countdown boutiques-francophones Luxury Beauty Home Kindle Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
47
4.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 11, 2010
There is nothing more moving, and more real, than the fake world of Scott Pilgrim. You follow the ups and downs of this boy turning into a man. You follow the trial of carnage he leaves in his wake. You follow them both through the star door into subspace. Then you end up at the store, buying the Blu-ray. This particular bundle is packed with goodies. All the blogs are here as well as "Music Videos" for the 4 major songs in the movie as well as different commentaries and special pre-production features. Well worth the money and I am surprised they were able to get this much content bundled together so quickly after the movie was released. This is well worth even the full price tag of $45 once it clears the initial sales boost.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2010
Edgar Wright's take on Bryan Lee O'Malley's series of slacker-indie-gamer comics came a true delight to fans of the source material.

Although the movie moves at a breakneck pace through the set-up and confrontation with each of seven evil-exes, it was necessary to cram all six books worth of story into a single film. As viewers we lose a lot of the witty dialogue and quieter moments between characters, but this is more than balanced by the insanely kickass action sequences and visual eye-candy on display. Wright's ability to seamlessly integrate comic book imagery and conventions onto the big screen is nothing short of incredible.

I would have preferred the narrative to be split into a two-parter to allow more room to explore (I mean, the Twins were pretty much glossed over completely!), but I can understand why that wasn't possible. Above all, as a Torontonian I was ecstatic to see my city portrayed as itself instead of disguised as an American city like usual. This movie makes Toronto look COOL, and makes me excited to live here.

I must admit that although I had reservations about Michael Cera being tapped for the dim-witted but loveable hero, his Scott shines with just the right mix of vulnerability and toughness. Cera manages to portray something other than the same version of himself that shows up in all his other movies. The rest of the cast turns in some great performances as well. Mary Elizabeth Winstead is a ringer for the mysterious Ramona, Ellen Wong captures Knives' teen exhuberance, and the evil exes turn in some delicious performances as well, particularly Chris Evans and Brandon Routh as Lucas and Todd.

All in all, if you are a child of the 80's or later, if you grew up with videogames and indie bands, Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World is a movie made specifically for YOU. Buy it, watch it, re-watch it, share it with friends.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2013
In lesbians with this movie, it's epic. A close friend of mine raved about this movie. I really wish I had seen it sooner. It was on tv not too long ago and I had my amazon order placed before it was over. Thanks for having it in stock and delivered quickly!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2010
Scott Pilgrim vs. The World is a veritable zeitgeist of pop-cultures mashing up against each other to deliver a romance unlike anything we'll likely see for the next decade.

A great comic book is made up of a delicate blend of artwork and storyline that leaps off the page. With comic books adapted for the screen already having made said leap, they must do more than simply use the source material as a storyboard - a vibe must be captured, some kind of sync between the creator and the director must be demonstrated, an evocation of nostalgia for the reader of the comic must be stirred and ideally, those not familiar with the material will be swept away onto the bandwagon. Edgar Wright manages to hit all of the above-mentioned notes to create a Torontonian experience unlike any other, blending elements of comic books, video games, indie music, and most importantly, movies.

Chances are, you've met a guy kind of like Scott Pilgrim (Michael Cera); a likeable slacker who is lucky and clumsy with the ladies, and plays bass in a mediocre indie band. Scott is taking some time off from serious relationships by spending his time with a high school girl 6 years his junior when he meets the girl of his dreams, literally. Ramona Flowers (the completely unrecognizable Mary Elizabeth Winstead), a roller blading courier for Amazon.ca, recently transplanted from the United States, has been taking a subspace shortcut through Scott's subconscious. When he finally meets her face to face, he is instantly smitten, and Ramona soon warms to his less awkward than usual Michael Cera-esque charms. There's only one problem, Ramona's got some skeletons in her closet. Skeletons covered in muscles, flesh and clothing with crouching tiger kung fu skills in the form of Ramona's ex-boyfriends (and girlfriend, rrrrraow!). Turns out that if Scott wants to be with Ramona, he'll have to defeat the League of Evil Exes...and maybe even clean up some of his own messes while he's at it. Fortunately, Scott is the number one rated fighter in all of Ontario, so he can handle them. (It might not say so in the movie, but trust me, it's in the books.) (Besides, the fights are just allegorical for the personal issues Scott and Ramona have to lay to rest before they can get together, so why does it matter whether this 98 pound weakling can nail a 64 hit mid-air combo?)

The first thing you'll notice about this movie is the pre-credit Universal logo, rendered in glorious 8-bit like a Donkey King table top at your favourite seedy tavern. And with that, the tone is set for the next two hours. Just about everything hat unfolds on screen, from the bathroom breaks to the high scores in the aftermath of each skirmish is coloured with the same playful Nintendo brush. Edgar Wright, the mad scientist behind such genre benders/blenders as Hot Fuzz and Shaun of the Dead has proven himself to be positively soaked in the language of cinema. And I don't mean the techniques of Orson Welles or Jean-Luc Godard, I mean every pop-culture gem of the last 20 or even 30 years. He understands exactly how we glean information off the silver screen and he's devised his own cinematic shorthand to deliver that information faster and funnier than anyone else. It's the kind of style that comes in handy adapting a book that tends to express itself in images in feelings more than thoughts and words.

What is at the heart of its triumph, besides its innate sense of fun, is the tension/conflict/torsion between Toronto's reality in which it is so cozily nested with locations like Lee's Palace, Casa Loma and Pizza Pizza, and the fighting flights of fancy as Scott engages in fisticuffs that are one half Street Fighter 2 and one half Dance Dance Revolution. The mundane and the magical collide with each other to a deftly handled soundtrack as only a music lover like Wright could deliver.

With all of this bombast going on, it's easy to forget that this really is a love story. And that is perhaps where I find this movie's only shortcoming. Even if it's Wright's scrambled take on the "boy meets girl" story, there needed to be a tender heart to this take, and that is what Scott Pilgrim vs. The World is lacking. Everything is just too neon & plastic - and perhaps that's the point. Perhaps Wright was trying to make a statement of the transitory nature of young modern love... or perhaps Wright's directed a little too much bromance and not enough romance.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2012
Bought this a while back and was my favourite movie of the year, watched it over and over. If you grew up with Nintendo I think it would be hard not to enjoy this movie. Lots of fun and something different.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2010
I don't usually write reviews but I feel compelled to rave about this movie; Scott Pilgrim is a seriously amazing and innovative movie. The influences of the directing style, from video game to classic comic strip, are spectacular and it's essentially filmed for today's ADHD mentality. The Canadian references in the film are such a joy to recognize and the cast is really superb. It's a quirky, funny and just plain clever movie that I would highly recommend to any film watcher who is looking for a movie made with a contemporary stroke of genius.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2011
loved this movie. any fans of old school video games will definatly dig the style of this movie. the sound effects and random video game style effects make this movie a refreshingly origonal watch. there is also a good sense of humor as well especially if you watch it with a group of friends you will probably be chuckling the whole time. the movie is definatly out there and has a few weird moments but all in all you have to love how origonal the style is and the humor!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2010
This was a movie i'd heard about, and decided to get it when my buddy told me how awesome it was. He was right. Cool story with enough romance, comedy and action to suit just about anyone and great characters you feel like you could hang out with yourself. All round great flick. Can't believe it didn't do better in theatres when it came out, but here's hoping for a sequel sometime in the near future.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2010
It's awesome. And it stars Toronto AS Toronto, not as some other city. For the video game / comic book / action movie nerd inside everyone, this movie delivers on all fronts. If you don't know what 1Up means, this might not be for you...but it's still worth a shot since it's non-stop fun from start to end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2010
Come on everyone doesent this movie bring you back? make you remember playing all those 8/16 bit video games as kid and day dreaming about if they were real? Well that is this movie, Its about a slacker dude named Scott Pilgrim who just wants an easy life and to just do nothing. Untill he meets Ramona flowers and decides that she is the one for him even if at first she reacts as anyone would, weirded out. Though scott grows on her. Soon slacker 22 year old Scott finds him self having to fight all her past Ex's to the death for the chance to date her.

This movie has it all for nerds and geeks alike. This movie is extreamly well put togeather and is top notch in quality. If you just want a movie to remind you of how life used to be. or even a move that reminds you of haniging out with close friends. then please pick up this movie. You will not regret it not for a second. It is the best movie i have seen all year, maybe even of all time.

10/5
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse