countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more scflyout Home All-New Kindle sports Registry Tools

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$57.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 7, 2010
Be warned that this BD release is the original theatrical versions of the film, not the extended editions! The studio pulled exactly the same stunt for the DVD releases of the LOTR trilogy and declined to release both the theatrical and extended versions of the film at the same time to provide fans with a choice. This can only be viewed as attempt to sell the movie series multiple times to fans. If you want the extended versions of the films, wait and do not purchase this set.

That being said, if you do not want the extended theatrical versions, then by all means, purchase this set instead.
0Comment| 348 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2010
Hugely disappointing that the extended edition boxset is being released at a later date (and possibly as late as 2012 if the rumors are true) I love the LOTR series but once you've watched the EE versions, the theatrical versions (although very good) are just not up to the same level of enjoyment and fulfillment as the EE release. Sorry Mr Jackson, but I'll be holding off until the EE set is released no matter how long it takes. I'll rent this to see some LOTR Blu-ray eye candy 'til then.

Shame on you Warner Bros

Edit: March 29....1 week prior to release.

Well....looks like there's even more reason to wait now. The early reviews are coming in now from some of the respected Blu-ray review sites and the reviews have not been glowing. This is not going to be anywhere near the "hi-def demo material" release everyone expected it to be. Numerous complaints of sub par picture quality, excessive use of digital noise reduction and edge enhancement editing are coming in. So now the question is......will Warner hear those complaints, take heed and redo the transfer for the EE release (whenever that is) as is being done for for the noted 2009 sub par blu-ray "Gladiator"? Only time will tell.
0Comment| 138 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2010
So I too rate this greatest movie trilogy of all time a 1 star in this product release.
We are rating the product here - not the movie.
I too have been waiting to buy this for, what is it - 2 or 3yrs and now I am being asked to waste my hard earned cash by buying this twice??
This is consumer viral marketing at its best - the only way your dissaude the behemoths from this type of behavior is hitting them where it hurts - in the revenues.
Realize that someone in the marketing team is following this alright thread - and taking note.
Hear the sound of 1 star marching
0Comment| 68 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2011
There are a lot of bad reviews of this item due to the fact that they are the original theatrical releases and not the extended versions. The fact of the matter is that these are excellent films as they are. The blu-ray versions of these movies have great picture quality; when you see the Witch King on his fell beast you'll be amazed!

Unless you have your heart set on owning the extended versions on blu-ray, I'd recommend buying this set.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2009
the box set came in perfect condition within 5 days of ordering, which is great speedy delivery considering im an international customer residing in Singapore thru standard shipping. im in love with the box set, everything about it is excellent - from the movie to the extras. Only thing that stopped it from becoming a perfect buy was the missing pamphlet in the two towers set, but no big loss there since it merely states what're the contents inside the discs.

the extras in this set is worth mentioning, as the director in charge of it made sure it did not feel like the additonal featurettes were simply added on for the sake of it. these extras actually complement the trilogy extremely well. try watching the appendices from the 1st disc to the last, it'll make you feel as though the making of LOTR is a lot like the movie itself, from the beginning where the cast and crew all came together to form a fellowship, to the end of an era when they all had to part after years of working and living together. the reunion of the cast and crew for the 2004 oscars is reminiscent of the good times they had, and a poignant reminder of the fact that they have all gone on separate paths now.

it's epic and monumental, and considering that it only could so because of the sheer brilliance of the source material, it's sad that something of this scale will probably never be achieved ever again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2010
Its one thing to double dip by re-releasing on a differnt format but to hold off on the extended editions again?? after they are alread available anyways? No way waste of money especially with this hype about bluray's having soo much capacity yet they release everything with less features then a dvd ? come on. Lord of The rings is awesome but this set is a waste of money wait for the extended.
0Comment| 81 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2011
I've been waiting for this since the extended editions first came out on DVD. I held off on getting a DVD set or the Blu-Ray Theatrical editions because I knew this would be the definitive set to get. Needless to say I'm a bit disappointed. Don't get me wrong, it's not BAD per se; it just could have been better.

It's great that FOTR got a new transfer for this release (compared to the theatrical editions), but in getting that new transfer the infamous green tint issue popped up. I know some people say that it's supposed to be like this because Peter Jackson said that the new transfer looks really good and how he intended for it to look - but he said that at the time that the transfer went out for an HDTV broadcast. That statement was made well before this Blu-Ray set came out, so he couldn't have seen what they did to the Blu-Ray. If you compare screenshots with the DVD versions, you can see that the colours are pretty off in this tinted version, especially inside the Hobbit dwellings where it causes everything to appear unnaturally yellow and other colours to be dulled out. The colours on the DVD version are much more vibrant. The detail on the BR version is much better, sure, but the colours really mar what could have been a great release. The colour shift back to "normal" is noticeable when you go from the first movie to the second.

Secondly, one could say that it's really cool that this set includes so many discs of extras, but that actually shows the relative laziness of the studio, because the extras come on DVD discs and unnecessarily bulk up the set. Even if the extras are in SD, we're buying a Blu-Ray set so they could have fit those 9 DVDs of extras onto one or two Blu-Ray discs and saved some space and plastic. It's great to have so many extras, just not great to keep having to switch discs in and out when the technology is there not to have to do so.

Lastly, the Canadian version is an Alliance release and has forced trailers that the American version doesn't have.

All in all, I don't regret buying this set and it's be best available version of the LOTR trilogy, but it's not the definitive set that the fans could have had. It's unlikely the studios are going to do anything about it though, since plenty of people still bought it and lined the execs' pockets with their hard earned cash, so we'll just have to live with it for now.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 24, 2010
As a lover of fantasy since childhood, I first read the Lord of the Rings novels in 1968, and many times since. Tolkien's Lord of the Rings, though derived from Norse, Icelandic, and Anglo-Saxon legends/sagas, is the basis for the current popular literature of fantasy. The first set of movies set in New Zealand were marvelous. But there were several things missing. The Two Towers was disjointed. The section with the Ents was a bit short. The Return of the King underplayed the secondary romance with Faramir and the Rohan princess. This extended series sets it right. (Most of it. I do miss Tom Bombadill.)

The extended Lord of the Rings is truly astounding. This is and will be for a long time, the definitive movie of a definitive novel, the underpinning of all modern fantasy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2015
Well the box set I got is not the same as the picture shown. It is the extended edition and it comes with 15 discs which is great and they are all excellent quality. The movie is nicely retouched to look like it came out the same time as the hobbit trilogy.

My big problem with this set is when I got the package, all three blu ray cases were pretty smashed up. The spines we're completely broken and as I opened each case up blue pieces came falling out. I'm surprised none of the discs are damaged. The box does not have the side cover like the picture shows and if you've seen any review we're the box has a magnetic flap to reveal a map it's not here.

This is my first experience of subpar quality from amazon and I hope to not experience it again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2011
The extended versions have already been published in DVD The Lord of the Rings: Special Extended Edition Trilogy (12 Discs) (Widescreen) this is a Blu Ray version of this package.

THE improvement of the Blu Ray version is the inclusion of HD versions of the movies. Image and sound are great although there is a buzz regarding the new color timing of the Fellowship. No changes on the bonuses which are in SD but no big deal IMHO.

Packaging is far from being on par with the DVD edition but it is OK. The biggest annoyance is the inclusion of FIVE trailers that you have to skip individually since the direct access to the menu is forbidden. That sucks badly.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse