countdown boutiques-francophones Beauty home Kindle Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
13
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$23.96+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 24, 2017
Loved this show. Wish they could have done a second season.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2017
Great series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2017
Good series. It's a shame that it was only one season. Definitely better than what Disney puts out now
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2017
Très bon DVD. Reçu dans les temps prévus.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2016
great set an picture too bad theirs only one year
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2015
Awesome series!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon February 9, 2014
The story arc is entertaining, and I like the characters included.

The series is on blu-ray, but the quality isn't much better than you'd expect for a Saturday morning cartoon.
The sound is clear and is nice in surround.

I got what I expected, and am happy with my purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon February 16, 2013
I'll make it short and sweet:

This was a good cartoon. It didn't deserve to get cancelled after one season.

It wasn't exactly on the bleeding edge of the genre. In terms of real depth and pushing the boundaries of what a superhero cartoon can be, it wasn't in the same league as Bruce Timm's best work, or even the most recent version of Marvel's own Avengers.

But it was entertaining and engaging and fun to watch, with just the right amount of intrigue and suspense. It was also far and away the most visually sophisticated X-Men cartoon ever made - at least until we got to the anime X-Men. And even by comparison with that show, while this version was nowhere near as darkly atmospheric, in terms of achieving what it actually set out to achieve, it did hold its own. In fact, while not so heavy on atmosphere, the other side of that same coin is that the art in this show was more coolly reserved, even restrained, than that to be found in its anime counterpart.

So much for the art. How about the story?

Aside from the gimmick of putting Wolverine in charge of a fractured team, long time fans of the X-Men won't find a great deal that is new here. True, this series generally rearranges the usual roles that the characters play within the team, but that's about it. The reason why I personally stopped reading the comic books (more years ago now than I care to think) was that the X-Men comics, like most comic books, really only have two or three basic stories to tell. These same stories are told and retold over and over again, with endless minor variations on the perennial themes. This particular show tells the story where the X-Men have to stop a horribly dystopian future from coming to pass. If you are a fan of the comic books, and have been for more than a year or two, I'm sure you know the story I'm talking about.

But while the actual plot is almost entirely devoid of originality, perhaps that's not the point. The stories in tragic and comic opera are every bit as formulaic. The point, if there is one at all, is in the artistry of the retelling. And taken on that level, "Wolverine and The X-Men" was, if nothing else, a good retelling.

So yes, like I said in the beginning, this was a good cartoon. It didn't deserve to get canned after one season.

I am genuinely sad that we'll never get to see what season two might've been.

Theo.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2012
Although it is unfortunate that one season was only produced, these 26 episodes in this blu-ray package feature the X-Men at their finest. This collection features all the episode of Wolverine and the X-Men television series (a cartoon by Marvel Animation). Most of the character designs takes inspiration from the Astonishing X-Men comic series and plot points from the comic especially from X-Men: Days of Future Past. If anybody nostalgic for this Saturday cartoon should purchase it immediately. It also features audio commentary from the shows directors and writers for every episode. Plus with this price you can't go wrong !
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2012
If your an X-MEN fan you'll love it! It's to bad that it was only on for 2 seasons. It would have been great to see how they developed the story line with Apocalypse ruling the world in the future!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse