Echo Spot countdown boutiques-francophones Introducing Fire 7 tablet, starting at $59.99 WFM home Kindle Paperwhite Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
17
Pandorum [Blu-ray]
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$14.18+ $3.49 shipping


on January 21, 2010
Limited cast, if you don't count the monsters, that pull off the plot nicely. I have to admit that it's nice to see a few movies come out that rely not only on the cinematography, effects, and story, but also include a limited cast that can act.

Two of the crew of the fifth shift charged with running the Elysium for their two year stint awake from hyper-sleep, their memories ravaged by the prolonged slumber soon come to realize that is the least of their problems. Not only do they have to deal with the major gaps in their memory, their flight training and underlying psychological traits remaining relatively intact, they also have to solve the mystery of what has happened to their vessel. Quaid stays in the sleep chamber/command center and sends Foster off through service ducts in search of a way to open the door to the command center. As with all plans of mice and men that's when their plans have to adapt to what they find along the way.

What they find is a failing ship inhabited by creatures, reminiscent of John Carpenter's "Ghosts of Mars", who are fast, intelligent, and possessed of a need to feed on whatever food that presents itself which includes their own wounded. The creatures while being part of the peril they face are minor players while Quaid and Bower work at rediscovering who they are and their roles in relation to each other and themselves as well as the other individuals they meet. The movie revolves around the examination of the range of traits that humanity can express from depravity to hero while trying to survive in adverse circumstances.

On the one hand while being a psychological thriller it also is just plain good sci-fi. The movie is plausible in it's presentation of science as a background to roles of people dealing with that science when it goes wrong. The sets, lighting, and photography, are all handled really well, and does well in the "suspension of disbelief."

Overall it is rich in the visuals, acting, and story line and well worth the watch.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 1, 2018
Awesome movie, don’t buy blurays anymore because of Netflix, but wanted this in my collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 16, 2018
amazing film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 4, 2017
Grenat deal
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 28, 2016
Excellent film. One of my favourite.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 2, 2016
Thanks! Great condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 10, 2010
Imagine being stuck on the "Event Horizon" with mutated creatures that act similar to the zombies in "28 Days Later"... and you don't remember anything...
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 1, 2012
Iin cannot believe that I had never heard of this movie. A pal at work told me to watch it. I loved it! It was great. Dennis Quaid was really convincing in it and Ben Foster...wow. I remember him in 3:10 to Yuma, and we need to see him in a lot more movies!! I recommend this movie!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon September 9, 2010
Lt. Payton (Dennis Quaid) and Cpl. Bower (Ben Foster) wake-up from hyper-sleep to find that they have selective amnesia from the experience. It is a rude awakening to a seemingly dead space ship later to fine that they may be hors d'oeuvres.

The film passes time and everyone tries very hard. However, there are only so many ways to do space kung-fu and other mischievous biting. Antje Traue ads a little energy to the story.

I am not saying that you will not like the movie. Many people want the formula and nothing to innovative. If you are looking for something exceptional or innovative, you have come to the wrong place. Watch the original "Planet of the Apes" for a better ending surprise and escape.

I have only seen the Blu-Ray disc, so I cannot compare to the other presentations, a theatrical trailer, and much more. Be sure to take the time for the Audio Commentary with director Christian Alvart and Producer Jeremy Bolt. This is one of the few movies that the DVD extras do not really contribute to its enhancement.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 16, 2012
This is a good movie. not great, but better than average.
The acting is decent, and the special effects are decent as well.

The movie story line is written with the intention of it being a trilogy, but as the movie did not do very well in theaters, I doubt any more will be made. That is unfortunate as I enjoyed watching the movie, and was wanting to see more when the ending came.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse