Echo Spot countdown boutiques-francophones Introducing Fire 7 tablet, starting at $59.99 WFM home Kindle sports Tools

Soldier of Love
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$10.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on April 8, 2018
perfect ty
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 16, 2017
Marvellous
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 22, 2017
I love Sade's lyrics and music. This cd is an excellent compilation of newer tunes and some older ones. Very enjoyable!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 8, 2017
Sade is back to recording some really great tracks. Not her best album in my opinion but still a stunner!! Some great tracks on here and lots of different sounds to please the ears.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 12, 2017
Great album!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 14, 2015
Very disappointed with this album, I'm sure I will never play it again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 4, 2014
Love Sade, great album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 3, 2011
C'est un très bon CD d'une très grande artiste qu'est Sade et je conseille cet album à tous ses fans
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 24, 2010
Several years after the bland and uneven "Lovers Rock", the triumphant return of Sade to the top of the charts with "Soldier of Love" comes off as great news - not just because of chart positions, but mostly because it's actually a really good album. "Soldier of love" is a warm and pleasant surprise that brings forward some of the band's best traits, such as Sade Adu's inimitable vocal style, the band's signature slick sound and the solid songwriting. And although the overall sound is undeniably typical of Sade, the band has obviously made an effort to sound contemporary. There is not a "Smooth operator", a "Jezebel" or a "Sweetest taboo" here in terms of mass appeal, but there are many strong songs such as the sunny "Babyfather", the melodic "The moon and the sky", the cutting-edge title track, the mournful "Morning bird" and the soulful ballads "Be that easy" and "The safest place". "In another time" also works as wonderful a reminder that Stuart Matthewson is a wonderful saxophone player. This is not the kind of album that sinks in after one listen, but hitting the "repeat" button will definitely provide the attentive listener with something much deeper that will grow with each listen. Longtime fans of Sade might sometimes miss the brassy and soulful pop of her early albums, but "Soldier of Love" certainly stands as a testimony to the band's willingness to challenge itself. Let's hope it won't be as long before we get another offering from these talented musicians !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 13, 2010
For prospective buyers of the vinyl version of this album, I would like to make a couple of comments so you know what you're getting.

First of all, this is not an audiophile pressing. It is pressed on heavyweight vinyl (180g?). Quality is acceptable, though somewhat disappointing. My copy does have some surface noise and slight clicks that really shouldn't be present on a new pressing. It does come in a gatefold sleeve, which is nice. Inside there is a download coupon for an MP3 version of the album. However, when you go to the website, you will find that it is only available to people in America.

Overall, a good record for the price. Music is good, 1st side is best. Just don't expect a high quality pressing and you should be okay.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here