countdown boutiques-francophones Luxury Beauty home Kindle Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 1, 2017
I found the sound so much better on this version, compared to the movie. There are also quite a few 'fill in the gap' moments that the movie edited out. Unfortunately, the crudeness of how people act (sorry, how young men behave, even shamelessly) is reflected as a true accounting and a brutally honest representation of war.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2017
Excellent film about life aboard a German WW II uboat. Watch with subtitles for a more authentic flavour. Can't imagine how these guys did it for months on end for 6 years. 75% died.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2017
Great movie. Great seller!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2016
Quite possibly the greatest war movie ever made. Not to be missed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2017
An excellent movie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2013
My father in law served in German u-boots in WW II. He was one of the lucky ones who survived. He watched the director's cut, in German of course, and he said it was very authentic. All the things in the movie would not happen on any one boat, but he said that if you combine the stories of any 5 or 6 boats, you would have a move like that.

I have watched the movie in its dubbed version and German version. I much prefer the German version. I also have the original uncut version. I highly recommend you only watch that in its German version or you will miss a lot.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2003
An excellent movie,superbly made. Even better than the U-571 (where in U-571 lacked in emotions,just kind of fast paced actions most of the time except at the end where the crew has to set up a decoy). Das Boot vividly painted the tensioons, emotions of the crew, so eventhough they are Hitler's soldiers, we are forced to symphatized with them. It also vividly painted the life of a submariner.
Hmmm, did you guys notice that lemon is the all time favourite fruits in the movie?
The only suggestion that I can give is : listen it in its original language (if you understand German), the english dialogues kind of neutralize the tensions/ emotions that the crews feels at the time.
If you could, check out the SUPERBIT version of this magnificent film. All the details is fanfastic. In the regular version, you could actually see shadow/grains in the corners of the screen.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2004
Available for the very first time in the US this fully uncut 2 disc version which aired on German television as a mini series in 1981 is sure to be a big hit!
This has been long awaited for me. It was previously available only in Germany on VHS in a 3 cassette set. I bought a copy...2 years ago but don't know nearly enough German to understand it. This will hopefully have both English and German soundtracks with subtitles for each.
I have a HUGE surround sound system in my basement with speakers on the ceiling. I cannot wait to watch it on this and make it seem like the U-boats are doing a flugnüber (German for "overflight") in my own basement!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2004
This film is amazing.
I served in the US Navy's submarine force, and Petersen's movie is the closest you can get to being in a sub without actually signing enlistment papers. This is one of the few war movies that is not relentlessly propagandistic. Petersen presents a story of humans--not stereotypes, not jingoistic misrepresentations of sailors. By the end of the film, you'll probably find yourself cheering for the Kriegsmarine crew, or at least hoping that they get home safely. As an American, raised after World War Two, I grew up with nothing but negative images and stereotypes of WWII Germany and Germans. Petersen and his cast do an amazing job of breaking through those representations and portraying a story of young, proud men who defy the odds and the elements and do what they perceive of as their duty, even though they find no glory--just despair.
I would recommend that you read Herbert Werner's memoir Iron Coffins in addition to watching this movie, especially if you are unfamiliar with the Battle of the Atlantic. Also, after the end of the movie, you should go outside, stand in the sunshine, and be glad that you are.
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2002
This movie captures perfectly the claustrophobia of subsurface warfare. As the destroyers pass overhead dropping blind, killing devices the Germans submariners, unable to see their attackers, sit often in silent fear waiting for the world around them to stop exploding. This must be what the actual German U-boats went through.
Fine acting and a top-quality script do nothing but enhance the powerfully understated directing. Everything that happens just seems to naturally occur. The whole thing has something of a documentary feel to it. It also has one of the great tragic endings of all time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse