countdown boutiques-francophones Beauty Furniture Kindle sports Tools



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 25, 2017
We've been looking for this movie for a long time. It was a great price and it arrived very fast. Packaging was perfect. |Thanks. Spinney
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2017
Not a big fan of Patrick but to me it's one of his better ones
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2017
Its an old favourite and we wanted it in Blue Ray for posterity reasons. We love Patrick Swayze and have many of his movies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2017
Good movie, great price , fast delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 25, 2013
arrived in good time and worked well, no problems. a great movie and worth the money for sure, glad i bought it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon July 21, 2004
What guy hasn't gone into a nightclub or bar with his buddies at some point and thought to himself that bouncer's not so tuff. In this high octane action B flick, Patrick Swayze (Dalton) shows us size really doesn't matter and he's definitely not afraid to mix it up. This film appeals to the tough guy in all of us and as far as action goes, it delivers the goods. Patrick Swayze does a good job as Dalton, but even better is the performance by the much underrated Sam Elliot as Dalton's amigo (Wade). Together Dalton and Wade kick butt and show that their bond is unbreakable. Not surprising, Ben Gazzara's character makes you want to reach through the TV screen and pound him to a pulp. There is a spectacular fight scene between; wait I don't want to spoil it for anyone. There is also some really good music in this movie from Jeff Healey. Overall this movie is non-stop action and good entertainment for fight film fans. The DVD has a good picture and stereo sound but really nothing more than that. I give the movie itself 5 stars, but some kind of cast interviews or commentary would have been nice.

DVD Features:
Original theatrical trailer
English: Stereo surround
French: Stereo surround
Spanish: Mono
English, French, Spanish & Portuguese language subtitles
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 24, 2009
This movie although panned by the critics, has become a cult favourite. This is a revenge action movie. This movie is worth multiple watchings. What can go wrong with Patrick Swayze, Ben Gazarr and Sam Elliot in the cast, especially with Jeff Healey playing the music.? There is no hidden meaning in the movie and you don't need a critic to tell you what's wrong with the movie. Also at the end you know the movie is over and what happened.
patrick Swayze plays a tough cooler in an upscale bar. The owner of a tumble down bar, hires Swayze to help enhance his clientele and image.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 15, 2000
In the grand tradition of fight now, ask questions later, comes Road House. Patrick Swayze is Dalton. He is the new breed of bar bouncers. Calling himself the cooler, Dalton is small, a martial arts expert, and he has a degree in psychology. This means bad news for the regulars at the Duece, Duece because Dalton has been hired to clean it up. And clean it up he does. But first he had to personally put every piece of bad element he doesn't want out on their rear ends. Everything seems to be going right until Dalton runs head to head with Brad Wesley(Ben Gazzera). Wesley is like the town's dictator, he owns a piece of just about every business in town and he doesn't like Dalton's presence one bit. Lucky for the audience one of them must go and Dalton isn't one to budge easily.
This is a guys movie all the way. Swayze is awesome as Dalton. He is cool, confident, and tough as nails. Gazzera is good as the villian and he sends plenty of thugs over to the Duece, Duece to keep the action coming. Sam Elliot is great in his supporting role as Dalton's mentor, Wade Garrett. And of course there has to be women, and there are, but none hotter than Kelly Lynch, Dalton's love interest. Roadhouse never slows down. It has a great soundtrack and it is well directed. It's just a fun movie.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2001
You have to see this movie for one reason---Ben Gazzara. Gazzara plays Brad Wesley, a murderous crime boss with a small town in his clutches. He resides at the Wesley compound, where he commands a small army villainous redneck toadies. Among the villains, you have Jimmy, the pudgy karate-kicking ex-convict. Tinker, bloated and witless, is the comic relief in a movie already laden with accidental comic relief. You have the knife-dork, who also played the sword-dork in Masters of the Universe. There is the slouching, spineless bar tender, Pat. And you have O' Connor, who loses every single fight in the movie, proving himself even more inept than the combined efforts of the Black Widows from Every Which Way But Loose.
Enter Dalton, karate-chopping philosophy major, who is also world famous for a profession ("cooler"---not bouncer) that does not exist. He finds a girl with hair almost as big and poofy as his own, and challenges the dominion of Brad Wesley. This movie is bad, really bad, and is so serious in its badness that it seems almost hypnotic. The fight scenes are completely mindless. The dialogue is only a step above Manos "The Hands of Fate". Unmotivated drama is shoved in like a clumsy needle. The movie is, as Dalton might put it, Zen in its badness. In the end, you get to see Dalton battling a spear-throwing Brad Wesley. Now where else would you get to see Ben Gazzara chunking leaf-bladed spears? And that is why you MUST see this horrible, horrible movie. Ben Gazzara. I'm personally waiting for the sequel, where Brad Wesley returns augmented by cyborg technology. Road House 2: The Wrath of Wesley, or something like that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2003
This movie is one of those films that has a dumb plot and a worthless meaning usually I can't stand those kind of movies but Roadhouse is exceptional. The film keeps you at interest to what is going on. I like the person Swayze portrays in this film he is a philosophical bouncer who has one of the best names in a film I have ever heard of DALTON! I like the whole philosophy major turned Bouncer it is a nice idea in a film. As far as the other actors go well there is Kelly Lynch who is pure eye candy for the film and will keep any guy interested. Sam Elliot just makes you laugh his character is so dumb and rediculous but very funny. I see alot of people that have been in little films here and there in this film but really the stand out actor here is the star Patrick Swayze. It sure is not one of the greatest pieces of cinema ever created but the film is what it is it is supposed to be a action thriller but many people like myself observe this more of as a Comedy. This is a really good movie for those like myself who just enjoy funny light entertainment with a touch of sleeze.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse