countdown boutiques-francophones Beauty Furniture Kindle Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 17, 2014
Clint Eastwood knows how to make a movie and act in a movie. I love all of his stuff and think he is great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2017
Excellent!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2004
Although Clint Eastwood gained his greatest critical acclaim as a director for 1992's "Unforgiven" and 2003's "Mystic River" -- both of which are incredible pieces of American cinema -- his best film remains this perennially popular Western from 1976. Here's Eastwood's own take on it: "I do believe that if I'd made that picture in 1992, in place of 'Unforgiven,' it might have received the same amount of attention, because I think it's equally as good a film. I think the subject matter of 'Josey Wales' is timeless." Orson Welles himself named it one of his favorite movies!
Yet critics at the time completely dismissed it as just another Clint Eastwood Western-Revenge flick. On the surface, the plot might give you that illusion: Missouri farmer Josey Wales loses his family to marauding Union cutthroats during the civil war. In retaliation, he joins Qunatrill's raiders in the guerrilla warfare that flames across Missouri. When the war ends, Wales refuses to surrender. He flies west across the country, chased by his former leader Fletcher (John Vernon in a great, sympathetic performance) and Terrill, the Union captain who murdered his family (Eastwood regular Bill McKinney). It seems Wales has no future except to stay alive long enough to get his revenge.
But...that's not at all what movie ends up being about. Gradually, Wales finds himself at the center of a growing community of outcasts from many different backgrounds: an old Cherokee named Lone Watie (Chief Dan George, in the film's most unforgettable performance), a band of Northern settlers (including Sondra Locke in her first role with Clint), a girl from another Native American tribe, the residents of a dying Texas town, and a red bone hound. Gradually, "The Outlaw Josey Wales" turns into a story about forgetting revenge and a fixation on death, and instead about embracing life and rebuilding a community. "Dying is easy for men like you and me," Wales says to a Comanche chief (Will Sampson) in one scene. "It's living that's hard." It's one of the most unexpectedly uplifting and moving films ever made. And, let's make no mistake about it, it's also an action-packed, tough, and exciting film.
Strangely, the film came out of extremely difficult circumstances and rough beginnings. Eastwood purchased the rights to Forrest Carter's novel "Gone to Texas," only to discover that the author was actually Asa (Ace) Carter, who had worked as a speech writer for George Wallace supporting racial segregation and had once created a subgroup of the Ku Klux Klan. Upon meeting Carter, Eastwood and his producer Robert Daley found the man to be a borderline sociopath (he drew a knife on one of Daley's secretaries at a restaurant). Regardless, Eastwood loved the beautiful story too much and pushed on with making the film. He hired Philip Kaufman to both write and direct the movie, now re-named "The Outlaw Josey Wales." Kaufman (along with Sonia Chernus) wrote a stunning script, but after only a few days on the set, it became obvious he wasn't working out as a director; his style clashed with Eastwood's. Eastwood quietly removed him as director and took over the job himself. As Eastwood's biographer notes, "Kaufman was to a degree the victim of Clint's growing confidence in his own abilities."
Despite this confused beginning, "The Outlaw Josey Wales" turned into a magical piece of Western cinema and a huge hit with audiences. It gets better and better with each viewing: a thrilling adventure when you first see it, its many layers of beautiful subtlety emerge each time you go back to it. Bruce Surtees's photography is astonishing, Jerry Fielding's music exciting and unusual for a Western, and every performance top-notch. Few films are as all-around well done as this American classic.
The DVD offers the film in a glorious widescreen transfer with a new 5.1 sound mix, but there are no extras. Considering the history behind the making of the film, this disc really ought to sport some fascinating commentaries and documentaries, but alas, nothing. Still, I can recommend few films higher than "The Outlaw Josey Wales."
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2017
Just thrilled with this item!!! Thanks again for coming up with another great product! This product looks simple and comfortable, the color is my favorite, I ordered two attached gave my friend, do not miss it.
These are pretty cool and very handy! Works like crazy Good product. Other places are selling for double the price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2017
so pleased I bought another So these are not what I was expecting...but I love them!!. I was pleasantly surprise by how much I loved this.. I will be buying more!! After using it around one week, I have to say Excellent. Super product and easy to work with I think Perhaps I need one more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2011
Hi Guys,
I bought The Outlaw Josey Wales blu-ray from amazon canada during the Postal industrial action,so my delivery was a bit late,nobody,s fault,jeez was it worth waiting for.I,m not going to give a review of the film itself,everybody know,s Josey Wales,one of thee very best western,s ever,great entertainment,IMO.
The blu-ray transfer is nothing short of MAGNIFICENT!!!!!!!! Picture Quality AND Audio,Josey Wales on blu-ray is a sight to see,absolutely stunning,HIGHLY RECOMMENDED,it,s almost a reference disc for the blu-ray format,Warners have done a brilliant job with this transfer,now lets go for Jeremiah Johnson!!!!
The Outlaw Josey Wales blu-ray is a MUST-BUY!!!!!!!
Thanks Warners,
Davy Cairns,Scotland.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2017
nice item that works as advertised it has a good cost performance. Can't beat it for the price Decent quality for the price From what I received the goods now use without any problems, everything as I expected, like, size is also very appropriate.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2017
I am definitely going to order more Very well made. Good deal! good price also I definitely recommend this item. this is my second purchase, and I will surely purchase again!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2017
I highly recommend and at such a great valued price. gets the job done Very easy to use! it's so useful Five Stars Enjoying the product as I write this. Thanks for quick service!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2010
Native Americans portrayed, by native Americans and a great Canadian, Chief Dan George, as people with depth; violence, war, betrayal, humour, suspense, love, and brotherhood; the West in all its dirty/gritty and beautiful landscape, and plain-board dirt-street towns; Josey Wales the Eastwood dead-eye avenger but, this time, with a history and a heart. What's not to admire? Should sit on a DVD library shelf next to "Stagecoach", "The Shootist" "Lonesome Dove" and a few other great movies set in the West. The Outlaw Josey Wales (Full Screen)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse