countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout home All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
66
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$59.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Both my wife and I luv this series! Lots of really good fighting scenes and more or less "soft porn"!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 30, 2010
Watched the whole series and was addicted from the first episode. Absolutely check this out if you are into movies like 300 or Ninja Assassin!

Hopefully there is a second season, the cast and storyline is AMAZING!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2014
Great cast, story, production design, sound , picture quality, all very well done.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2014
Best show in my opinion! Great acting, great writing and great cinematography!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2010
The show:
If movies could have babies, then this is the child of Gladiator and 300. If you have interest in either of those 2 movies, than this show is up your ally. It's all things Gladiator with "ridiculous" 300 blood/gore effects. The blood effects can at times be a tad bit overdone. In some scenes the blood is so obviously fake, that it actually looks computer animated. When I started watching the show for the first time, the blood effects almost made me stop watching after episode 2-3. But I'm glad to say I stuck with it because this show is amazingly good. The characters, the plot, the twists, all make for an epic experience. Over time either the blood effects got better, or I became so immersed with the story that I ceased to notice the cheesy blood anymore.

The product:
I just picked this up at my local HMV. Standing there with a DVD copy in my left hand and a Bluray copy in my right hand, I was curious as to whether or not the extra $10 would be worth it for the bluray copy. Scanning the back of both cases I noticed there were more extra features included on the bluray copy as well as details which claimed the BR copy to have full 1080p resolution and "true" 5.1 dolby digital. With those differences in mind, I decided to purchase the BR copy. After opening the product, I'm happy to say I made the right choice for another reason other than the features and audio/video quality...and that would be the packaging.

What the picture above doesn't clearly show you, is that the show is packaged like a hard cover book. It opens up with a cardboard, accordion-like set of "pages". Each page is a sleeve which the disk is kept in. The cardboard is well glossed and quite smooth, however, for anyone that has purchased a tv series kept in a cardboard sleeve format before, you might know the inherent issues with the disks becoming scratched over time. Anyone whose read reviews for the Starget SG1 complete boxset has likely read about the DVDs becoming so badly scratched that they were eventually unreadable.

So needless to say I was quite happy with myself for buying the BR copy. BR disks have a much higher scratch resistance to that of their DVD counterpart.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2015
Must see DVD!

Well worth the time to watch this!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2015
Seriously great show. Definitely a keeper
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2014
Perfect conditon. This series is awesome!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2016
One of the best shows I have ever seen
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2013
I enjoy historical series with alot of action and accurate depictions. Spartacus is similar to 300 in some of its action scenes and the actual battle confrontations are very well done.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse