countdown All-New Kindle Music Deals Store boutiques-francophones vpcflyout Tools Learn more Furniture sports

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
534
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$64.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

This blu-ray box set passed my criteria for "movies I am willing to buy again" for a number of reasons. The main reason was that the apsect ratio problems from the previous DVD box set have been corrected. That alone made this worth buying. The wealth of new bonus features, in addition to many old featurettes, was the second valid reason.

I watched all three movies plus a smattering of bonus features over the course of the holidays. People, let me tell you something. As crappy as the second movie is, it's much more enjoyable if you watch all three movies in one marathon session. Despite the recasting of Jennifer, the three movies meld together as one like very few other series. Connections not immediately obvious become apparent. Plus, you can't get from 1 to 3 without watching 2.

The 5.1 surround sound was excellent, and the 1080p picture simply great. What is also great is that a lot of the cheesier special effects (particularly makeup) were not ruined by 1080p. The illusions still hold.

As mentioned, the bonus features are ample. There are new featurettes and interviews to go with this 25th anniversary edition, as well as the older ones. There is also the previously seen footage of Eric Stoltz as Marty McFly, enlightening as it is. One thing I haven't gotten around to yet is the "u control" feature.

I am really glad I got this set. I re-gifted my old DVDs to an uncle who doesn't care about aspect rations and was just plain glad to have these awesome movies.

5 stars.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2016
I am reviewing the 30th anniversary blu ray pack, canadian release.

Anyone reading this should already know what to expect from the films, so I'm reviewing just this release in terms of content and what is physically provided.

The case is physically better than the 25th anniversary edition, but the discs are lazy blue-on-silver silkscreened. Not the full colour silkscreen like the 25th edition, and the international version (of this release). The case uses the increasingly popular cardboard slide in disc holders.. I have many releases with this type of case and while I haven't had any damage from it yet, it still doesn't feel right sliding a disc against a piece of cardboard.

The bonus content is nice, and has a couple of newly filmed skits that I thought were very cool.

Since the TV series was so mediocre I chose to simply go for the movies, and it seems to be a good choice, the packaging on the big bundle isn't worth the extra money at all.

This is a great release and brings together three of the best time traveling movies of all time, in a very nice package.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2016
This trilogy has been one of my favorites for a very long time. The wonderful surprise with this package is the wonderful documentaries that accompany the original three movies. It is delightful to hear from the directors and actors about how the movies were made and some of the amazing digressions in the taping, planning and executing of the films. This is one of my favorite movie purchases from Amazon to date. Thank you!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2016
Without a doubt, this is the best live-action film trilogy of all time (pun intended). When the first movie came out I actually didn't like it. At the time it just seemed like another crude '80s teen comedy to me. But the Part II changed all that. Here was thoughtful science-fiction--a clever exercise in time travel theory that the first film only touched on briefly in the last few minutes. And by revisiting the events of the first film so creatively, Part II made me love Part I ... which is the cleverest part of all! Part III rounded out the trilogy nicely but I remember sitting in the theater feeling immensely sad the ride was over just as I was getting into it. But thanks to these DVDs I can relive the fun and adventure over and over again.

This is a nice DVD collection. It has all the extras from previously released sets but most importantly it has a quality transfer of the films themselves. The two versions of the 20th anniversary collection were plagued with framing then color issues (on the second and third films, respectively). FINALLY I've got a great quality version of my favorite time travel trilogy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2010
How can you go wrong with Back to the Future. This is simply one of the best trilogy that exist. I know some people complain about the fake widescreen. I don't know if the problem was corrected or not, but even on a 16x9 screen, you won't notice it. English and French audio track for all three movies and MANY extras for you to learn even more about each of the three movies. A must buy.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2004
I read somebody else's review from December 2002 about how there were errors on discs 2 and 3, that they weren't really widescreen. I did a little more research and found this information on dvdtown's site:
The most controversial part of the video concerns the framing of the image for widescreen viewing. When Universal went back to the full-frame, open-matte negatives to do the DVDs, they made some changes, intentional or not, from the laser disc framing. Then they issued an official press release as follows: "Universal Studios Home Video is aware of a minor technical framing issue on the 'Back to the Future Trilogy' widescreen DVDs. The framing appears differently from the laserdisc releases for approximately two minutes during 'Back to the Future II' and four minutes during 'Back to the Future III.' The framing difference is unnoticeable to widescreen DVD viewers and does not detract from or interrupt the viewing experience. Consumers with further questions can call (888) 703-0010."
The studio is probably right in saying that the differences are unnoticeable (whether they meant "widescreen" or "full screen" or whatever), because unless a viewer has a photographic memory of the theatrical versions or has the laser discs on hand for direct comparison, there is little to notice. It's doubtful that anyone but the most meticulous "Back to the Future" partisan need worry about any possible framing problems.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2003
The DVD is an ideal medium for box sets of this type. The films look great, sound great, and there's the nice bonus features to keep the fans of the film entertained for many additional hours. There are two commentaries per DVD, and luckily the participants in the commentaries (Zemeckis, Gale, et al.) are interesting and have some good stories/insights. There are also a number of little documentaries, on a variety of topics.
Clearly, the first Back to the Future is the jewel of the series - fun, fresh (at the time), with outstanding performances that catch just the right spirit. Both Michael J. Fox (as Marty McFly) and Christopher Lloyd (as Doc Brown) get right into their characters and we have fun because they are having fun. The time travel is pretty simplistic and follows the one timeline rule - if you change something in the past, the future you know will be altered by it (see the Terminator films, Star Trek, etc.). However, the filmakers wisely avoid explaining time travel in detail, which is a smart move because it isn't really a science fiction film, but a comedy.
Back to the Future II is much more a polished exercise in filmaking, and it feels somewhat like a technical exercise. Because the timeline winds back and forth between 4 time periods (including two different versions of the year 1985), it certainly benefits from a second or third viewing. Watch it to admire the technical skill, and the deft juggling of the time travel - Marty gets to watch himself play at the Enchantment Under the Sea dance, for example - and try to avoid the cynical thought that the filmakers are just trying to repackage the 1st film to make more money.
I was very disappointed in the third film when I saw it in the theatres, but it's growing on me since then. It is still the weakest of the three - it's a little thin on plot and the dialogue is definitely below the standard of the first two. However, it comes together with a fitting if artificially cheerful conclusion at the end.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon September 17, 2011
Universal certainly has done it up right in re-releasing the Back to the Future franchise as they have done this time around.This four disc set comes with a remastered Back to the Future(July/85),Back to the Future 2(Nov/89),Back to the Future 3(May/90) and a special features fourth disc,but more on that later.
I usually go into plot summaries but by now these legendary films' plots are well known by most so I'll just skim the surface.All the film's two main stars are Michael Fox as Marty McFly and Christopher Lloyd as "Doc"or Professor Brown.The first film introduces us to the BTTF world as Marty works part time helping Doc clean his work and experimental environment.One day the Doc has plans to test his theory of time travel using a Delorean car.The plutonium which powers the flux capacitor which powers the car was stolen and the Doc gets killed before he can go.This forces Marty to drive it and he goes back to 1955.He finds and meets his parents and he also meets and convinces the younger Doc to help get him back to 1985.Back in 1985 he prevents the Doc from getting killed,but Marty soon realizes they have changed time somehow,as things are quite different at home.While he's taking this in the Doc appears from the future and whisks Marty back with him to prevent a tragedy from happening involving Marty himself.
In the second film we find the Doc and Marty trying to prevent Marty's future son from being arrested.Marty poses as his son and gets the job done.However Biff,Marty's nemesis from the first movie,is now rich and famous and married to his mother.It seems the 1985 Biff has given a sports book to his younger self,who has bet on every event in the book and racked up alot of money in the process.In order to correct this they travel back to 1955 to retrieve the book.When they try and leave together the Delorean(driven by Doc)is struck in mid air by lightning and disappears.Moments pass when he is approached by a courier who gives Marty a 70 year old letter.It is from the Doc in 1885.Marty goes back to the 1955 Doc for help.
The last Future involves the year 1885 of course.Marty and Doc in 1955 use the info in the 70 year old letter to locate and repair the Delorean.Marty returns to 1885 to retrieve the Doc,but knowing the Doc will be killed if he doesn't get to him in time.Marty manages to circumvent things but the Doc falls in love and will eventually marry and have children(there would be no future Docs without this happening!).Along with this is the problem of getting the car up to speed to return in time to 1985.The Doc determines the only solution to be to push the car up to speed via a train.This they do in a harrowing running battle with Biffs' own ancestor.As they dematerialize from 1885 to 1985 onto the rail tracks which still run on the same spot,he barely gets out before the car is demolished by a modern train.There will certainly be no more time traveling for Marty or Doc.Moments later the Doc from 1885 appears in a train hovering over the ground just to let Marty know all is well and to leave him a picture of he and his family.The film ends as we see the Doc roar back to....?
Imaginative,well written and smart these films will leave you on the edge of your seats from start to finish.The plots will also sometimes leave your head spinning as you try to keep up with the changing time lines and whether it all jives or not.The supporting cast is wonderful throughout and the two main stars give excellent and unforgettable performances.As if a remastering of the films wasn't enough,they have added a fourth disc into the mix filled with special features.There is a six part documentary on the film,deleted scenes,several featurettes,the Power of Love music vid,audio commentaries with each film,a look at the Universal studio theme park BTTF ride,and more.
Technically each film is in its a/r of 1:85:1 and the sound and picture have never looked better than this.
If you have fond memories of the BTTF franchise,fasten your Delorean seat belts for this four DVD set.The films sparkle like never before as you re-discover this wonderful set of flicks all over again.Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2004
Since I have already reviewed each of the movies separately, this will be more of a review of the DVD set than the films. But, to give a little bit of background: The "Back to the Future" trilogy are action/adventure/comedy/science fiction movies that deal with time travel. The films started with the premise of going back into time and seeing what your parents were like in high school, but they became more involved than just that. The films also touch on what happens if you go back in time and how your actions can affect the future. These are not serious movies. They are fast paced, and are a lot of fun to watch. These were some of my favorite movies when I was growing up.
This is a three disc set with each movie being on a DVD. Each film has multiple commentary tracks (a Q&A session serves as a commentary), and a pop-up trivia feature so that when you are watching the movie little tidbits of information about the scene or the making of the scene. There are also deleted scenes, outtakes, and two "making of" documentaries for each film.
There has been some controversy about framing issues for discs two and three, and this held me up from purchasing the movies for more than a year. On the widescreen set (which I am reviewing) for several minutes in each movie the movie is mis-framed. Specifically the frame is raised higher than it should be so that in one particular scene it cuts off the bottom of Marty's body and his hand and shows more of the empty air above his head. Knowing about the mis-framing bothered me quite a bit, but when I was watching the movies this time I forgot all about it and didn't notice it at all. If you see a screen capture of a scene it is noticeable, but not so much when you're enjoying the movie. If this is a concern, Universal will replace your discs with corrected DVDs, but I still haven't been able to find one in the store. As it stands I am perfectly happy with my set and will not be sending the discs in for replacement (despite the framing issue bothering me on principle).
This is a great DVD set, and though I may not be watching the special features over and over again, I am so glad to own these movies on DVD. The movies still hold up well years later (even the first movie). If you like the Back to the Future movies then you should get this set.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2004
Let's face it. Practically everyone has seen the Back to the Future films. They have become known around the world as being part of one of the greatest trilogies ever made. The films combine superior acting, action, humor, first rate special effects, an amazing overall soundtrack and an extremely interesting look at time travel. The entire cast is filled with amazing actors that include Michael J Fox, Lea Thompson, Christopher Lloyd, and Thomas F Wilson. The only dissapointment cast wise was Crispin Glover. The reason is not because of a bad performance. In fact, he was quite good as George McFly. However, he only signed on to be in the first film, which was quite a dissapointment to the fans of the trilogy. The main reason the cast did such a great job, is because they were assigned the difficult task of playing more than one character. Over the course of the three films, Michael J Fox, Lea Thompson and Thomas F Wilson played 8 different characters between the three of them.
The extras included in the DVD set are outstanding. There are featurettes, deleted scenes, outtakes, and much more. This really lets you see the films in a whole new light. I did have a few complaints however. As you have probably already read, the widescreen format on the second and third films is absolutely horrible. My other complaint, is that they took the "To Be Continued" out of the first film for some reason. While this may be a very small flaw, I was still upset because the film should be shown in its intirety. Overall, this is one of the greatest trilogies ever made in my opinion. The set is worth buying just for the films themselves. The DVD extras only make the set that much more attractive. Now despite the flaws the set has, it is definately worthy of being added to anyone's DVD collection.
Just in case there is anyone out there who has not seen the Back to the Future films, I will include a short synopsis of each film:
Back to the Future
The first chapter of the trilogy introduces us to Marty McFly(Michael J Fox) and his friend Emmet "Doc" Brown ( Christopher Lloyd)who is perceived by the town of Hill Valley as a crazy old mad scientist. Doc has discovered a way to travel through time, by building a time machine into a Delorian. Marty is accidentally sent back into the year 1955, where he must find the 1955 version of Doc to help him get home. Along the way, he meets and becomes friends with his parents(who don't know his true identity), and he also has to deal with the town bully named Biff ( Thomas F Wilson). To make matters worse, Marty's mother ( Lea Thompson)has the hots for him, and he must find a way to make her fall for his father(Crispin Glover), to insure that he is born.
Back to the Future II
The second chapter of the trilogy takes us 40 years into the future, where Marty and Doc travel to the year 2015 to insure that Marty's kids turn out alright. Along the way Marty picks up an alminac that contains the outcome of every major sporting event from 1980 to the year 2000. Unfortunately, the elderly 2015 version of Biff manages to get his hands on the alminac as well as the time machine, and delivers the alminac to himself in 1955. When Marty returns to his own time, everything is turned around, and Biff is the most powerful man in town. Now, Marty and Doc must travel back to 1955 to put things right without running into their other selves.
Back to the Future III
The third and final chapter of the trilogy takes us to the year 1885 in the Old West. Doc is accidentally sent back to the year 1885 after the Delorian is struck by lightning, which leaves Marty stranded in 1955. Once again, Marty must find the 1955 version of Doc to help him with the time machine. When Marty discovers through old records that Doc is going to be killed by a psychotic gunslinger named Mad Dog Tannen, he travels back to 1885 to prevent the tragic death from occuring. Unfortunately, back in 1885, Doc manages to meet a woman named Clara ( Mary Steenburgen) whom he falls for at first sight. This makes Doc want to stay in 1885, regardless of what happens to him.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse