Indiana's dad, who is played by the perfect and hilarious Sean Connery. Who better?. The dialogue between Indy and his dad are comic gems. Allison Doody(nice name)is along for the ride as the token babe. This film definitley got back more to the adventure of "Raiders". "Temple" was a little dark and violent, and this film has steered away from that. The action is expertly filmed, and Spielberg, as always, has a keen eye of direction and scenery. Once you hear the opening notes of Indy's trademark song, you instantly get shivers up your spine. River Phoenix appears in the opener as Indy as a teen. As for the rumored Indy 4, I kinda hope it happens and I kinda don't. It would be great to see another Indy film, but will it be the same without thinking that Harrison will be in his 60's by then?. I guess we'll see. Anyways, this is a wonderful entry in the series. Check it out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2001
"Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade" is what I think the best of the three Indiana Jones movie. And one of the most important reasons for this conclusion is not just that it has Harrison Ford doing absolutely great, it has legendary actor Sean Connery as Indy's dad.
Harrison Ford is Dr. Henry 'Indiana' Jones, Jr. When he is asked by Walter Donovan (Julian Glover) to help go in search of the mystical Holy Grail since one of his main archaeologist has disappeared, he refuses. But when Indy is told that the missing man is his father, Professor Henry Jones, Sr., (whom he has rarely spoken to in 20 years), Indy, along with the help of friend Marcus Brody (Denholm Elliott) and Dr. Elsa Schneider (Alison Doody), try to rescue his father from... who? Can it be the mysterious men who are trying to stop him from finding the Holy Grail? Or is there more to just finding his father and the Holy Grail than meets the eye? Indiana discovers that you can't trust anybody when dealing with power seeking men who want to use the cup of Jesus for evil.
The best Indiana Jones movie AND action/adventure movie!! And the script and plot is just perfect, with plenty of lines which are just so funny! The first part where they have 'young Indiana Jones' played by River Phoenix was lots of fun, too. I like it where the explained some things like how Indy got his famous hat. "Everyone's lost but me..."
My favorite parts are when Indy 'rescues' his dad but instead has to escape from the bad guys when he is caught himself and whenever Indy and Dr. Jones are arguing. One thing though is that I didn't think much of Alison Doody as Elsa. Yeah, she was real greedy and everything but I still like Karen Allen as Marion Ravenwood in the first Indiana Jones movie, "Raiders of the Lost Ark". And of course John Williams score is just terrific. I can probably hum the whole Indiana Jones theme song!
For those of you who haven't seen this movie, well, I'm telling you to put it on you 'must see' list!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon March 30, 2005
It may just be coincidence but this time Harrison Ford that was a carpenter is not Dr. Indiana Jones (Junior) and his last crusade (until the next film) is to obtain a cup of a carpenter.

Even though this film can stand on its own, it can be more fully understood if you watch "Raiders of the lost Ark" first.

Once again we start out with a young Jones trying to save an artifact from pillagers. This lets us know of his heroic energy and introduces his father Professor Henry Jones (Sean Connery) and his obsession with the Holy Grail, even to the exclusion of his relationship with Junior.

Now grown Dr. Indiana Jones gives a class and explains that Archeology is a pretty strait forward science and not some search for legends. He receives a mysterious piece of post.

He is then approached by group of rich people that are in search of the Grail. It turns out that their top researcher has disappeared. Yep it is Professor Henry Jones. What can Indiana do but go looking for his father. He is accounted by his best friend who runs a museum Dr. Marcus Brody (Denholm Elliottt) as they team up with the last person to see his father Dr. Elsa Schneider (Alison Doody.) He gets a final warning "Do not trust anybody."

Will he find his father?

If he dies what will they have to talk about?

Does the Grail really exist?

Who are the mysterious people following him?

One of my favorite scenes is where Dr. Jones disguised in a German uniform bumps into Hitler (Michael Sheard of Star Wars fame).

Have fun watching this great film with the banter between Hennery and Junior. And remember "do not trust anybody."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2004
My opinion of Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade could be deemed slightly biased. It is the first film I ever saw in theaters and it's also the first movie I purchased on video. I even own the same, worn-down, beat-up copy (and look upon it even more fondly than the widescreen edition, for sentimental reasons, of course) (but nothing beats the pristine quality DVD). I think it's fair to say it's this movie that cemented my love of cinema, the high regard I hold for great escapism, which is sorely lacking from today's cinema; movies that should be fun now drag or bludgeon themselves with relentlessly awful scripts or MTV-style direction that turns relatively simple scenes into chaotic blurs. The Last Crusade may only be thirteen years old, but I think I can safely say they don't make them like they used to.
The film stars, of course, Harrison Ford as Indy Jones, the archaeologist/adventurer who's on yet another quest, this time to find his father, who'd been searching for the Holy Grail. Said Dad is played by none other than Sean Connery, whose highly charismatic performance is quick to place this film, acting-wise, above the others in the trilogy. The rest of the film focuses on this ongoing journey between father and son (eventually joined along by Sallah and Marcus Brody), complete with amazing action and stunt sequences, clever humor, and nasty (but fun) surprises.
The script, by Jeffrey Boam, takes a few cues from Raiders of the Lost Ark, but actually improves upon that story by paying more attention to characterization. The delightful opening scene (all three movies really open with a bang, don't they?); which details how young Indy got his scar, whip, hat, and fear of snakes; makes for a better prequel than Temple of Doom (and any of The Adventure of Young Indiana Jones, for that matter).
The story is engrossing because there's a lot of fun clues offered towards the location of the Grail and, thus, there's a lot of engaging little discoveries (love the "X marks the spot" scene). I'm quite certain, like with Raiders of the Lost Ark, the plot has a few holes, but they're fairly hard to notice, and I've seen this movie quite a few times, but maybe it's just my enjoyment of the film clouding that up. Either way, it speaks volumes in favor of Spielberg's direction and the performances.
Given that action and adventure is the series' selling point, you can expect the thrills and wondrous delight of discovery delivered in spades. The action scenes are terrific (and matched well with John Williams' rousing, memorable score), the best being an excellent ten-minute setpiece on board (and in) a Nazi tank in a sensational chase sequence across the desert. I also loved the motorcycle chase and the Zeppelin setpiece, where the heroes go about dispatching of two enemy fighters in unexpected, but quite hilarious, fashion. The climax, complete with frightening booby traps, is a suspenseful venture into the unknown, which is the pinnacle adventure movies aspire to.
The Last Crusade is far more humor-oriented than its predecessors, but part of the movie's effectiveness is that it's able to deliver belly laughs without defusing the tension during the action sequences. Some of the jokes are just brilliant, including one with Indy armed with a Luger in confrontation with a line of Nazis in front of him that's even funnier than the swordsman scene in Raiders (well, to me, at least).
The supporting cast is all-around superb; John Rhys-Davies is back as Sallah, wonderful as ever and displaying a bit more enthusiasm searching for the Grail than he did digging up the Ark of the Covenant. The late Denholm Elliot also returns as Marcus Brody, the most loveable goof of a museum curator. Alison Doody is interesting as Elsa, the blonde bombshell whom Indy falls for; a twist involving her character and her actions towards the climax make her not as one-dimensional as she may initially appear. Julian Glover is the best of the main Indy villains, he's far more menacing than Paul Freeman's Belloq and less over-the-top but equally enjoyable as Amrish Pruri's Mola Ram. I also enjoyed Michael Byrne's performance as the Jones hating Colonel Vogel, who relishes in torturing Indy and his father. When it comes to pure delightfully nasty villainy, Byrne is even more fun to watch than Glover.
Harrison Ford once again slides effortlessly into the role of Jones, but there's a catch. With the addition of Connery as his father, it reveals a personal side to Indy we haven't seen before. It's his rapport with Connery that strikes that spark that separates this from 99% of the genre. They craft an uncannily touching, funny, and genuine bond unlike any duo I've seen. You could call it a buddy picture, but one with genuine heart and emotion, something filmmakers Michael Bay or Jerry Bruckheimer could learn a thing or two about. The Last Crusade is pure Hollywood movie magic at its best and brightest; bring on Indy 4, I say!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2003
This entire movie is fun, from start to finish, while never losing it's characters or it's overall theme. This is one trilogy the directors never [fouled] up on and let "lag". Indy is there and recognizable throughout all three movies, with memorable and often hilarious sidekicks of various ages and nationalities.
Also worth mentioning is the care that the directors took with the plot development, taking place roughly around the time of World War 2. Usually always, searching for the grail and other sacred objects are Hitler and his minions. Hitler was supposedly very interested in the occult, and they take it to a very hilarious level during a particular book burning scene in Berlin, which is perhaps one of my favorite scenes in all the Indiana Jones movies.
In this movie, the supporting characters are particularly memorable. Indy begins the search for his vanished father and when he finds him, the action does not lag. They argue throughout the entire film. Indy is also understandably horrified to find out that they shared a particular love interest which had me rolling on the floor laughing in certain parts.
This movie also treats us to flashbacks of Indy's childhood, (boy scouts) and attempts to explain his fear of snakes and when he first acquired the whip and his famous hat. We see a more vulnerable Indy as he is constantly hilariously and unintentionally taken down a few pegs by his absent minded father.
"I thought we named the dog Indiana?"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2002
After the critical and commercial failure of Color Purple and Empire of the Sun, Steven Spielberg and George Lucas returned to the sure-fire formula of the Indiana Jones franchise. Opting to steer away from the darkness of Temple of Doom and go for a more light-hearted adventure, Last Crusade suceeds wonderfully, with the pairing of Sean Connery and Harrison Ford producing one of the best on-screen pairings since Newman and Redford. John Rhys-Davies makes a welcome return as Sallah, Indy's guide and friend. While not as strong as Karen Allen in Raiders, Alison Doody make a good impression as Elsa, a german women who seduces Indy. The villians are great with Walter Donavan (Julian Glover) as an evil german intent on retrieving the Holy Grail. The action set-pieces are top-notch, with speedboat chases, tank chases, plane chases and all rounded off with an exciting finale, Last Crusade ends the trilogy perfectly. When the film was realesed in 1989, it was greeted with critical praise and box-office triumph.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2003
After having taken a definitively dark turn in 1984's Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom, director Steven Spielberg and executive producer George Lucas decided that the third installment of the series should be thrilling, lighter in tone and more upbeat and humorous. In other words, they wanted to recreate the Saturday-matinee serial fun of Raiders of the Lost Ark.
Lucas, Menno Meyjes and screenwriter Jeffrey Boam wrote a story that once again sent the archaeologist/adventurer Indiana Jones (Harrison Ford) on the quest for another legendary artifact -- the Holy Grail. And to avoid the inevitable "ho hum, been there, done that" syndrome that sequels often suffer from, they decided to include a father-son dynamic to Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade by casting Sean Connery as Professor Henry Jones.
Although Last Crusade follows the basic structure -- borrowed from the James Bond series -- of the other movies by starting the film with the end of a previous adventure before introducing the main storyline, the film tweaks the formula by showing us Indy's first big 1912 Utah, when the future archaeology professor is a Boy Scout (literally) living with his widowed father, Henry Jones. While on a Boy Scouting sojourn in the mountainous desert, young Indy (River Phoenix) wanders into a cave and sees a group of ruffians pilfering the long-lost Cross of Coronado. "That cross is an important artifact," Indy says to a fellow Boy Scout. "It belongs in a museum." Indy sends his friend for help, steals the Cross of Coronado from the ruffians, but ends up being chased as he attempts to escape on foot, horseback and even a circus train. (One of the best scenes in the series: the handsome rogue who was hired to find the Cross by the collector known in the credits as "Panama Hat" tells Indy, "You lost today, kid. But that doesn't mean you have to like it." And in a show of admiration for the kid's spunk and courage, takes off his hat and places it on Indy's head. Spielberg holds the camera on the hat, and in the blink of an eye, we flash forward 26 years and to the conclusion of Indy's search for the Cross of Coronado.)
After this exciting prologue, The Last Crusade gets underway when American millionaire Walter Donovan (The Empire Strikes Back's Julian Glover) commissions Indy to find the missing leader (and his important papers) of Donovan's Holy Grail recovery team. Several clues have been found near Ankara, clues that might lead to the location of the legendary cup used by Jesus at the Last Supper -- a cup that also caught some of His blood at the Crucifixion. But when Indy temporizes, Donovan tells him the identity of the missing team leader...and our favorite archaeologist/adventurer starts out on yet another globe-trotting trek to chase an ancient treasure.
Soon, Indiana Jones, his friend and boss Marcus Brody (Denholm Elliott), Elsa Schneider (Allison Doody) -- a young, sexy Austrian archaeologist who works for Donovan -- and Indy's friend Sallah (John Rhys-Davies) set off on a quest to find the legendary Grail.
Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade, with its crisp script, thrilling music by John Williams, fine directing by Spielberg and a convincing chemistry between Ford and Connery, is one of the best action films made in the 1980s, and its recent release on DVD proves that it, like the other films in the series, has aged well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 1999
Following both the sheer savagery of Temple of Doom as well as criticisms of its violence, Steven Spielberg tones things down in the third installment of the Indiana Jones series. Not only that, he delves into the characters of the series via the character of Indy's bookish dad, Henry Jones Sr (Sean Connery).
The film begins with a flashback to Indy's youth (he is played here by River Phoenix) as a Boy Scout in 1912 Utah. Here he encounters mercenary archeologists who have unearthed a bejeweled headpiece. The leader of the gang wears a leather flight jacket and dark brown, almost cowboy-esque fedora. Indy swipes the headpiece and is chased onto a speeding circus train, where he falls into a box of snakes and must use a bullwhip to force back a lion. He finally arrives home to his dad, but the local sheriff reclaims the piece as the rightful property of a mysterious white-clad millionaire type.
Though the film lacks the spectacular SFX and action of Temple, it nonetheless succeeds in satisfying the viewer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2002
Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade is probably my favorite one of the trilogy. Humorous, action-packed, a truly captivating adventure...I think that pretty much sums it up.

The movie starts, like all Indiana Jones movies, with that added feature that has nothing to do with the rest of the movie. This time we get to see Indy as a boy, and find our answers to questions that have lasted through two movies. Why does he hate or rather, fear sankes? And even, his real name.
The Story-
to put it in as few words as I can...
Indy(Harrison Ford) goes out to find his father(Sean Connery) who has disappeared while looking for the Holy Grail, which is said to have caught Jesus's blood while he hung on the cross and to anyone who drinks it, is given eternal life(Which, by the way, is entirely untrue). When Indy does find his father, they go looking for the Grail together and end up having a thrilling adventure, of course.
I have seen all the Indy movies and like the first and the last but I don't really care for the second. What I have always liked about the movie is that they all have an added feature in the beginning.
The Lost Ark- We have Indy searching for a gold idol head of some kind.
The Temple of Doom- Indy is trading the remains of a king for a diamond and ends up stuck with a (traditionally blond) blond singer named Willie, getting poisoned, and all the other normal stuff that happens to normal archealogists. :)
And of course, another thing that I like about the movies is that they're great adventure movies that I never tire of watching.
The Last Crusade was directed well, as is the same in all the Indy movies. And although the part was not made especially for him, Harrison Ford plays Indiana Jones very well. In this movie I think that Spielberg made a good choice when he put Ford and Connery together in this film as father and son. They work well together and are both very funny in this movie. I also liked his pick for Young Indy, a very good portrayal.
The last scene has us watching the group ride off into the sunset. I wonder, a sign that this is the end and our heroes are to be seen no more; their last crusade? I certainly hope not. Maybe we will see one more Indy, one more thrilling adventure, maybe his real last crusade. Well, we'll just have to wait and see.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse