countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Pets All-New Kindle Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

2.7 out of 5 stars
17
2.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$28.80+ $3.49 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon January 4, 2011
Art Matters: The Art of Knowledge/The Knowledge of Art
Natural Law, Science, and the Social Construction of Reality

I loved the series. It was funny and serious and had great character interaction.
The movie brings some of the original cast and they are okay but the newcomers do not make it.

The character that gives out the assignments doesn't work at all. The writers tried to update the context and had him into all kinds of finance which did not work, but he also screwed up the assignments.
Some of the screw ups could have led to some screw ball comedy but the writing and acting was too flat and those scenes just ended up dead, sometimes not like like the characters

There was a kind of romantic sub plot with a dying person but that was also flat.

In short, a disappointment.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2010
I nearly died watching this. From pain. DLM is one of my favourite series of all time, and every character did everything wrong, wrong, wrong. Everything I wanted to like about this movie I hated. The dialogue was awful, and like other reviewers said, they broke all the rules. All of them. =/ Anyways, good actors, minus the newly cast Daisy, who was absolutely terrible for the part. I would have liked the movie more if it had been more of a new movie versus a rehash of all the old jokes and idiosyncrasies of the series. Waste of money.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2009
I really liked the Television series. It was offbeat and fun. Quirky and entertaining. This movie is NONE of those things. It is just plain terrible. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone. Big thumbs down on this one.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2009
I thoroughly enjoyed the series, and eagerly awaited the direct-to-DVD movie. Alas, after watching it with my family, we all felt disappointed. The movie lacks the humor and character development of the series; the situations are too predictable. A watch-once. That being said, it was good to see a few loose ends tied up.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2009
I loved seasons 1 & 2, but this movie is terrible and a disgrace! I watched it last night and it is now in my garbage can! The script is mindless. The foul language was frequent and inappropriate. The actors must have been desperate for money to portray this pathetic script. Using a different actress to play Daisy was ridiculous.
Rent this movie or wait for it to appear in the 99 cent bin at Walmart which should be soon!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2009
Dead Like Me: The Movie stays true to the themes and heart of the original series. The majority of the major characters/actors return including George. Like the television series, this movie is a deftly created combination of wry dark humour and reflections on what it means to truly live-even if you're dead. George, while still struggling with an inherently self-destructive nature, has matured...a little. Poignantly, so has her little sister who has her own life-shaping events in this film.
There really is only one thing wrong with this film-it leaves the viewer desperate for more!!!!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2013
Neither Mandy Patinkin nor Laura Harris return for the movie, to it's detriment. Patinkin's character Rube is not in it at all; Harris's character Daisy Adair is played for laughs by another actress who does not have Harris's panache at all. It wraps up a few loose ends from the series (which was cut short way too soon), and that's not a bad thing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2009
You need to see Dead Like Me. The TV show. You never, ever need to see this movie.
Rube is gone, Daisy might as well be, and Mason and Roxy's characters have completely lost their original personalities. It violates the rules of the show, and the small portion of the film that almost worked (George and Reggie's encounters) was marred by iffy dialog.
My instructions: Buy the complete collection, and, upon receiving it, destroy this film, and enjoy the original, enjoyable series.
When the "theme" played in the final moments of the film, I was shaking my head, disgusted that it was even used in this poor reproduction of what used to be truly great.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2014
If you buy this movie expecting it to be as good as the tv show,then I fear you will be horribly disappointed.Too many original cast members missing and it was poorly written and directed.I wish this show hadn't been cancelled.Seems to happen with most great shows.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2009
I was SOOOO excited for this movie, even though it didn't have all of the original cast. Wow, was I ever disappointed! It wasn't funny, or really all that interesting. The only redeeming point was that Reggie and Georgia finally talk. The rest was boring, and went by too fast without really stopping to develop the changes. If it were a mini-series it may have worked better, but there was too much to change all at once, and the director really did screw it up. He said he wanted it to not be as funny, and for it to be more sentimental (the opposite of the original series, what people liked). You can tell in the interviews with the cast that they are lying through their teeth about the movie, and I felt bad watching them have to do that.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse