countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Home All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
82
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$20.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 24, 2010
The Big Bang Theory is the funniest sitcom that has come along in quite awhile.

In answer to Buddy Ray who gave this sitcom a 1 star, I would like to answer his query of "Who would watch this? The answer is "Anyone who has a mind that enjoys a show involving vocabulary of more than one syllable."
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2014
I am not sure if buying DVD's and blu-rays is worth it in the digital age - however this series along with a few others is a keeper, the cast, the writing, the concept of the show is second to none. The show has the ability to have you routing for the characters.

Many hours of laughter and enjoyment will be had.

Be aware if you are looking for both blu-ray and dvd in the same box - shop carefully so that you get the package that you want.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon February 18, 2014
Each season is better than the one before and as the characters develop they become more believable and very much like old, quirky friends. It reminds me of old series like Cheers or Friends - you begin to get connected to the characters even if you know that they are fictions. You will like it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2010
For years I've become increasingly turned off by low-brow brainless laugh-track comedy, and when I started watching TBBT I was instantly hooked - the characters are hilarious, even (or, perhaps, especially) when the show turns into "The Sheldon Show", the writing is clever, and the concepts in the show actually require you to use your brain.

I was especially impressed when the show's rating climbed steadily, proving that there is a market for intelligent, clever programming. I agree with the other reviewer, this show is great, and I've never seen an episode I didn't enjoy - I can unreservedly recommend it, and the single negative reviewer can go back to watching the mindless crap on other channels.

If you've never seen it, you owe it to yourself to try it, you'll love it. (if you have a functioning brain)
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2014
I love the comedy in this show and Leonard is my favourite character. Watching the characters grow with each episode has been highly entertaining. I would never want to miss an episode. The price is way better than retail and the shipping was fast and easy. Great Value - great product!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
In the cult tradition of SPARTACUS, the halls of every science department now echoes: "I AM SHELDON"!

Well into its third season, THE BIG BANG THEORY proved to be one of the most funny TV sitcoms ever aired. I had not laughed out loud this hard ever since the best days of FRASIER and SEINFELD - and BIG BANG is consistently brilliant!

Sheldon Cooper is unavoidably the king of the show - the massive black hole this Universe revolves around if you will. A child prodigy, now a 24 years old theoretical physicist PhD with absolutely no social skills or known sexual drive. Sheldon may be on the verge of unifying the fields but cannot drive a car to save his life or break a smile even remotely resembling that of a mere homo sapiens.
Best SEASON 3 moment (a very hard choice to make): attempting to condition Penny using positive reinforcement (chocolates) - but was also open to "mild electric-shocks with almost imperceptible tissue damage" to have her ready by dinner-time.

Leonard Hofstadter is Sheldon's roommate and primary ...keeper. An experimental physicist himself, he juggles Sheldon's idiosyncrasies with his personal neurosis - not to mention his crush on his neighbor Penny.
Best SEASON 3 moment: getting high on hash-cookies while on an asteroid-gazing camp-trip and rambling that he 'd rather have a different name as Leonard sounds like having "nerd" in it.

Howard Wolowitz is the only one with no PhD yet (and Sheldon never lets him forget it). An electrical engineer whose crowning achievement is a mechanized arm that is used in the space shuttle (and is now working on its liquid waste management solutions). The fact that he is a short man with a severely outdated and misguided sense of fashion, still lives with his mother, insists on using a collection of pickup lines straight from men's magazines advice columns - and yet carries himself as God's gift to women is just hilarious.
Best SEASON 3 moment: turning into Gothowitz by use of fake tattoo-sleeves to pick up "easy morbid Goth girls".

Rajesh Koothrappali is a particle astrophysicist with a fashion sense close to absolute zero and a severe case of shyness - to the point that he cannot speak in front of women unless inebriated. He keeps using the "poor Indian" defense although his father is a rich doctor who drives a Bentley.
Best SEASON 3 moment: wearing a T-shirt with a small speaker and a large selection of sound-effects, he uses it brilliantly to dramatize his answers. HOWARD: "But Sheldon, you ARE guilty". RAJEH: "[plays the Law & Order... Doom-DOOM]!"

Finally, Penny. She is the proverbial good girl next door who came to California with stardom aspirations but so far works as waitress and suffers a sequence of bad boyfriends - and from her neighbors.
Best SEASON 3 moment: waiting at the hospital with Sheldon taking her medical history. SHELDON:"Migraines?" PENNY:"Well, I'm getting one now!"

The show unavoidably makes use of previous sitcom combinations (the odd couple, the unfulfilled love-interest mismatch) but even if one manages to discern them they are used in such a fresh manner that all that is left is great entertainment!

The way to truly enjoy this is to own it on DVD. The writing is so smart and the jokes fly so fast (many of them non-verbal) there is just no way to savor it during its weekly air time. Well, may be Sheldon could but then again, who can compare his intellect with his?

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 25, 2010
I don't typically watch television so I didn't know about this show until a 13 year old young lady told me about it....it is in a word "BRILLIANT". I have the first 2 seasons on dvd and look forward to seeing the third season that way too. For the person who didn't think it was funny, I'm sure you like to watch what passes for 'reality' television and you don't happen to posess a sense of humor it seems. There need to be more television shows like this(intelligent) and maybe I wouldn't be cancelling my satelite service. There is really not much on television worth watching anymore. Sad commentary on the entertainment industry as a whole.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 1, 2010
If you have a working brain, a decent sense of humour and appreciate wickedly funny, well-written comedy, this show is for you!

Quite honestly, it's the best sitcom since "Titus" and the funniest sitcom I can ever recall watching.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2011
I love this show. These characters are honestly hilarious. This show rocks. Highly recommend all seasons of this show. The price was amazing as well. I love amazon for having such incredible prices on dvd's
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2010
What can I say? My title review explains it. Just don't watch it at night if you live in an apartment. You'll get complains about how loud you laugh.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse