countdown boutiques-francophones Beauty Furniture Kindle sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
34
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$42.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 19, 2017
Delivered on time. They are much prettier than I expected. so practical and worth it nice item that works as advertised I can't believe, can buy to the economical and applicabI expect commodity in time to the logistics very quickly, I hope I will always use it, this is a worthy purchase.le products here, this is a pleasant shopping.

really well made and easy to put together
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2004
Just before "Ran," Kurosawa got American funding for this movie about a "shadow warrior" who was assigned to impersonate Takeda Shingen should he die. This was to keep the Takeda clan's border secure and prevent enemies (of which Takeda had many) from invading. It is a wonderful film, and has two very strong points: the visuals, and the characters.
The strong visuals should be obvious - an Akira Kurosawa film with no strong visuals is like a Monet painting with poor use of color. The battle scenes are stunning and seem to come out of a nightmare, with rifleman shooting down on soldiers with a bright light flashing behind them. The colored armor of Takeda's men were also nicely picked and, as Kurosawa would later do with "Ran", give their presense a hauntingly beautiful yet horrifying tone. The final scene at the Battle of Nagashino (which was wrongfully nitpicked in Stephen Turnbull's Osprey book of the battle) chooses to show us only the aftermath of the battle, with shots of cavalry charging to the gunners and then cutting to the horrified expressions of those who watch the unfolding massacre of Japan's greatest army. The shot of the fields of dead is some thing that could only have come out of the nightmare of war.
I think the strongest part of the film, though, were the characters. The film has a slew of fascinating characters, from Takeda's generals (each with their own personality) right down to the rifleman who shot Takeda. Even the spies from Oda and Tokugawa interact and talk like real people, and I can't think of any one in this film I easily forget. I especially liked Oda Nobunaga, and I think this film has the best portrayal I've ever seen of him. He can be seen walking out with his army and stopping briefly to listen to a Christian priest give a prayer. There is another part where he rides around on an Arab horse, followed by a scene where he offers Tokugawa Ieyasu a glass of Western wine (poor Tokugawa chokes on it!).
The best character is, of course, the shadow warrior himself. The actor did a wonderful job of playing Takeda and the imposter, and even though being a common thief that nearly quits his job in the beginning, you find yourself growing to like him. The scene where he confesses to the concubines he is an imposter, knowing they'll take it as a joke, and then winks at a general was hilarious! Also, notice in the scene where a retainer describes to Takeda's nephew what the meaning of the clan flag is...the imposter is listening just as intently as the boy is! He also comes out strong in the second-to-last battle sequence, where he watches as men fight and die for a man they strongly admire. The final Kurosawa metaphor at the end (which I won't describe because its a serious spoiler) also gives the whole point of the story. The man tried to undertake a role that was perhaps too big for him, a role only one man could really play.
Overall, I was very impressed with this movie, and I would definately recommend it as viewing for those fans of the master of film himself. I hope soon a DVD will be released of it and I will be able to add it to my growing Akira Kurosawa DVD set. In the meantime, I happily own a video copy for viewing.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2017
These are lovely!! This has been a good thing all the time, and I've used it for some time and it's just as good as the first one. I'm now thinking of all the ways to use these awesome products amazing product , amazing service , amazing item, Unbelievable quality I can not wait to use.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2017
Seemed like a great idea! Glad I ordered the product good replacement for the original This product is very good material and excellent design, as well as the evaluation and quality on the market, I feel very good.

Its design makes me very comfortable to use. Everything that I expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2017
Product is as advertised works well Perfect Gift Ideas! work great and attractive The item is really great. you won;t be regret. Excellent quality product and super fast shipping! Great product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2002
When Kurosawa made this film he was 70 years old and it stands without question as one of his best films. What makes it so powerful is the portrayal of the perfect fusion of the warrior's emotional intensity with intellectual acuity. Both emotion and intellect are focused solely, in this film, on enemy warlords outwitting each other and that focus is so strong that it more than carries the film through its 2 1/2 hour length.
In fact, so strong is the focus that the hapless title character (the shadow warrior)--a common thief who is a perfect lookalike for a mighty warlord, who recruits the thief and is then used by the warlord's retainers as a stand-in after the warlord's death--himself ultimately takes on the psychology of a warrior. And this is true even after he is dismissed from service, after the ordained three years of his deception as the warlord have passed.
Nowhere else in film has the psychology of the warrior been portrayed so sharply, with so much focus, with so much depth--not even in other Kurosawa films, although Seven Samurai is the sine qua non of samurai films. Yet here, in Kagemusha, we see the workings of the minds on both sides, whereas Seven Samurai's power comes from its depiction of how samurais use their intelligence to fight and outwit a completely insubstantial enemy--that is, the bandits, who are never shown up close or presented as anything other than marauding forces.
Kagemusha will never be equalled in its portrayal of the intensity of the warrior spirit. Add to that the astounding vision of a filmmaker who knows more than any other how, where, and why a battle scene's power is derived. As well, there is perfect production design, costuming, and set pieces. There is the obvious attention to detail in capturing the entire world of feudal Japan. All of these together make for a film so riveting, so well done, it is impossible to say anything bad about the film. It just can't be done.
This is a must see for all serious students of film, and for all those who love a great adventure, and for all those who just flat out love movies.
It's perfect.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2002
This movie is based on three people 1. Takeda Shingen (Born 1521 - Died 1573),2.Oda Nobunaga (Born 1531 - Died 1582),and 3.Tokugawa Ieyasu (Born 1542 - Died 1616). The movie is set in 16th century Japan (Sengoku Era),Oda Nobunaga rules 'Kyoto' (Yamashiro Province) the throne of Japan,'Kyoto' orders Takeda Shingen to march to Kyoto to liberate the throne from the tyrant Oda Nobunaga. Oda Nobunaga who with 3,000 men defeated Imagawa Yoshimoto's 40,000 men in the battle of Okehazama in 1560 is seen as invincible and ronin warriors start to flock to his banner. In 1573,Oda Nobunaga's army grows from 3,000 to 50,000 men with Takeda Shingen's army at 30,000 men,Takeda Shingen's army beats off Oda Nobunaga's army effortlessly with ease on the road to Kyoto.Oda Nobunaga becomes panick stricken and tries to call a peace with the throne in Kyoto,while Oda Nobunaga helplessly watches his armies destroyed one after another. Tokugawa Ieyasu (an allie of Oda Nobunaga) entrenches himself at Hamamatsu Castle,and launches a calvery of 12,000 against Takeda Shingen's 30,000 men at 'Mikatagahara'(December 22,1573). Tokugawa Ieyasu loses 3,000 men,Takeda Shingen loses 300 men that day. Tokugawa Ieyasu's army runs back like whipped dogs back to the safety of Hamamatsu,watching helplessly as Takeda Shingen's army passes on by to the road to Kyoto. By a quirk of fate Takeda Shingen is shot by a sniper and dies later of lead poison,the Takeda clan keeps his death a secret for three years,meanwhile,Oda Nobunaga wonders why Takeda Shingen has laggard his attack not knowing Takeda Shingen died three years ago.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2002
If Akira Kurosawa had not made Ran, Kagemusha would probably have been considered his last great film. However, not only is Ran so incredibly good - one of Kurosawa's best, if not one of the best films of all time - it also deals with the same time period and uses some of the same techniques and actors as Kagemusha, but all in a better and more sophisticated way.
But I digress. Kagemusha is based upon a real story in 16th century Japan about a clan whose leader had a double or shadow warrior ('Kagemusha') and which was wiped out in a battle with another clan. Kurosawa focuses on the double and his attempts at acting as Lord Shingen for three years: both the original Lord and the double are played by Tatsuya Nakadai ('Yojimbo,' 'Ran') in a masterful performance.
Indeed, the double's experience as the Lord is really the heart of the film, not the battles or clan rivalries per se. As in many Kurosawa films, class plays a subtle yet important role: the double was a thief who now must impersonate a Lord, and ironies abound thoughout the film (but especially at the end) about the way the double is in many ways more noble than the original Lord. Besides class there is another subtext to the film, namely the construction of identity itself: in perhaps the best scene of the film, the double has a very scary dream near the end where he is confronted with the original Lord - perfectly embodying the double's doubts about his own identity.
As for the basics of the film, the viewer can hardly be dissapointed. The cinematography was spectacular - the battle scenes of course, but also many beautifully constructed scenes near or on the sea as well. Kurosawa's use of traditional Japanese instruments, especially the drum in the final battle scene is awesome, and the costumes and art direction were outstanding.
The only serious fault with Kagemusha is its length: it could have been cut by a good 20 minutes and not lost anything. Yet that is really the only criticism I have here - all the rest is great. See it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2016
Even though visually stunning and has a very interesting plot, somehow I can't bring myself to "imagine" a massive final battle scene where the opposing armies are shown to charge and to defend the line "separately".
There is no combat shown whatsoever, just the aftermath of the "epic" struggle.
I think if I have to imagine a battle, I might as well read a book. Films are supposed to show something and not leave everything to the viewer's imagination, that is not to say one should glorify battle scenes and show flying limbs and heads indiscriminately as in so many current movies.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2010
This double-dvd shows you the genious and passion of Akira Kirasawa on Disc 2. I suggest viewing the second disc before watching the movie. It will enhance your appreciation for the movie as 'art'. Kirasawa the 'painter'and artist (visionary)can be seen on Disc 2. Then while watching the movie you will see his paintings come to life. One learns a little something of the creative proccess of creating a great movie by so doing . JR
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse