countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout home All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
155
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$27.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

HALL OF FAMEon March 22, 2009
I remember "Pinocchio" as being the first Disney movie I ever saw, although a half-century later such memories might be suspect, although I am pretty sure that the main thing I remember walking out of the movie theater way back when was Monstro the Whale. My main impression this time was that the animation is rougher than I recalled. Of course this makes perfect sense, because this 1940 movie is the first full-length animated film that Disney released after "Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs," although the studio was working on "Bambi" at the same time. But in my mind I had the level of animation being more akin to what we see in "Cinderella." But compare the level of animation here with "Steamboat Willie," the first Mickey Mouse cartoon, and you can see the quantum leap that Disney had already taken in the field. When the American Film Institute did its "Ten Top Ten" lists, "Pinocchio" was number two on the list after "Snow White," a judgment that reflects the monumental historical importance of that first cartoon movie, because judged by creative standards "Pinocchio" is the superior film.

Watching "Pinocchio" again and going through all of the bonus features on this 70th anniversary Platinum Edition DVD served to reinforce the idea that Walt Disney was a genius, a fact that needs to be driven home to those generation of Disney fans who have been born after his death and do not remember him hosting "The Wonderful World of Disney" on Sunday nights. The two things that stood out to me where the fact that when Walt took that first big gamble with "Snow White" (critics the colors are too bright, they will hurt people's eyes to watch a cartoon that runs an hour), he already had his new two animated features in the pipeline, and that he insisted the songs in his movies move the story along. Both of those ideas are taken for granted today, but you have to put things in the context of the times. Walt Disney is the Moses who gets animation from "Gertie the Dinosaur" to the latest computer animated effort from the folks at Pixar. The mantle might have been passed, but let's not forget who the person responsible for the mantle.

Kids might like the Games & Activities included on the second disc in this set and may even recognize Meaghan Jette Martin, who sings the updated version of "When You Wish Upon a Star" in the requisite music video (Sorry, nothing tops Cliff Edwards as Jiminy Cricket singing that particular song). For me the attraction is all of the Bakcstage Disney materials, with the Never-Before-Seen Deleted Scens and Alternat Ending, the All-New "Making of 'Pinocchio'" featurette and the proverbial "Much, Much More!" From the start, these Platinum Editions from Disney have been designed to cater to those of us who want to be more than casual fans of these classic full-length cartoons. When they began putting these out the gold standard in DVD extras were the Criterion Collection films, but these Disney Platinum Editions routinely exceed those efforts. We would be happy just to have this film on DVD, but Disney is committed to preserving its legacy by treating these classic films like cinematic heirlooms. I have not seen a Disney Plantinum Edition that was not worth owning, and if for some reason you felt compelled to limit yourself to only five of them, then "Pinocchio" would have to be one of those five. Actually, I think if you only had one of them, this would be the one (although "
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2004
The TV Guide called this gem "arguably, the best animated feature of all time," that's a little hyped up if you ask me (but still, Pinocchio gets 4.5 rounded up to 5 stars from me). It has the best animation any cartoon studio has to offer (espcially for 1940), some of the best musical numbers, and INCREDIBLE voice talents! Cliff Edwards and Dickie Jones should have won themselves a couple of awards just for their voice work as Jiminey Cricket (Edwards) and Pinocchio (Jones), they both work PERFECTLY together.
The music and songs are one of the best things about "Pinocchio." Everytime I watch the DVD, I like turn on the subtitles and sing the songs with the characters (Hi Diddle Dee Dee and I've Got No Strings are my faves).
Some of the characters even remind me about people I know. When I was young, I could easily picture myself as Pinocchio. The "Lampwick" character reminds me a lot about the "hoodlum" classmates I go to school with (jackasses).
Pinocchio is a movie that ALL parents should watch with their children. The scene where Pinocchio gets locked in a cage by Stromboli (a greedy puppet master) demonstrates the unpleasent consequences for trusting strangers (Honest John and Giddy) that outsmart their "victims" with TEMPTATION. The "Donkey Transformation" scene is a very powerful (and frightening) sequence that gives an example about why you shouldn't be a destructive little brat (jackass).
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2001
The name Disney has always carried the stigma of wholesomeness, which all too often translates into fatuous and insipid "family entertainment," but the Pleasure Island segment of Pinocchio ranks among the supreme moments of horror in all of cinema - the loss of the self is so much more greusome than death. Worth having for that brilliant and ghastly scene alone.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2000
First of all, before any of you fine Amazon.com readers get the wrong idea about my mediocre 3 star rating, Pinocchio is and probably will always be the greatest animated film of all time. Calling Pinocchio a masterpiece is an understatement. I am writing this review on the basis of how fed up I am with the stupidity and greed that Disney has shown of late. Like so many of the 40+ reviewers have said, why was this classic thrown together with such little respect? The transfer to DVD does not improve upon the VHS version, in fact it actually looks downright fuzzy at times. And boy was I ticked off when the "making of Pinocchio" was not included on the DVD, but WAS on the VHS! What am I spending the extra dollars for? Like another reviewer said, Disney just wants the consumer to buy the next version with the extras included. They're no fools, they probably figure if they include the extras on the DVD now, no one will buy it again because DVDs don't wear out! It all comes down to the almighty dollar, right Disney? When Disney does include extras, like on A Bug's Life, they make you buy 2 DVDs! Has anyone at Disney noticed how many hours can be stored on a single DVD? Take Dreamworks for example, they produced a great film in the Prince of Egypt and loaded the DVD with a ton of extras. You don't mind paying a little extra for DVDs like the Prince of Egypt or The Iron Giant (another superb film). Wise up Disney, you won't be able to live on reputation for much longer if you continue trying to rip off the public. The competition is stiff, and darn good! I bet Walt must be turning over in his grave. I would love the folks at Disney to read this review.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 26, 2011
I received this item the very next day after ordering it. I was so pleased and couldn't beleive how fast I received it. Item is in great condition. Would definately recommend this seller.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2015
Do not order this film! It's in Korean with what looks to be amateur cover packaging. Not an authentic 1940 Pinocchio film from Disney. I should've known better to get it when there's no image available. That was a red flag. Unless you're Korean, do not get this! I tried to add of photo of the cover, but for whatever reason, I wasn't able to (amazon or my computer?)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2001
Good thing Pinocchio was not the 1st Disney Classic DVD that I bought (it's my 5th), because it would have completely overshadowed the other masterpieces that are in my DVD collection. Disney's 2nd film is a terrific viewing experience, in this 60th Anniversary THX Certified Limited Issue DVD. I hadn't seen Pinocchio in over a decade, so I was really looking forward to rediscovering the movie on the DVD format. Seeing it brought back a rush of great memories of the first times that I saw it, it was really nostalgic. The film is vibrant in it's great animation, and magical wonder that makes this movie appealing to any movie lover. Unfortunately, only Walt Disney could create such classics like this one. Yes, Disney has released some GREAT classics ("Lion King", "The Little Mermaid", "Beauty & The Beast") but they are not the same as the ones he worked on himself. The film also features one of the best: "When You Wish Upon A Star", a song that seems to have been inducted into American culture over the past 60 years.
The double Oscar winning Pinocchio remains one of Disney's greatest landmarks, and should be on the top of the list for those who want to collect these great films . Get this classic today!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2001
Walt Disney said that he considered "Snow White" to be his masterpiece. I hate to disagree with the master, but I think "Pinocchio" should have that honor. The story of a puppet trying to become a boy has a meaning that will be obvious to adults - try to be good and you will succeed despite incredible odds - but it is not "preachy" and kids love it!
Carlos Collodi's story of the puppet that becomes a boy has =never= been translated to film better. Everyone knows the story - a lonely puppeteer named Gepetto make a wish to have a son. The Blue Fairy hears his wish, and decides to grant it in an unusual fashion - she brings his most recent creation to life, and gives the -puppet- a chance to prove himself in order to become a boy. Pinocchio has many misadventures while learning life's lessons, but finally appears to give his "life" when saving his father from the monster whale, Monstro. The Blue Fairy returns and says that the ultimate sacrifice has earned him the ultimate prize - he becomes a real live boy!
Honored by the Academy Awards for Best Song ("Wish Upon A Star") and Best Score, this movie deserves every award in the book. There has never been more object lessons taught so easily. Don't lie. Be brave. Stay on the path to your goal. And not preachy, either. Jiminy Cricket has one of the most popular Disney songs ever - "When You Wish Upon a Star".
Pinocchio's troubles are still valid today. Pinocchio is tempted by fame and to "run away from your problems". Pinocchio is tempted by evil - becoming a donkey because he acts like one is still one of the most impression making scenes in Disney's history. Finally, his intelligence in triumphing over Monstro gives him the experience to prove himself worthy. Every family should own this Disney masterpiece.
The THX restoration of the video and sound makes this a real viewing experience - just as clear and clean as it might have been in the theaters in 1940.
The only disappointment I had is with the "extra" material on the DVD. Almost no extra material at all. It just includes the original theatrical trailer, and a French language track. Come on, Disney, give us more about Pinocchio! After seeing what was possible with the recent release of the "Platinum" edition of "Snow White", I can only hope that they will eventually turn their energies towards this film as well.
Highly recommended for families, especially families with young children. The "Gold Edition" of this DVD is now officially on moratorium - maybe after that we'll see the version we want!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2009
Disney a restauré ce classique de tous les temps à sa brillance. Les thèmes universels de l'amour, la famille, l'amitié et le bien contre le mal et de faire une éducation agréable. Oui, il ya des scènes assez effrayant et le mal est de montré pour ce qu'il est. Cependant, tout comme dans la plupart des contes de fées, le bien triomphe sur le mal à la fin.

La première partie du film est hilarant, le milieu est une aventure et la fin est une belle surprise pour les enfants. Il ya quelques articles politiquement incorrect, mais ils sont presque ironique et que vous avez à penser à quand ce film a été fait!

Si vous avez toujours souhaité sur une étoile, ou d'une étoile fillante, c'est pour vous! Je suis d'accord, c'est un chef-d'œuvre de l'animation .... différent de tout ce que vous trouverez aujourd'hui. Il est tellement détaillé et évolue à un rythme où il est agréable à regarder. C'est un film sérieux, contrairement à certains des plus rapide extravagances que vous voyez aujourd'hui.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2001
Disney has restored this all-time classic to its original brilliance. The universal themes of love, family, friendship and good vs. evil make this educational and enjoyable. Yes, there are some quite scary scenes and evil is shown for what it is. However, just as in most fairy tales, good triumphs over evil in the end.
The story is told by Jiminy Cricket and the start of the movie is peaceful. He arrives at Geppetto's home where there are music boxes, toys, amazing clocks and a puppet who is just "all strings and joints." Geppetto is just painting on the finishing touches before he heads off to bed. The "cutest" black and white cat named Figaro adds warmth and amusement to the story. The sassy fish Cleo is a visual delight.
As the woodcarver drifts off to sleep, he says: "Wouldn't it be nice if he was a real boy?" He then sends Figaro to open the window and sees a wishing star. He makes a wish and while he sleeps, the Blue Fairy brings the Marionette Pinocchio to life. He then must learn to have a conscience, so it is decided that Jiminy Cricket will be his guide so he will know what is good and what is evil.
Pinocchio begins his journey to become a "real boy," but first he has to learn to be brave, loyal and honest. He is kidnapped after he joins a traveling show so he can become a famous actor, but escapes with the help of the Blue Fairy. She is the most beautiful animated fairy I have ever seen. Pinocchio then must learn to survive on his own. He takes a trip to Pleasure Island. This is a place where children go and they are allowed to play and never work, but the sinister truth is that they are all changed into donkeys and end up being shipped off to the salt mines. While he seems to keep making the wrong choices, once he realizes he will be turned into a donkey (his ears and tail already have grown), he goes back home. (Not unlike the prodigal son in a way, yet he is so young.)
When he arrives home, he finds cobwebs and the house has been empty for some time. A note arrives that tells him where he can find his father, so he jumps into the ocean to find Monstro the whale, where his father, Geppetto is trapped. Once under the sea, things get a bit scary and the whale is quite evil, not unlike other creatures from the sea in Disney's movies. Will he find his father? I won't give the ending away.
This is about the magical power of believing in your dreams and also will teach children to be moral and choose the good in life. I have to wonder if some politicians forgot to watch this movie as children. It teaches that lying is wrong and that a lie keeps growing and growing once it is told.
There are messages that reading is good and education is something you should strive for. The illiterate Red Fox is hilarious as he tries to read the ABC book upside down! The fox tries to tell Pinocchio that education is not good for him. I also noticed that because Pinocchio could not read (because he didn't go to school!), he could not read the note about his father and therefore, Jiminy Cricket had to read it for him. See a similar scene in "Mulan" where the lucky cricket in that movie types out the letter like a typewritter, which is also a beautifully animated movie with snow scenes similar to the wave scenes in this classic. I could see many details in this animation which have carried over into other movies.
There are many messages for adults in this movie....I doubt children will pick up on (Note the song that talks about "There are no strings on me!." This seems to be talking about our responsibility to others.)
As an adult, you will find them amusing and thought provoking. I had to laugh when I heard the Cricket say: "What does an actor want with a conscience anyway." That hit the mark! I would like to see more actors develop a conscience.
One of my favorite quotes by Jiminy Cricket is: "A cricket can't be too careful you know." It is laugh out loud funny when he says it.
The first part of the movie is hilarious, the middle is a big adventure and the ending is a wonderful surprise for children. There are a few politically incorrect items, but they are almost tongue-in-cheek and you have to think about when this movie was made!
If you have ever wished upon a star, or a falling star, this is for you! I agree, this is a masterpiece of animation....unlike anything you will find today. It is so detailed and moves at a pace where it is comfortable to watch. This is a thoughtful movie, unlike some of the more fast paced extravaganzas you see today.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse