countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Home All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
33
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$26.83+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 12, 2009
These 6 videos definitely have a Planet Earth feel to them, and to be honest, my girlfriend and I may even like these a little more than the Planet Earth series. The images may not be quite as striking and amazing, but they are still incredible... what we like better is that these videos follow one theme throughout the entire 50 minute episode, rather than jump all over the place like Planet Earth does. Also, each episode has an additional 10 minute "diary", which shows how the shots were captured.

Some people on other review sights complained that these are only 1080i instead of 1080p... I for one would have never known had I not read about it. The images are still amazing and are still HD to me.

Not everyone will like these videos better than Planet Earth, but if you liked those videos, you surely won't be disappointed with these ones.
0Comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon November 25, 2009
The photography in this series is astounding, and further enhanced by some very scenic locations. It's a great 6-part series, and the Diaries footage is a bonus, so I highly recommend it. But also, there's a set-up feature that some may find worthwhile. Though not mentioned on the packaging, the first disc includes a high-def system set-up function (which acts as a 13 part calibration test) and is probably as good as any separate blu-ray calibration disc. I find the inclusion of this feature a bonus, but a bit ironic, given that the series itself plays at 1080i (with no distinguishing blu light from the player), but the system set-up guide is 1080p (with a blu light on the player). The program is still great viewing, so in case you were interested in this series and were also thinking about a blu-ray calibration disc, try this first, it might be all you need.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2010
The only reason I didn't give this 5 stars is because of something I noticed during "The Great Salmon Run" episode; ugly vertical lines. It seems that some of the video clips might have been used from separate/other sources, specifically the slow motion shots of the bald eagles catching salmon, and some slow motion shots of the bears. At first I thought there was something wrong with my new tv/playstation 3 setup...but after a little Google searching I found a couple other people noticing the same issue with the vertical lines on this particular blu-ray disc, and specifically during the salmon run episode. However, I think this is one of my favorite episodes in the series, so I can easily get over a couple shots with lines through them.

In short, just in case anyone else comes across this issue, it is not your tv or player...it is just the video on the blu-ray disc. I have never noticed this issue with anything else I play. Hopefully someone with the same problem will read this review.

On a more positive note, overall I love this series! It is very similar to Planet Earth, but most of the amazing events are based on the migration of many species and the changing of the seasons in different locations around the globe. There are some really amazing shots and really amazing events, definitely worth getting this blu-ray.

One of the best features of this series is the Diaries, which can sometimes be more intriguing than the amazing events themselves! The Diaries for the salmon run and the great feast are amazing. The camera crews are really quite privileged to do the things they do. I almost think BBC should release a series devoted to documenting their camera crews. It's just incredible, some of the things they go through.

Another bonus, as mentioned in other reviews, is the calibration walk-through included on the first disc. If you haven't done anything like this with your tv, do it before you watch this! It really makes a difference...and remember to disable any special "enhancement" settings your tv might have, like "enhanced contrast" or "super white" or anything along those lines. Any video released on blu-ray wasn't intended to be viewed with all these enhancements and is calibrated for performance without any special extra treatment.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 22, 2012
This 6 episode set is amazing to say the least. Boasting all new footage with many close ups in each episode, leaves one in awe. I actually prefer it over The Planet Earth for that reason. The HD (1080) quality is consistent through the entire series with no grainy or poor focus shots, which were prevalent in the Planet Earth series. Included with each episode is a 10 min feature (Diaries) on the filming of. Another bonus, as mentioned in other reviews here, is the calibration walk-through included on the first disc. It doesn't really measure up to the "Spears and Munsil" one I've already done, but for those who haven't, it's better than not. And picking this upon Amazon for only 22.99 is the icing on the cake. You can't afford not to, and you definitely won't be disappointed. 5 Big Stars!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2010
This is one of the most informative DVD series that I have seen. A must for those that want to understand the processes of how energy flows through an ecosystem. The graphics as well as the narative voice of you know who,(David Attenborough) make this a wonderful teaching tool, that will be used again and again in my classroom for examples of adaptation to natural selection as well as energy flow in ecosystems. A definite winner for those that require visuals for learning.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2010
In this DVD you will be inspired by The Great Salmon Run and the journey of the salmon to spawn. You will also be moved by the delicate balance of the wildlife in Africa waiting desperately for the rains to come. There is so much more to this including how whales hunt for shrimp, how dolphins, sea birds, whales and other sea life gather for one of the biggest feasts on the planet.

If you like Planet Earth you will love this!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2012
As good or better filming than Planet Earth. All 6 parts are as Amazing as the title suggests. I like how they end each segment with a short feature on how the filming was done. It shows how painstaking and patient the photographers has to be to get such shots. Well worth adding to your collection. We will watch these over and over.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2012
Bought this for my wife at the same time as "Frozen Planet"; I didn't know anything about it but figured it was BBC so it should be good. We've all been enjoying it and I think it's the most watched BBC series here in my house. Some of the cinematography is so amazing, you'll want to watch it over and over.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2010
What a Amazing DVD Highly recommended.The Photography is spectacular and some of the views are unbelievable.
The narration and behind the scene extras,is very information and video spectacular to see. I would put in league with Life and Planet Earth.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2015
Great, but if you watched Planet Earth then bought this as I did, you may get angry. Lots of reused footage from Planet Earth, and not at the quality of many other BBC nature documentaries, and not in any way even comparable to planet earth in terms of awesomeness. (This is not exactly scathing criticism, planet earth was one of a kind.)

Overall, buy it but don't get too excited for it, and try to put as much distance between watching Planet Earth and this as possible
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse