countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more scflyout Home All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
29
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$123.41+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 4, 2010
How about we get the bad stuff out of the way first... the picture quality isn't amazing (as to be expected, it's early 90's standard def in full frame, at a time when having a 42" TV meant you must have been some sort of royalty) and the topical nature of the show within the show (as well as the show outside the show) means you might not get some of the jokes if you're younger or have forgotten your 90's references (a refresher: Dan Quayle was stupid, Bill Clinton was a pot smoker but not quite a womanizer yet, Ted Kennedy was a drunk and Madonna was... Madonna. There, all caught up).

As for the good... everything else! This is one of the most well written shows Television has ever seen. The show centers around Larry Sanders, a talk show host on a rival network (the network never seems to get named) to NBC and CBS, so he competes with Leno and Letterman. It's filmed in the single camera style that's become hugely popular these days with shows like The Office and Modern Family, and follows the day to day workings of a talk show as well as the personal lives of those involved with the show. Guests on the show play humorous send-ups of themselves, and as a fan of late night talk shows in the 90's, everything here seems genuine. The box set comes with every episode, all of the extras from previous box sets, new extras (including commentaries on select episodes and an introduction from Garry himself who's seen better days for sure) and a booklet about the show. If you enjoyed the show when it was first on, you'll really enjoy this. If you've never seen the show, get ready for a treat, assuming you have the right sense of humour (if you enjoy the UK version of The Office or Canadian shows like "Made in Canada" and "The Newsroom" which took on similar material, you'll enjoy this). If you're under 20... you're not going to get a lot of the jokes in Larry's monologues or some of the other references, so I'd suggest renting a season before buying to see if you'll like it. Another amazing box set by Shout! Also... around $100 for 6 seasons of an HBO show? Where are you going to see this kind of deal again!?
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2016
This is one of the best comedy series ever, along with Seinfeld, curb your enthusiasm, and few more. The series started in 1992 and had a 6 year run that lasted till1998. For the price, you can't go wrong. The sound is great, the picture is very good. The tv aspect ratio is 1.33:1, so it looks fuller on the old tube tv than it does on a lcd - led flat screen Either way I have both and it still looks good. Mill CreekEntertainment, who put this product out, did a really good job. The sound is dolby digital. Thanks to Amazon for a speedy delivery. This is a 9 disc set.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 1, 2011
Larry Sanders was an awesome show, maybe the best. It predates the Office and Curb Your Enthusiasm being the seminal "awkward" comedy. It was topical so if you weren't an adult in the 90's you'll miss quite a bit. If you were, you'll have some warm and fuzzies. It should easily get five stars. However, there is no excuse for the poor encoding. It loses one star for the spectacularly amateurish encoding and another for ruining one of the greatest shows ever made. Filmed scenes are far too noisy. Maybe wait for them to fix it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2011
The Larry Sanders Show remains a great series with great characters. It's becoming a bit of a time capsule now, since Larry's guests are celebrities from the early 90's. I was struck by one episode where the guests were Warren Zevon, John Ritter and Gene Siskel - they're all gone now, too young. The picture quality of the DVD's is quite poor and grainy. It doesn't bother me, as I rank content way above picture quality, but might bother you. This is still a very funny series with great writing and acting.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2015
I was surprised: the video quality for the Mill Creek version is quite good for Standard Definition. There are no special features, but the price is right.

Note: amazon has grouped all the reviews together for the old "Complete Series" and the new one. They are quite distinct products with different features and different video quality. If you're considering the Mill Creek version, only look at recent reviews, as it was released June 16, 2015.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 8, 2013
I've had most Sanders episodes on VHS for a long time now. And tape quality has deteriorated a lot over time. To be able to sit and watch on DVDs and have perfect episodes with no commercials or missed moments is wonderful. My only problem is I did not buy this sooner as I didn't know it was available. I'm finding it hard not to watch episode after episode. Right from Season 1, Episode 1 the show is flying at Mach 2 and beyond.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2016
This show was ahead of its time. Very funny as it was when it aired on HBO. If you are a fan of late night, Carson, Letterman, Leno et. al., this one is for you. Best work I have seen of Mr. Garry Shandling as well. This show has a satirical bite, which plays like a bio, and shows people at their best and worst and funniest. I thoroughly enjoyed the behind the scenes antics.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 15, 2013
I didn't think the series would be that entertaining to watch now that all the guest stars are no longer very well-known (for the most part) but the leads are still phenomenal and the show is still hilarious. Only sad thing is seeing Garry Shandling in Iron Man or other films and being able to compare him to how he looked in Larry Sanders. Always a bit alarming...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2011
I bought the first season of this show forever ago. Now after waiting years upon years for at least another season to come out, they decide to release the whole series. Thank you!!
This is by far one of the best shows that have ever been on TV. Every character is hilarious, every episode is awesome. I will be watching this one over and over.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2015
One of the best damn shows to ever be on TV, Larry Sanders is just as funny and sharp now as it was over 20 years ago. If you don't laugh every single time Jeffery Tambor's sadsack Hank Kingsley shows up on screen, you've got a terrible sense of humor.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse