countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more scflyout Pets All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
38
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$67.81+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 30, 2011
the series was great the first time i saw it when i was a kid and still is.robert conrad's commentary was great,although it would have been better if he had carried it on past the first volume.i bought the sets 1 at a time as they came out and i'm a little upset that i can't get the 2 tv movies that come in the complete set.i hope they make them available soon so i can complete my collection.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2011
If you're a Baby Boomer, you'll remember this amazing series. If you're a Gen-Xer, you remember MacGiver. And if you're a Gen-Y-er, you've probably encountered the poor film version and you deserve to treat yourself to the genuine article. Before MacG there was Jim West, a handsome lady's man with tight pants and a weapon in his...boot. His sidekick, Artemus Gordon, was a master of disguise, and together they fought the forces of evil on behalf of the Union under Ulysseus S. Grant. I loved everything about this series, the villains, the action, the plot twists, the last minute heroics. And this beautiful production brought it all back to me. Everything about it, from the packaging to the picture quality to the liner notes, is top-notch, and it's practically a gift--the entire series for an extremely low price! This is one of the best purchases I've made from Amazon.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2011
Timeless. Immortal. From the inimitable theme song when theme songs were frequently better than the shows and an artform all by themselves - Hawaii 5.0, Gilligan's Island, Star Trek, Mary Tyler Moore, Mission Impossible - to the neato panels for commercial breaks, this show was brilliant: writing, directing, acting, stage design and even the stunts. Never took itself seriously but everyone involved obviously took the production seriously. There isn't a bad episode in all of these, and you have Robert Conrad offering commentary. It's all fun. Don't think McGiver, think Dr Who with better set design, casting, and no cheesy costumes.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2015
Great packaging on the May 12 2015 reprint (or unlimited edition as it is listed at tvshowdvd.com), nice, tight and compact for 26 discs including all 4 seasons. The slip box contains to plastic DVD holders. In one is seasons 1-3 at 20 discs, and season 4 has its own DVD holder with 6 discs. Track listing is on the discs and in the cover sheet for each holder. As is typical with the CBS complete series cases, there are no episode guide booklets, although the design on the package is great and embossed!

The reality of the show being amazingly remastered, with cleaned up picture and sound from what I imagine were the original film print masters, makes the quality of show on a HD upconverting DVD player a beauty!

Having come from an age after the show was originally aired, I found the oddball stories clear and refreshing, with excellent actors in the guest roles. As a film and TV historian, I enjoy playing who's who with this show, and the 60s TV era it came from.

Robert Conrad, the production's lead actor, as James t. West, is arguably the inspiration for Star Trek's Captain James t. Kirk. Fans of either character should instantly identify with the lead as a true 60s invention: Rogue, persuader, charmer, hero.

The female guest actors are great! Their casting director really went to town to make this show stylish.

All in all, I would say that this show is a great priced purchased or any winner.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2013
This was one of my favorite show as a kid, I was shocked to see that they were in colour after the second season, but then again we had a black and white TV when I was growing op. :)
The show is just as fun to re-watch, I only vaguely remember the episodes here and there so it's almost all new to me and still holds up today. :)
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2015
I found some of the episodes grainy. They really need to change how the discs are packaged. I found it very awkward getting discs in and out of the sleeve. Worst disc holder I've ever come across.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2015
Good series for it's time. The acting and writing are particularily surprising considering they re-invented their own formulaic genre 108 times with only a few disappointment and repetition. My only complaint would be that the movies ares missing from this boxset... As the second movie is not very good, I can get passed it... But the first movie really closed a lot of topics and really, without it, the 4th season just cuts in the middle of nowhere.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2015
A lot of people say that on Amazon that reviews are for the show itself and not the product. I disagree. If you buy a pair of gloves you review the product. That is what I am doing here. The absolute worst DVD holder, most insane, ridiculous, what were they thinking box set probably of all time. The DVD's are in extremely flimsy cardboard holders that if you want to access any of the DVD's, you literally have to dump them all out. All the DVD's were scratched as they were rubbing against each other. And I wanted this series so bad. There is a new box set coming out this year. Let's hope someone was thinking on the new one. But, no movies with the new set. The set I am returning is worth no more than $20.00 in my opinion
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2015
Item as described. Fast shipping. Good transaction. Thanks!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2015
I remember watching this show as a kid. Been ages since i have seen it and can't wait to watch it again, but will have to wait as I am currently watching Mission Impossible TV series and at Season #7.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse