countdown boutiques-francophones Furniture Kindle sports Tools Beauty



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 1, 2013
The device by itself is not bad. But there are big problems with Nettalk company.
1- They are not honest. They have Canadian web site (with prices that are already 50% more expensive than US website), but when you purchase any service on the Canadian website you will be billed in US$.
2- There is practically no customer service. The incoming calls in Canada has been down for over two weeks and there is no way to reach the Nettalk customer service. Two weeks is enough to build a whole new network and Nettalk fails or doesn't want to do anything. If you're lucky, you will receive an email after two days apologizing for inconvenience.

Before buying any equipment or services from Nettalk,try to talk to the customer service on the phone! Good Luck!

Forget Nettalk and try to negotiate with your existing phone service provider.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2013
Had it for 18 months now. It was fine after I found a replacement power adapter cord - the one that came with the unit was faulty and causing intermittent false rings, which are supposed to occur only after it is powered-up to indicate it is working. Online support was absolutely no help - I had to figure out what was wrong and how to fix it.
As of April 20 2013 all incoming calls fail - many people are complaining online about it. Netalk( located in Florida US) has not fixed the problem. My advice is to fine another Canadian company/ provider that might be more responsive. I will NOT be renewing the annual subscription.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2012
It is difficult to understand why renewals of my service with this loose agglomeration of employees (as opposed to a fully-functional company) is so incredibly difficult. I suspect the CEO isn't the sharpest knife in the drawer, like any bad commanding officer.

I'm still trying to renew as they put me on 67 minute holds (the absolute truth as I compose this on Monday morning, 11:00 AM) and provide a payment website which produces dire warnings of insecurity from my browser. And there is only ONE PHONE NUMBER into Nettalk. ONE.

The word is FUBAR as I recall from my military experience.

This would be an opportune time for Magicjack if they were up to it.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 25, 2011
Easy as pie to set up on my home network. The better your upload/download speeds the better the sound. Occasionally disconnected or experienced extraneous noise on the line but switching my Internet connection from Bell DSL (4-5M) to Tecksavvy Cable (25M) cleared that problem up PDQ.

As my wife is fond of say, "it may not be perfect but for $40 a year versus $900+ we can live with the occasional hiccup". I LOVE getting voice-mail messages via email.

**UPDATE** NetTalk recently reduced the number of free minutes from 5,000 per month down to 3,000 minutes. If you have teenagers or a chatty wife be prepared for some substantial bills! Averaging 1.5 hours per day on the phone is easier than you might think!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2011
The good points

Use any standard phone and it works flawlesly, good QoS, called UK fine first time, and you have a limited choice of numbers first time out, excellent value for money and only $30 per year for service after purchase. I was with Shaw paying $660 per year for effectivly the same service, for $30 I get all of North America an pay perhapsanothr $30 per year for international calls, eg UK was 300+ minutes for $5 so Im expecting to save $600 per year moving forwards. I use a wireless phone set, and just plug in the base station and have 3 more phones around the house with no additional cableing.

Works like the MagicKey USB units but a better solution than the MagicKey USB phone that required the computer it plugs into be always on if used as a home / business phone. The DUO Plugs directly into the router enableing service availability when all PC's / laptops are off, small enough to take away on vacation with your laptop so you can have your land line number travelling with you

Also has incuded is call forwarding so you can have the calls sent to a cell if travelling at no additional cost

The Bad points

Ordered from Amazon.ca, got a US version, told only fix was to send back and order another one, not happy with that as Amazon.ca should not hace US version in stock in the first place and there was no guarentee another US one would not be shipped. NetTALK initially lousy at resolving this, said could not be fixed at thier end (assuming from conversatiosn the devices MAC address is used to define its "location" in a pre determined DB, to pick up either US otr Canadian number selection). In the End Amazon did a great job and arranged with NetTALK to do a soft fix, so I could pull a local Canadian number on this unit and save another 3 weeks sending one back and awaiting delivery of its replacement. 20 minus on the phone with NetTalk fixed it and allwas good afterwards

Bad point 2, can only top up credit via paypal. you then have to pay fees, a $5 top up for international calls cost $.50c, thats a 10% hit against the customer to buy service, NetTalk need to hide this (slightly higher per minute costs) and accept direct CC payments so buying $5 or $10 or $xxx gives that amount of credit. Also less anopting but given they charge more for a Canadian unit only US funds are accepted, not Canadian for account credit.

Bad point 3 the device is $79.99 in Canada, and $69.99 in the US, ??? why, its the same unit, either works in either location,looks like gouging to me and offering a lower level of service(see abouv comment on only taking US funds)

Overall

The savings and future cost reduction for home phone service significantly outweigh the initial pain and minor moans I have. In short the unit works, I can pick up my phone and make a call anywhere any time and not have to worry about the costs.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2013
Canadians ......Stay away from NetTalk which never worked in Canada.

If I was to rate their service in the last 16 months I would give them 0/5 with lack of communication and poor customer service ........STAY AWAY... there service has not been working in Canada for over a week with NO 911 service or NO incoming calls been received and outgoing calls rarely work. You have to log in on their Internet forums to discover why the service constantly doesn't work from other user complaining since they don't inform you.

However you will get constant junk emails requesting that you activate auto renewal payments .. I will be porting out..

Here is a example of forum post about their network issue.

"Canadian incoming issues as of 4/18/2013

We are currently experiencing an outage that is currently affecting some of our Canadian Customers. Our underlying carrier had a fiber cut which is affecting incoming calls. The technicians are currently in the field repairing the cut fiber connection. We apologize for the inconvenience."

"This notice is to inform you that currently you are still able to send and receive calls, but due to an error by our vendor that provides our 911 service, you will be required to use an alternative method to make 911 calls."

.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2017
I bought this a while ago for my son who didn't use it. So I activated it recently and YES customer service is non-existent. I could not get it to hook up directly with my modem however it did hook up very easily via the USB port. It appears to work well on the USB, one annoying "other" problem I have is that I have a previous business phone number assigned to me so were getting mutiple phone call. Again I cant get through to "customer service" to see if I can change it. I tried e-mailing about the modem problem but have not received a response from Net Duo. I'm hopefully going to get some help from my modem manufacturer. So BEWARE if you buy one of these if you need help you are basically on your own.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2011
I was using magicjack but it was a pain running it with Ubuntu via a vitual machine, I kept roaming the net for a planB and found the netalk duo which can be on 24/7. I was not too sure about the regional codes available but reading the comments on amazon.ca I've found that user took the time post them (Thanks to him)! Sound quality is as good as classic landline. Setup took 5 minutes, just need to log in on the netalk site with the credentials provided in the box sent by amazon (arrived in 2 days). Advertisement is less way agressive than the magicjack, I will certainly renew for the next year as soon as I found out how :)

UPDATE: Downgrading the rating to 3 stars because the renewals form does not work with Canadian credit cards, after waiting 2 hours on their customer service line, their only solution was to get an American credit card (why do they sell the product in Canada then). Anyway, the real solution was to get a pre paid visa card and set it up with a random valid US address, seting the zip code is a bit tricky since American zip code have 5 characters instead of 6. After some googling it seems to turns out that their AVS only checks for the Numeric characters (maybe the reason why it does not work with Canadian Zip codes). You can set up your credit card with a American zip code like 123 54X and in the nettalk form enter 12345, that made it for me after 3 days of research. It took a lot of extra steps but I'm now set up for the next two years. Hope the device will last that long.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2013
Product was easy to setup. Area codes are limited. I live in North Bay, Ontario but locals recognize my number as Sudbury, Ontario and question me about it all the time. They are correct from North Bay this is a long distance number. When I make long distance calls I can expect good quality maybe 60% of the time on the first try. It usually takes 2 or 3 tries to get a clear line. When I make long distance calls longer than 1/2 an hour they get cut off with no warning. Currently it has been one week since anyone has been able to call into this phone. NetTalk acknowledges there is a problem and engineers are working on it. Most of my family members have Rogers cellphones and they have never been able to call this phone and have it connect. 90% of the time I have issues calling them using this product. I just spent 38 minutes on the phone calling customer service, I was told by whoever picked up that he was located in Florida. They have no idea how much longer this is going to last. Best he could tell me was that all customers will receive an email once it is fixed. NOT IMPRESSED I never received an email to inform me in the first place that there was a problem.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2012
I have it connected in London, ON; there are only limited area codes available. I have it connected via Rogers internet. It is good when it works - sound quality is reasonably good and clear - better than the cell phone at times.

The problem is that there are times when we cannot dial out - we have noticed that this is typically when calling a Rogers phone number (such as cell phone, landline) - you just hear an engaged tone when we know that the cellphone is not engaged (I have tried to call my own 2 Rogers cell phones). There is no problem calling other numbers at such times or receiving calls including Rogers incoming. Not sure what the problem is - I wonder if Rogers somehow blocks these outgoing calls. (And there are no issues with out internet connection at these times.) As a result the reliability is questionable and it cannot be relied on as the sole phone.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question


Need customer service? Click here