countdown boutiques-francophones Beauty Furniture Kindle sports Tools



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 20, 2017
Since this movie was delivered to me, I've watched it about 20 times. I'm in love with this movie! I've had no problems with it playing, so it's a plus.
Overall, I reccomend this movie to anyone who likes tom cons, or just straight up comedy.
5 stars for me!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2017
Arrived super quick, brand new and in package. No complaints!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2017
Great movie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2017
How Can you not love 10 Things I Hate About You ? Total Classic I'm glad I bought this copy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2003
I like this movie a lot. I saw it in the theaters and have the DVD. It's a teen love story based on Shakespeare's Taming of the Shrew (loosely based!). The story is about the shrew (Kat/Julia Stiles) and her sister Bianca. The new boy in town wants to date Bianca, but Bianca can't date unless Kat does. So he hatches a plan to get Kat hooked with someone so that he can date Bianca.
I think the story is cute, and I completely fell for Heath Ledger's character, Patrick (the guy who gets paid to date Kat). He and Julia Stiles are great in this movie - the other characters, however, leave a lot to be desired. I can't for the life of me figure out why anyone would WANT to date Bianca. Sure, she's pretty - but she's got no personality until the very end. It's not bad though, since most of the story revolves around Kat and Patrick who are well developed characters with a lot of chemistry.
Not the greatest movie on the planet, but definitely fun as a light-hearted and humorous date movie. :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2000
10 Things I Hate About You is a fairly basic teen love story, but with the added twist of Shakespeare and some good comedic acting.
The story is based on Shakespeare's Taming of the Shrew. It is about two sisters, one very popular, Bianca Stratford (played by Larisa Oleynik) and the other, Katrina, or "Kat" (played by Julia Stiles) hated because of her gruff character. Their overbearing father (played by the hilarious Larry Miller), devises a scheme whereby Bianca cannot date until rebellious Katrina does, which seems an impossibility. Thereby is set up a scheme to pair Katrina off with the roguish Patrick Verona. One of the masterminds of this plot is Cameron James (played by Joseph Gordon-Levitt), a newcomer to Padua high, where the movie takes place. The other is his assistant of sorts, Michael Eckman (played by David Khumoltz).
Though somewhat predictable, especially if you have read Taming of the Shrew, it is an interesting light diversion. The dialogue is quite well done, intertwining a word or phrase from Shakespeare with modern teen slang. Other odes to Shakespeare are seen in Kat's friend who idolizes him as if he is a teen heartthrob, plus reading of his works in one Kat's classes. The timing in the dialogue is also very Shakespearean (for a comedy). It's Very rapid fire. I think both David Khumoltz and Larry Miller are amazingly funny!
Overall, this is not your typical shallow teen romance movie, but can appeal to anyone who enjoys witty dialogue, and many literary references.
The DVD is unremarkable. It has a good DD 5.1 soundtrack driven by a nice selection of alternative rock - Letters from Clio had several cameos, but I believe they mainly played cover tunes, not their own stuff. The DVD does not contain any special features.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 24, 2003
Heath Ledger is gorgeous in this film! Alongside Julia Stiles - one for the guys - they put some chemistry into the film. The best part of this film is where Patrick Verona - played by Heath Ledger - sings "Can't Take My Eyes Off You" to Kat Stratford - Julia Stiles. This is one of my all-time favourite songs, and it's so sweet! When he sacrifices his reputation for her. This could put people off watching this film, as of the whole Shakespeare link thing, but it's total nonsense. It's a modern story, with only subtle hints about Shakespeare about it, which won't instantly hit you.
Heath Ledger is the new ... Mel Gibson? They're both Aussies! Julia Stiles is definitely the new high school sweetheart, and after Kirsten Dunst's crown.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2000
Okay, this is not Kenneth Brannagh's Henry V. But I was most pleasantly surprised to find that this made sense out of a tricky Shakespeare play and that it did not wallow in the gross-out depths that teen flicks so often wallow in. In fact, it floated, with buoyant dialogue, gleeful mischief, stunning location shooting in the Puget Sound area, nicely paced direction and editing, and solid performances by a young cast. While portraying affluent suburban white teens, it also drops a wry comment on the popular Dawson Creek/media representation of the generation. This not only entertains, it could get teens and adults talking about filmmaking, Shakespeare, love, music and other things that matter in a positive way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2003
I had read the reviews as well as heard my friends' opinions on this movie and had thought that it would be great and witty and funny...and it was a great disappointment.
Kat and Bianca are sisters in the same school, Bianca being popular and Kat the polar opposite. Popular boy Joey wants Bianca and she feels likewise. However, their dad won't let Bianca date unless Kat does...which seems impossible to him. In order to have Bianca, Joey pays Patrick to woo Kat and date her. Seeing the money, Pat goes for it, only to fall in love with Kat...even though he's still taking money. Cameron is also in love with Bianca and had planned to tell Joey to pay Pat so that when Bianca can date, she would choose him. However, his plot is foiled until the end, when Bianca realizes what a bastard Joey is.
When I had seen the trailer, with Heath Ledger singing, I had thought this was when their true feelings are revealed. Little did I know that he was still taking money from Joey. This just seemed very much like betrayal to me and I didn't like that in a romantic comedy. I would never be able to forgive the guy as quickly as Kat did.
Also, I felt that there were so many subplots that the movie was all over the place. It felt as if the director was trying to ram all this information into and hour and something of film. As a result, many of the subplots are underdeveloped. Such as the romance between Cameron's geeky friend and Kat's Shakespearean addict friend. Also, Cameron and Bianca barely had any chemistry and Cameron's reasons for transferring are never referred to...he was just there one day, saw Bianca and wanted her. Joey and Bianca's "relationship" was also very fuzzy. Not to mention the part where Kat reveals to Bianca the very reason why she hates Joey and Bianca storms out of the room in anger.
The only redeeming qualities of this movie is the hilarious counselor and Kat and Bianca's father, who's comical talent is seen in this film, which is why it received two stars instead of one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2017
divertissant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse