countdown boutiques-francophones Beauty Furniture Kindle sports Tools

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 11, 2017
suis un fan fini de Jodie Foster et avait visionner auparavant en dvd et maintenant en blu ray absolument a se procurer et a redecouvrir
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2017
A favorite movie of mine at a good price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2016
love this movie, excellent quality
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2000
Contact is the most satisfying science fiction movie I have ever seen. It avoids the pitfalls of being a shoot 'em up like Starship Troopers, or being coldly intellectual like 2001. It is also one of those rare movies that gives the scientific aspect of the script proper respect, without being pedantic or sacrificing character developement.
For me, what makes the movie work is the versimilitude with which the story is handled. Using CNN reporters, celebrities, and even President Clinton, the story comes off as very realistic. (Clinton was said to be offended to have had his image used in this movie. He should have been honored that Contact presented him in such a positive light, considering how his administration has gutted the space program.) Certain details from the book would have made the ending a but less ambiguous--i.e the fact that sand was found in the pod seemed to indicate that Ellie really did visit another world. Apparently, the producers wanted to keep the ending more ambigious, which is understandable, since one of the themes of the film is faith. Ellie's lack of faith in organized religion ironically comes back to haunt her when she realizes that for people to believe her journey actually took place, they must accept her statement--on faith. (Incidentally, the book makes clear that Ellie is not an Athiest, but rather an open-minded Agnostic.)
This is one of the few films in this genre to have truly first class acting. Foster does her usual excellent job, as do the supporting players, especially Tom Skeritt.
The visual effects in this film are in a class of their own, and they are placed at the service of the story.
This is one of the first DVDs I purchased, and it remains my demo-disc. Warner has simply packed it with extras, inclusing three commentary tracks and a French translation. There are also extra materials explaining how the visual effects were achieved and how the Machine was designed.
This is a DVD everyone should have!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2002
This movie is tremendous, visually, aesthetically, conceptually. It blends the whole spirituality/science thing with amazing dexterity. Both fields seek meaning in this life and both ultimately end in a mystery. So too this movie. Jodie Foster is brilliant as a scientist who longs for meaning even in the midst of her scientific endeavors. This movie is big all the way around. Rather than highbrow entertainment we are drawn to the characters and really feel the character Jodie Foster portrays.
My only criticism is the pseudo-religious character played by Matthew McConaughey which is a more sterilized version of presenting the religious element. But the religious element is necessary to make the whole thing work or it becomes just another sci-fi flick. Perhaps in places the movie is a bit over the top but in the end it works.
Visually the film is remarkable. It is not overladen with special effect but the special effects that are present are dynamite. The best thing about the movie is that the observer is not a bystander but is required to engage the film and enter in. This isn't mystical hocus pocus but the signs of a really good movie.
Well worth watching. Even more than once.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2004
One of my favorite subjects as I was growing up and into my early 20s, was backyard skywatching and astronomy. I believe this movie accurately portrays the emotional aspects of science in general and astronomy in particular: the sense of awe and beauty when confronted with infinity, and the sense of lonliness felt by everyone with an idealistic passion.
If you have ever read Carl Sagan's books, you'll see that this movie touches upon the usual staples of a Carl Sagan read: the foundation of religion vs. the foundation of science, the mutual misunderstanding and struggle between those governed by curious optimism versus those governed by primal fear, and a demonstration of the dangers of a world that depends on science which is filled with so many people who do not understand it.
Some have argued that they find Contact to be "preachy." I don't really see much of a foundation in that assessment of the movie. Just like in real life, the ultimate philosophical answers are left wide open at the end of this movie, leaving it open to many different interpretations. And I think it's refreshing to see a movie that doesn't follow the contemporary pattern of avoiding any serious discussion about morality and philosophy. These are some of the conversations the human race will be forced to have with itself if we want to survive the coming centuries. Recent events since this movie was released and Carl Sagan's death only accentuate the importance of facing this fact.
I love this movie. From the beautiful computer-generated opening sequence, through the middle sequences detailing the main character's relentless and passionate quest for scientific knowledge and exploration, to the adventurous surreal climax, I felt that I had a personal connection with almost every aspect of this movie.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2000
Bear with me.
A young girl is encouraged by her widower father to explore the world and beyond; soon left orphaned, she turns inward and relentlessly pursues the signs for intelligent life in the universe, only to be thwarted at every turn by an evil nemesis and yet be assisted by a mysterious shadowy figure with the power to make his machinations stick. Add to this a love story between our driven scientist and a fallen yet equally driven spiritualist and you have all the making of a mass of hokum that in lesser hands would go downhill faster than a Radio Flyer on Mount Everest.
However, we are in the hands of Robert Zemeckis (Forrest Gump, Who Framed Roger Rabbit, Back To The Future) who masterfully weaves the framework drafted by Carl Sagan into a marvelous tapestry.
Jodie Foster is Ellie Arroway, the driven scientist who needs empirical evidence for anything to exist in her world. She's part of a SETI (Search for Extra-Terrestrial Intelligence) group about to have their funding pulled by Dr. David Drumland (Tom Skeritt), who at the film's open is the director of the National Science Foundation. Arroway's childhood traumas and fascinations have fused to turn her into this driven force; she is a woman with a vision and she is not easily deterred. Ellie briefly becomes involved with Palmer Joss (Matthew McConaughey), a man who nearly became a priest, but who admits that celebacy was a problem for him, which makes him no less devout as a messenger for God's word.
What evolves is a story that explores the relationship between society, science, and religion. Its characters, which could easily fall cartoonish in the wrong hands, are well-drawn and expertly directed by Zemeckis, who had some prior experience with 'toons and apparently was aware what to watch out for.
Lest you think my opening was a criticism of Carl Sagan and Ann Dryan's screen story, it was not. Sagan and Dryan provided a good story structure for screenwriters James Hart and Michael Goldenberg to build on. Zemeckis, aided by Alan Silvestri's music, keeps it all in tune and doesn't provide us with pat answers, and yet keeps us interested.
One of the more endearing qualities of this film is its true-to-life representation of what would happen in America should what happens to Ellie happens to us. From beginning to end, every part of her experience rang true.
So, for a thoughtful way to spend 2½ hours, rent or purchase this film. You'll enjoy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2004
Carl Sagan's phenomenal novel "Contact" was served justice. In this dramatic "Sci-Fi" movie, the lead character, Dr. Arroway (Jodi Foster) is presented with the penultimate challenge of pitting scientific logic and the essential human importance of religious faith in a God/higher power to live a life of meaning. I cannot imagine this movie being nearly as significant without the excellent casting of characters. (especially Foster). This is a tough issue to "sell" to the public and a difficult message to convey through the genius of Sagan. However, the job gets done and done well. I reccommend seeing this video 2 or 3 times to really get the full impact of the message, or better, read Sagan's book before or after seeing the video. You will be moved and it will be on your mind for days to follow-------or longer if you are of a religious or philosophical nature. Enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2017
great value for the buck Just OK I am completely satisfied. Very good product for the price Great price. So far so good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2017
good movie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse