countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more scflyout Furniture All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
173
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$45.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 25, 2016
The movies are great, but you probably already knew that. The latest one is open for debate but the trilogy is a wild adventure that never gets old.
This quick review is not a reflection of the movie itself, there are movie review sites for that. This review serves to quickly evaluate the quality of package, discs, and special features.

I was pretty disappointed with the design of the disc holders. There is absolutely no way to remove the discs without touching it and if you're particular about never touching your blu ray discs, this will bug the hell out of you every time you take it out to watch it. Overall, there are 5 BR discs in total. 1 for each movie and another one for the special features. Reminiscent of the Star Wars Complete Saga on BR, the last disc is packed with special features that you may or may not have seen from previous iterations.

Artwork within the package is pretty good. I have no complaints there. This is a solid addition to your blu ray collection but I wouldn't say it's outstanding. If you're looking for an Indy package with more extras, then this set isn't for you. If you're just looking to add the movies and some features to your collection, this is perfect. Just make sure you wipe the discs after each use.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2016
I don't hate The Crystal Skull, like a lot of people, I think it's just campy. Indy in the fridge, and Cate Blanchette's accent. It's all good. I laugh watching this entry more than any others. I feel it was done with the intention of making the audience roar. Unfortunately most people didn't get it.

This franchise has always been campy, and that is why it's had such longevity. the campiness of the films are exactly why people love it. From eh first film to the forth entry, the things that happen in the Indy films are hilarious. Indy shoots a villain with a huge sword, falling out oaf a plane on a life raft, the fountain of youth. Come on. It's great fun!!! All four chapters were made with love and care. I don't know why people insist 4 was thrown together. It wasn't. Having a collector's edition compiling all the tidbits of behind-the-scenes magic, makes this a-must-have for any home video collector.

Harrison Ford is sexy, egotistical, and short-tempered, playing Indy for over twenty years. I hear they might be making a part 5. If they do, i hope he comes back in some capacity. Harrison is Indy, and the series would suffer without it. was it shocking to se him as the aged version of Indy, for part 4? Yes. It was. But once the film got started I fell in love.

2 will always be my favourite. I love Raiders, but The Temple of Doom is just delicious camp from the word go. It's no wonder Kate Capshaw won Steven Spielberg's heart while making the film with him, in 1984. She's a riot. And Sean Connery played Indiana's father to absolute perfection, in 'The Last Crusade'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon November 20, 2013
What really is missing in this set is the second disc of bonus features that was available on the original "Kingdom of the Crystal Skull" edition. That means you're left with 3 hours less... in short, if you wish to buy this, keep your original "Kingdom" edition.

Otherwise, anyone who enjoyed all three films would do wise to choose this set. It contains spectacular audio and video as well as revealing bonus features. I for one found the behind the scenes so enjoyable I hardly realized 150 minutes had passed (and that covers only the behind the scenes of the first film).
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This Complete Adventures box set comes in a sturdy handsome package, which is shaped and opens much like a book, with each page showing new artwork and pictures for each adventure, each page housing one of five BD-50 discs: 1) Raiders of The Lost Ark (1981), 2) The Temple of Doom (1984), 3) The Last Crusade (1989), 4) The Kingdom of the Crystal Skull (2008), and 5) Bonus Features.

VIDEO:

All the four films arrived on blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 2.35:1 encode.

Raiders of the Lost Ark (blu ray) 1981

Supervised by director Steven Spielberg and renowned sound designer Ben Burtt, Raiders of the Lost Ark has been meticulously restored with careful attention to preserving the original look, sound and feel of the iconic film. The original negative was first scanned at 4K and then examined frame-by-frame so that any damage could be repaired. The final result is a well-defined, fantastic cinematic presentation, that beat all the images from the past: from VHS tapes, laser discs to recent DVDs. The movie begins with arguably its weakest visual sequence in the forest and cave. But, the subsequent chase scene - Indy running from the Hovitos - reveals the film's brightest and most well-defined shots yet, with dazzling colours and clarity. The transfer is at its absolute demo-worthy best as Indy runs through the city, trying to rescue Marion before she's placed in the truck packed with explosives. The intricate detailing on the earthen coloured façades, the sandy terrain, the wicker baskets, and the dusty clothes is nothing short of mesmerizing. The interior of the map room is equally stunning; close-ups in those shots of Indy dusting off the floor reveal every last grain of sand. This is a very pleasing video presentation. (4/5)

The Temple of Doom (blu ray) 1984

The Temple of Doom was a prequel to Raiders of the Lost Ark, that takes place a year prior to Raiders of the Lost Ark, before the Nazis started signing pacts with other countries and became a major worldwide threat. It's a warmer picture, with reddish flesh tones. Black levels are rock-solid. Detail is striking. From the beginning during Indy's lounge confrontation with Lao Che and on through to the final action scene on the bridge with Mola Ram, the image offers dazzling clothing and facial textures that reveal every skin crease, bead of sweat, and clothing stitch with pinpoint precision. The film's best scene comes at the end during the battle on the bridge. The worn-down wood and frayed rope textures are absolutely striking, never mind the sweaty and filthy and tattered clothes worn by a tired and banged-up archaeologist. The roller-coaster ride is still very exciting. (4.5/5)

The Last Crusade (blu ray) 1989

Being the last entry in the original trilogy, the third installment rides onto Blu-ray with the best presentation of the first three. This transfer displays a thinly-layered film grain and cleanly defined lines in clothing, buildings and surrounding foliage. Facial complexions appear natural with rich, lifelike textures, exposing every pore, wrinkle and trivial blemish. Contrast is quite vivid but very well-balanced with crisp, brilliant whites. Colours are bright and animated while blacks are often inky rich and penetrating. (5/5)

The Kingdom of the Crystal Skull (blu ray) 2008

This video transfer is the same as the one from its 2008 blu ray release, which I have bought previously. There is a fine grain. Details are extraordinary throughout the film. Facial textures are nothing short of fantastic, whether Indy's weathered and worn mug or Spalko's ultra-smooth skin that by design reveals not a single line or pore. The image is crisp and well defined. Colours are equally brilliant, especially in the day scenes. Blacks are inky and skin tones are natural. It is pure raw visual excellence. (5/5)

AUDIO:

All four films have DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 lossless tracks.

Raiders of the Lost Ark:

The sound design was similarly preserved using Burtt’s original master mix, which had been archived and unused since 1981. New stereo surrounds were created using the original music tracks and original effects recorded in stereo but used previously only in mono. In addition, the sub bass was redone entirely up to modern specifications and care was taken to improve dialogue and correct small technical flaws to create the most complete and highest quality version of the sound possible while retaining the director’s vision. The result is an impeccable digital restoration that celebrates the film and its place in cinematic history.

Thanks to the new restored soundtrack, Raiders of the Lost Ark has never sounded so good. This soundtrack dazzles with every explosion, all the supporting sound effects, and of course each note of John Williams' acclaimed, classic, and instantly recognizable main theme. Right from the get-go -- the Paramount logo that dissolves into a similar-looking Peruvian mountain -- the track introduces deep bass notes into the soundstage that are potent, that gave my two Velodyne subwoofers a real workout. We are simultaneously immersed into the jungle environment; striking ambience gently surrounds the listener. Williams' iconic score, especially, is fulfilling with distinct instrumentation, spreading into the rears to create a satisfyingly immersive soundfield. Outstanding track! Excellently restored! (5/5)

The Temple of Doom:

I still remember vividly using the opening sequence of singing, dancing and bullets ringing off the large gong in different direction, as an audio demo in my first Kloss Projection System in the early 90s with the laser disc. Now, the sound is much improved, crystal clear and precise in location. The whole soundtrack comes alive with John Williams’ brilliant score. Dialogue is pitch-perfect and clear in the center while the rest of the soundstage exhibits a welcoming and broad image that's consistently active. Dynamics deliver precise clarity in the orchestration and the several action sequences with some impressive echoing which enhance the soundfield. (5/5)

The Last Crusade:

This soundtrack is almost perfect in its fullness, spacing, bass, and clarity. Musical delivery is typically stunning, whether fast-paced action notes or more gentle dramatic elements. Spacing is true, the surrounds are used to marvelous effect, and the clarity of every note through the entire range is perfect. (5/5)

The Kingdom of the Crystal Skull:

The original film was released in 2008 with Dolby True-HD. The new DTS-HD Master Audio soundtrack does not sound all that different than its Dolby TrueHD counterpart. The low-end, perhaps, feels a little deeper and throatier, providing the design with some impressive depth, but otherwise, this lossless mix is identical to the 2008 Blu-ray. (Note: in the days of lossy audio, I always prefer DTS over Dolby Digital). Dialogue is distinct and intelligible from beginning to end, and John Williams' memorable score spreads into the back with terrific fidelity and envelopment. Directionality is precise with discrete, flawless panning, generating a highly-enjoyable, demo-worthy lossless mix. (5/5)

5TH DISC: BONUS FEATURES:

A large chunk of the supplemental package is a reiteration of what was seen in previous DVD releases. They can all be found on the fifth disc, except for the trailers. The only things missing are storyboard comparisons, still galleries, a short featurette on the trilogy and the intros with Spielberg and Lucas. It should be noted that not all the Special Features from the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull (blu ray) were included here. So, I am glad that I have bought that disc, for completeness sake.

Two brand new high-def exclusives enter the supplemental package:
The Making of Raiders of the Lost Ark (SD 58 minutes)
On Set with Raiders of the Lost Ark (HD)

FINAL THOUGHTS:

When this set was first announced on Amazon.ca, it was initially called The Indiana Jones Collection for $69.99, which I preordered. Then, the title The Complete Indiana Jones Adventures came into existence. When I asked Amazon.ca whether both are the same, I was not given a proper satisfying answer. Finally, my Collection set merged and became the Complete Indiana Jones Adventures set. I was quite relieved. But currently, the title has reverted back to Indiana Jones Collection, instead of The Complete Adventure. God knows why? The price at one point went up to $74.99, but recently settled back down to $69.99.

This is an excellent box set (even though I bought the Kingdom of Crystal Skull already) with top-notched video/audio. All the movies are exciting and totally enjoyable to watch again, and they brought back many happy memories. This is the definitive edition for our beloved Doctor Jones, and is a must-own. George Lucas and Steven Spielberg are both geniuses, who made these movies so enjoyable, even with repeated viewing.

Indian Jones franchise is very successful, grossing over $1,995 million worldwide. But the most successful franchise belongs to Harry Potter ($7,681 million worldwide). But the surprise hit franchise of all belongs to the Ice Age franchise, which has grossed over $2,758 million worldwide. I am very grateful that almost all these great movies franchise are available on blu ray (e.g., Star Wars, Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter, Pirates of the Caribbean, Transformers, Aliens, including the upcoming Prometheus, and James Bond).

In summary, this Indiana Jones blu ray box set is very highly recommended, and a must-own.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2012
I have no problems with the quality of this set, although there are spots in Raiders of the Lost Ark that could benefit from some restoration to remove noise from the picture. My only real complaint is the sleeves which hold the discs themselves, it is almost impossible to get a disc out without putting fingerprints on it. As someone who takes very good care of my movies it is hard to forgive such poor packaging, especially when there are already excellent Blu Ray cases on the market.
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2016
All three classic Indiana Jones adventures in a single set, with a fourth disc full of bonus features and a free coaster labelled KINGDOM OF THE CRYSTAL SKULL on which to place your beverage while watching one of the great cinematic trilogies of all time. Great deal!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2013
As expected, we were not dissapointed with this new "packaging" of the 4 films. The quality of the images in the first and second films were not really up to Blue Ray standards but the rest of the Saga was excellent. Even the packaging was terriffic. Each disc cover was decoprated like old time Movie Posters and gave the whole set a good feel. Just looking at the covers helped me remember the films and some of the highlights.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This Complete Adventures box set comes in a sturdy handsome package, which is shaped and opens much like a book, with each page showing new artwork and pictures for each adventure, each page housing one of five BD-50 discs: 1) Raiders of The Lost Ark (1981), 2) The Temple of Doom (1984), 3) The Last Crusade (1989), 4) The Kingdom of the Crystal Skull (2008), and 5) Bonus Features.

VIDEO:

All the four films arrived on blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 2.35:1 encode.

Raiders of the Lost Ark (blu ray) 1981

Supervised by director Steven Spielberg and renowned sound designer Ben Burtt, Raiders of the Lost Ark has been meticulously restored with careful attention to preserving the original look, sound and feel of the iconic film. The original negative was first scanned at 4K and then examined frame-by-frame so that any damage could be repaired. The final result is a well-defined, fantastic cinematic presentation, that beat all the images from the past: from VHS tapes, laser discs to recent DVDs. The movie begins with arguably its weakest visual sequence in the forest and cave. But, the subsequent chase scene - Indy running from the Hovitos - reveals the film's brightest and most well-defined shots yet, with dazzling colours and clarity. The transfer is at its absolute demo-worthy best as Indy runs through the city, trying to rescue Marion before she's placed in the truck packed with explosives. The intricate detailing on the earthen coloured façades, the sandy terrain, the wicker baskets, and the dusty clothes is nothing short of mesmerizing. The interior of the map room is equally stunning; close-ups in those shots of Indy dusting off the floor reveal every last grain of sand. This is a very pleasing video presentation. (4/5)

The Temple of Doom (blu ray) 1984

The Temple of Doom was a prequel to Raiders of the Lost Ark, that takes place a year prior to Raiders of the Lost Ark, before the Nazis started signing pacts with other countries and became a major worldwide threat. It's a warmer picture, with reddish flesh tones. Black levels are rock-solid. Detail is striking. From the beginning during Indy's lounge confrontation with Lao Che and on through to the final action scene on the bridge with Mola Ram, the image offers dazzling clothing and facial textures that reveal every skin crease, bead of sweat, and clothing stitch with pinpoint precision. The film's best scene comes at the end during the battle on the bridge. The worn-down wood and frayed rope textures are absolutely striking, never mind the sweaty and filthy and tattered clothes worn by a tired and banged-up archaeologist. The roller-coaster ride is still very exciting. (4.5/5)

The Last Crusade (blu ray) 1989

Being the last entry in the original trilogy, the third installment rides onto blu ray with the best presentation of the first three. This transfer displays a thinly-layered film grain and cleanly defined lines in clothing, buildings and surrounding foliage. Facial complexions appear natural with rich, lifelike textures, exposing every pore, wrinkle and trivial blemish. Contrast is quite vivid but very well-balanced with crisp, brilliant whites. Colours are bright and animated while blacks are often inky rich and penetrating. (5/5)

The Kingdom of the Crystal Skull (blu ray) 2008

This video transfer is the same as the one from its 2008 blu ray release, which I have bought previously. There is a fine grain. Details are extraordinary throughout the film. Facial textures are nothing short of fantastic, whether Indy's weathered and worn mug or Spalko's ultra-smooth skin that by design reveals not a single line or pore. The image is crisp and well defined. Colours are equally brilliant, especially in the day scenes. Blacks are inky and skin tones are natural. It is pure raw visual excellence. (5/5)

AUDIO:

All four films have DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 lossless tracks.

Raiders of the Lost Ark:

The sound design was similarly preserved using Burtt’s original master mix, which had been archived and unused since 1981. New stereo surrounds were created using the original music tracks and original effects recorded in stereo but used previously only in mono. In addition, the sub bass was redone entirely up to modern specifications and care was taken to improve dialogue and correct small technical flaws to create the most complete and highest quality version of the sound possible while retaining the director’s vision. The result is an impeccable digital restoration that celebrates the film and its place in cinematic history.

Thanks to the new restored soundtrack, Raiders of the Lost Ark has never sounded so good. This soundtrack dazzles with every explosion, all the supporting sound effects, and of course each note of John Williams' acclaimed, classic, and instantly recognizable main theme. Right from the get-go -- the Paramount logo that dissolves into a similar-looking Peruvian mountain -- the track introduces deep bass notes into the soundstage that are potent, that gave my two Velodyne subwoofers a real workout. We are simultaneously immersed into the jungle environment; striking ambience gently surrounds the listener. Williams' iconic score, especially, is fulfilling with distinct instrumentation, spreading into the rears to create a satisfyingly immersive soundfield. Outstanding track! Excellently restored! (5/5)

The Temple of Doom:

I still remember vividly using the opening sequence of singing, dancing and bullets ringing off the large gong in different direction, as an audio demo in my first Kloss Projection System in the early 90s with the laser disc. Now, the sound is much improved, crystal clear and precise in location. The whole soundtrack comes alive with John Williams’ brilliant score. Dialogue is pitch-perfect and clear in the center while the rest of the soundstage exhibits a welcoming and broad image that's consistently active. Dynamics deliver precise clarity in the orchestration and the several action sequences with some impressive echoing which enhance the soundfield. (5/5)

The Last Crusade:

This soundtrack is almost perfect in its fullness, spacing, bass, and clarity. Musical delivery is typically stunning, whether fast-paced action notes or more gentle dramatic elements. Spacing is true, the surrounds are used to marvelous effect, and the clarity of every note through the entire range is perfect. (5/5)

The Kingdom of the Crystal Skull:

The original film was released in 2008 with Dolby True-HD. The new DTS-HD Master Audio soundtrack does not sound all that different than its Dolby TrueHD counterpart. The low-end, perhaps, feels a little deeper and throatier, providing the design with some impressive depth, but otherwise, this lossless mix is identical to the 2008 Blu-ray. (Note: in the days of lossy audio, I always prefer DTS over Dolby Digital). Dialogue is distinct and intelligible from beginning to end, and John Williams' memorable score spreads into the back with terrific fidelity and envelopment. Directionality is precise with discrete, flawless panning, generating a highly-enjoyable, demo-worthy lossless mix. (5/5)

5TH DISC: BONUS FEATURES:

A large chunk of the supplemental package is a reiteration of what was seen in previous DVD releases. They can all be found on the fifth disc, except for the trailers. The only things missing are storyboard comparisons, still galleries, a short featurette on the trilogy and the intros with Spielberg and Lucas. It should be noted that not all the Special Features from the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull (blu ray) were included here. So, I am glad that I have bought that disc, for completeness sake.

Two brand new high-def exclusives enter the supplemental package:
The Making of Raiders of the Lost Ark (SD 58 minutes)
On Set with Raiders of the Lost Ark (HD)

FINAL THOUGHTS:

When this set was first announced on Amazon.ca, it was initially called The Indiana Jones Collection for $69.99, which I preordered. Then, the title The Complete Indiana Jones Adventures came into existence. When I asked Amazon.ca whether both are the same, I was not given a proper satisfying answer. Finally, my Collection set merged and became the Complete Indiana Jones Adventures set. I was quite relieved. But currently, the title has reverted back to Indiana Jones Collection, instead of The Complete Adventure. God knows why? The price at one point went up to $74.99, but recently settled back down to $69.99.

This is an excellent box set (even though I bought the Kingdom of Crystal Skull already) with top-notched video/audio. All the movies are exciting and totally enjoyable to watch again, and they brought back many happy memories. This is the definitive edition for our beloved Doctor Jones, and is a must-own. George Lucas and Steven Spielberg are both geniuses, who made these movies so enjoyable, even with repeated viewing.

Indian Jones franchise is very successful, grossing over $1,995 million worldwide. But the most successful franchise belongs to Harry Potter ($7,681 million worldwide). But the surprise hit franchise of all belongs to the Ice Age franchise, which has grossed over $2,758 million worldwide. I am very grateful that almost all these great movies franchise are available on blu ray (e.g., Star Wars, Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter, Pirates of the Caribbean, Transformers, Aliens, including the upcoming Prometheus, and James Bond).

In summary, this Indiana Jones blu ray box set is very highly recommended, and a must-own.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 13, 2013
I am not rating the films here. You know them and the blu ray quality is excellent. The problem is the cardboard sleeve packaging. It is difficult to remove the movies from the sleeves without scratching the discs, which I am sorry to say, have done. I am rating this presentation one star as I am not impressed with having my expensive collection scratched each time I want to view a movie. Hope the industry fixes this problem.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon January 25, 2013
The first 3 Indiana Jones movies are simply awesome and each one builds off the other. Raiders Of The Lost Ark looks incredible in Blu-Ray, colors pop and the musical score and sound effects sound great.

Temple of Doom also looks and sounds better then ever, and seeing Sean Connery as Indiana's father in The Lost Crusade do his thing is a treat.

But then we have the festering turd polluting the awesome---and that would be Kingdom of the Crystal Turd, and this movie is just god awful. Shia never really clicks or feels right for the part he has to play, and Harrison Ford is just looking old and out of place here. Then they have the obviously fake Russian accent on the female villain and the whole inter-dimensional alien sub-plot and UGH... just basically ignore Kingdom.

As for the extras disc, you get a couple of good making of documentaries for Raiders, and individual documentaries for Temple, Last Crusade and yes, Kingdom.

All in all a good package, although the way the discs are packaged in the case leaves a lot to be desired---best to just remove the discs from the box and store them in a DVD/Blu-Ray binder.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse