countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more scflyout Furniture All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
168
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$26.77+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 13, 2013
Of course you all realize that, when all of the actors portraying our favorite crew will age into the original series character's age, they will not at all look the same. They already don't. So when your sons - or grandsons, as none of us are getting any younger - asks the embarassing question: 'Dad, why do these same persons with the same names and at the same age look entirely different from one another?' You will have to fumble an answer like: 'Well, son, a totally senile pointed-ear character chose to travel back in time and create a different timeline in which, for starters, planets Vulcan and Romulus have been annihilated.' That's right, folks, everything from the first timeline, of which you bought all the DVDs, has been irrevocably eradicated. (Of course now you have to consider giving away all of those now-obsolete DVDs to some carefree young nephew in the hope of turning him into a young first-timeline trekkie... good luck!) Furthermore, it clearly appears that in that second timeline, time itself moves at an incredibly accelerated rate. We could easily call it the dynamite timeline. It is a much more thunderous universe in which exploding events ceaselessly cascade into one another. No time for idle recollection here, folks. And not too much depth either. Not a hint of resemblance whatsoever with the very first movie, 'Star Trek The Motionless Picture' of the old, verging on ancient, timeline. Look out for a new, exciting, faster-than-a-commercial Star Trek movie every two years.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2016
A thrill a minute re-imagining of the classic characters - the new Star Trek features an alternate timeline allowing JJ Abrams a sense of freedom from just retelling the same old stories again. JJ pulls this off while staying true to a general history of the series, along with the usual staples of a seemingly unstoppable villain, conflicted heroes, personal sacrifice, and ultimate triumph. Improved technology makes this a visual masterpiece, an all around enjoyable film to watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2015
I watched the original series on TV in the 60s, and this does it justice and more! I love both the new version and its sequel. Highly recommended, even if you're not a trekie! Good balance of humour, action, drama, special effects, and references to the original series. The acting is enthusiastic and convincing. Excellent script writing and characterisation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2013
Although I feel some parts of the movie were a little f'ed IMO, mostly when it came to young Spock's personality, plus how everyone just let Spock beat on Kirk (mirroring todays society lol) and then everyone being fine with Kirk being captain all over again and completely switching battle plans, young vulcans who have not gone through puberty yet have been trained to control emotions already YET insult each other ridiculously..., having a complete cadet crew on a flagship vessel, etc etc etc...
The movie was still super badass, I've watched it 3 times and i would still watch it again =D
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2013
I was excited and waiting for this Blu-Ray of Star-Trek to arrive,but man was i
disappointed about the sound quality,let me state nothing wrong with movie at all,
i also have the DVD and that's a way better sound,i can't believe they would be so
dumb to do this to such a great movie,it's not even in H.D Master Audio just 5.1 true H.D.
i've never seen Captain Kirk got the heck kicked out of him so much,i hope he kick
some butt in,Star Trek Into darkness,Chris Pine is so good but i have to say,Zachary Quinto
of Heroes,steal the show for me..and i heard Benedict Cumberbatch is a very good villain,
so it should make for a good, [into darkness]..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2016
A ripping yarn. Great hope for the further of this amazing franchise. Fantastic cast, particularly Kirk, Spock and Bones. Sulu..Not so shut. Uhuru - lovely, but not yet fully developed - well, early days.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2015
I am not a Trekker/Trekkie but really enjoyed this movie!
One side thought, though .. I know Kirk sleeps with/has sex with just about every species but are we to assume they all have the same female anatomy as humans do? :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2012
While I could wish for more captured from William Shatner's Captain Kirk portrayal in the current one, finding the jump to the new portrayal hard to make; I watch this film for the great storyline, superb acting and lovely visuals. It's a refreshing breath of fresh air and frankly Zachary Quinto as Spock carries the film. The whole cast really does an excellent job. Other favorites would be Karl Urban as Bones and Zoe Saldana as Uhura. There's much to enjoy in multiple watchings of this film. To me Kirk's portrayal is the weak link in an otherwise tightly knit, exciting film but hey, it's not my interpretation is it? Well worth buying as I will watch it many times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2014
The cast did fantastic as the characters. Hilarity was injected into the movie the way they used to do on the original series. It's great to go back to their early days and have so much more Star Trek to look forward to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2013
think the reboot is awesome. The new actors are super at portraying the old actors. The story line is good. Nice to see some of the back ground of Kirk and Spock that wasn't in any of the other movies or series. Went to see the new movie last night. I thought the first was better anyway not everyone will agree. There are no extras with this disc. I bought this version because of the price and I never look at the special features anyway.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$48.47
$19.88

Need customer service? Click here