countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Furniture All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
86
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$16.71+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 1, 2002
BOYZ N THE HOOD depicts something that I witnessed first-hand during my teen years in the ghetto of Portland, Oregon: the tragedy of intelligent, even sensitive, young men being turned into statistics: six out of ten black men don't live past age 25.
Singleton does an excellent job depicting the emptiness that results when young men are not given father figures to model themselves after. Though I am not African American, BOYZ N THE HOOD "spoke" to me; I don't think that one would have to be African American in order to relate to this movie because it illustrates the universal importance of the presence of a father in the development of the son's identity; in the book ABSENT FATHERS, LOST SONS Guy Corneau writes that "to not have a father is to not have a backbone." In BOYZ N THE HOOD Tre (Cuba Gooding Jr.) is given a backbone by his father Furious (Lawrence Fishburne). Ricky (Morris Chestnut) and Doughboy (Ice Cube) are not so fortunate.
If only there were more fathers like Furious!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2002
Boyz N the Hood was and still is one of the most powerful movies I've ever seen. Shot entirely in South Central LA to present the movie as realistic as possible. The movie debuted in theater back in 1991 and had an immediate impact on almost everyone who viewed it.
The story about 3 friends growing up in the hood in South Central LA. Each one with their own individual struggle and goals in life. Doughboy (Ice Cube) ,who is a drug dealer, has been in and out of trouble throughout his young life and seems to be happy with his surroundings. Doughboy's brother Ricky (Morris Chestnut) a teenage father with bright hopes and aspirations of becoming an NFL football player ; and Ricky's best friend Tre (Cuba Gooding Jr.) who hopes and dreams of higher education and an escape from the dwelling of the hood. "The Hood" where saying the wrong thing or looking at someone the wrong way can end in death. Tre's father (Larry Fishburne) is a responsible, educated and strict father who makes sure his son stays on the right track in achieving his goals in life. Teaching him about responsibility and keeping your cool in adverse situations in order to make a thoughtful descision. Tre's resolve will be tested when tragedy strikes close to home and revenge and murder seem like the only solution.
Fantastic direction by John Singleton and equally impressive acting by all characters are the reason Boyz N the Hood was such a huge success. It was nominated for two acedemy awards (Direction and Screenplay.) ... You have to see this one for yourself you won't be sorry.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2001
Boyz N the Hood was the movie debut of african-amemrican movie director John Singleton.Anyone who've seen this movie can remember the stir it caused around 1991 when it was released, at a time when George Bush was president and ghetto riots occured in LA later in the Rodney King incident.
One can be rather amazed but such such a a stark but accurate portait of the hood and most impotantly what it is living in the projects.
I have rarely seen such as clever and brillant outlook on african-american issues in a movie.John Singleton here doesn't glorify violence or gangs, he address and demonstrates these issues by telling the story of three young black teenagers living in a rather harsh neighborhood : South Central LA.
What struck the most was how accurate this movie actually is.It doesn't portait mens who thrives with gang-violence but rather are trying escaping it, finding a better surrounding.
Not only Boyz N the Hood does a great job in acheiving this but it also manage to tell us meaningful issues such as single-parenthood, fatherhood, sex and education.
A strong duality also did struck me : scopes of imporoving your life and how it can be done.On one hand you've got one child who's got a caring and reponsible father, played amazingly by Lawrence Fishburne and other young mens such as Doughboy who live wihout knowing his father.Clearly Singleton has pointed out brillantly that men that have fathers taking care of them and loving them are more chance to suceed.In the end, Tre choose not to live within the gang-violence framework showing us how crucial a role-model father can be for his child.
Two different paths and two different families, those of Tre and Doughboy, demontrates how single-handly having a father can change their fate : life or death.
The daring finale where Tre choose his fate and doughboy avenge his brother is one of the most touching and emotionnal scenes I have ever encountered.I was emotionnally touched and deeply saddened by this scene (along when Cuba Cooding jr handles the gun to Lawrencne Fishburne).
The fact that Singleton also manage to capture the true essence of South Central LA when football wiz Ricky encounter his death is also one of the most daring scene.The music stops, Ricky runs trying to escape his death, gun's fired, the shooting happens and nobody can stop it : this is the realness of violence.You can't escape it.
More importantly, you are not witnessing the hood YOU ARE LIVING IT.It is truly breathtaking !!!
Such a clever movie should not be overlooked.
It has genius written all over it...
5 stars and tears to your eyes
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2001
Boyz N the Hood was the movie debut of african-amemrican movie director John Singleton.Anyone who've seen this movie can remember the stir it caused around 1991 when it was released, at a time when George Bush was president and ghetto riots occured in LA later in the Rodney King incident.
One can be rather amazed but such such a a stark but accurate portait of the hood and most impotantly what it is living in the projects.
I have rarely seen such as clever and brillant outlook on african-american issues in a movie.John Singleton here doesn't glorify violence or gangs, he address and demonstrates these issues by telling the story of three young black teenagers living in a rather harsh neighborhood : South Central LA.
What struck the most was how accurate this movie actually is.It doesn't portait mens who thrives with gang-violence but rather are trying escaping it, finding a better surrounding.
Not only Boyz N the Hood does a great job in acheiving this but it also manage to tell us meaningful issues such as single-parenthood, fatherhood, sex and education.
A strong duality also did struck me : scopes of imporoving your life and how it can be done.On one hand you've got one child who's got a caring and reponsible father, played amazingly by Lawrence Fishburne and other young mens such as Doughboy who live wihout knowing his father.Clearly Singleton has pointed out brillantly that men that have fathers taking care of them and loving them are more chance to suceed.In the end, Tre choose not to live within the gang-violence framework showing us how crucial a role-model father can be for his child.
Two different paths and two different families, those of Tre and Doughboy, demontrates how single-handly having a father can change their fate : life or death.
The daring finale where Tre choose his fate and doughboy avenge his brother is one of the most touching and emotionnal scenes I have ever encountered.I was emotionnally touched and deeply saddened by this scene (along when Cuba Cooding jr handles the gun to Lawrencne Fishburne).
The fact that Singleton also manage to capture the true essence of South Central LA when football wiz Ricky encounter his death is also one of the most daring scene.The music stops, Ricky runs trying to escape his death, gun's fired, the shooting happens and nobody can stop it : this is the realness of violence.You can't escape it.
More importantly, you are not witnessing the hood YOU ARE LIVING IT.It is truly breathtaking !!!
Such a clever movie should not be overlooked.
It has genius written all over it...
5 stars and tears to your eyes
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2001
I have read some interesting reviews and I admit I enjoyed the movie. Yet, I can't give it a good review. One interview said to be African-American is a curse. No. To have a very narrow negative perspective on life is the curse. It's self defeating and the worst aspect of this movie. Some choice examples:
Tre's father explaining why there's a gun shop and liqueur store on every corner in black neighborhoods - 'they want us to kill ourselves." Really, I never knew about this grand conspiracy. I thought the shop owners might simply be entrepreneurs. Instead, maybe the government owns the shops in this grand master plan to destroy blacks. Perhaps the shop owners are Klansmen with a few extra bucks to spare. Sound plausible?
In another scene Tre's father explains that the army is no place for a black man. Yet, I knew plenty of ex-armed forces people who found good jobs at the company I worked. Dr. Stanley in his book "The Millionaire Mind" claims that some of the very rich found their military training very useful in helping to build discipline and leadership. Yet, the army is just a trap for black men.
A friend of mine once admonished me that I don't know what it's like to be black in this country. Well, I don't know what it's like to be Vietnamese in the 1970s. Yet many of the Vietnamese in my neighborhood are very successful. I have little doubt if Vietnamese had been gang-bangers and drug dealers there would be no shortage of apologists saying how these disenfranchised people just can't help themselves. And that is the general theme of this movie. Yes, Tre makes it because of his father's strict discipline. Other than this point the movie is negative. And even on the score of parental responsibility the movie falls short. Perhaps it isn't the grand white conspiracy, bully cops, or racism but illegitimacy - 70% among blacks up from 20% in 1964 - that is one of the causes of all the problems in the hood.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2001
This film is a masterpiece about Afro-American fate in America. We can see some black boys growing up with all the pains of their age in the midst of a neighborhood that is no community, but only the battle field of violence and the exploitation of the weaker ones by the stronger ones under the ever-roaming police helicopters that beam their lights down over the houses and the streets. When age goes by, when they get big enough to know how to put bullets in a gun, they start shooting and they all end up in a pool of blood, with the police, particularly the black members of it, just watching those « n.... » getting drunk, getting high and then getting shot. Few are those who can escape that fate. Few are those who can resist the desire to be with their brothers and fight against the others, who are, from another point of view, also their brothers. Those happy few are entirely locked up in their fateful individualism which is nothing but the result of their being coward enough or smart enough not to take part in the slaughter or just of their being lucky enough to be spared. Then they are alone, condemned to be alone and they will only try to survive in this society, alone, not caring for a non-existant community, having lost their friends and running away from those who killed their friends. More that fate this is a curse. Dr Jacques COULARDEAU, Paris Universities II and IX.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2000
I was reading some of the reviews posted below, and was irritated when this movie was so often referred to as a "gang" movie. This isn't a movie about inner-city gangs, folks! The main characters, played by Cuba Gooding, Jr., and Lawrence Fishburne, and his friends Ricky and Doughboy (played by Ice Cube) are NOT gang members. They are simply poor, urban youths trying to make their lives the best they can.
I can totally relate to Lawrence Fishburne's character, Furious, who amid the turmoil and suffocating poverty and despair of the ghetto, is trying to build a business that will improve both his family life and the neighborhood, as well as trying to keep his son (Gooding) on the straight and narrow path. Fishburne's character reminded me so much of my own father.
I watched this movie in high school, and was blown away by the frankness of the story-telling. It was not overly embellished by tremendous acts of violence, as is the case in most Hollywood movies about the inner-city, nor does it try to ignore the ugliness present in everyday life in South-Central.
The most heart-wrenching aspect of this film was the murder of Ricky, the USC-bound football star, who was gunned down in the alley the day he received the SAT result that would have allowed him to pass through the door leading out of the hopelessness of the ghetto.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2000
In, hollwood we see epics like Ben Hur and The Godfather to Goodfellas.We consider these epic movies because they sweep us into a storyline full of dramatic tones.What makes an epic shine a good storyline and charachters that you can understand and relate to and care for.Is this Boyz N The Hood yes it is and much much more,this movie is a true modern day epic and truly sweeping an incredible storyline that will keep you involved.it's a very realistic masterpeice and frank look into the life of inner city youth and the battleground they must deal with everyday not on a war zone but in there own neighborhoods.
Powerhouse performances by Cuba Gooding Jr. and Ice Cube.This movie tells us what living in this world is today and the battles you must fight not only for yourself but for the ones you love.
A orignal film powerful and very real as well as touching and sad.Admist all the violence ,chaos of a war torn Los Angeles.A heartfelt film and the
unfortunate truth very real.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 28, 2001
Usually, I hate these kinds of films about ghettoes, gangsters, and guns because they tend to glorify the very things they are supposed to warn the kids against (Superfly, Belly, New Jack City, The Mack, Colors, ad nauseum). But this is different and a tad more realistic. No high rolling pimps or drug dealers with flashy cars and fine women here, just some confused, wrectheced, stupid kids who choose the wrong path (Ice Cube and co) compared to Cuba Gooding who is growing up with wise guidance. So there's no delusion of the youth here. Oh yeah, for those who are put off by Fishburne's conspiracy theories in the film, these were inspired largely by a series of lectures that Min. Louis Farrakhan was giving at the time that were widely circulated in tapes in the ghettoes in the early 90s. Writer/director John Singleton was at one such lecture when he met Ice Cube and talked about making this film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2003
NO MOVIE CAPTURES THE REALNESS OF THE L.A. GHETTOS LIKE THIS ONE. THE PLOT REVOLVES AROUND THREE BOYS THAT LIVE THERE, TRE [CUBA GOODING, JR.] WHO WANTS TO GET OUT OF THE HOOD, TRE'S GOOD FRIEND RICKY [MORRIS CHESTNUT], WHO WANTS TO GO TO COLLEGE AND BECOME A FOOTBALL PLAYER, AND DOUGHBOY [ICE CUBE], A WOULD BE GANGBANGER WHO LIKES IT IN THE HOOD. BUT TRAGEDY STRIKES WHEN A GROUP OF GANG BANGERS VICIOUSLY GUN DOWN RICKY. AND NOW THERE SEEMS LIKE THE ONLY WAY FOR PAYBACK IS VIOLENCE. THIS MOVIE IS REALLY TOUCHING AND IT'S REALLY ON THE MONEY. IT'S PRETTY SAD TO SEE THAT WHEN SOMEONE IS FINALLY GONNA DO SOMETHING WITH THEIR LIFE, IT GETS TAKEN AWAY FOR BS REASONS. THIS MOVIE WAS ONE OF THE FIRST MOVIES TO ACCURATELY DEPICT WHAT GOES ON IN THE HOOD. THE IMPACT OF THIS MOVIE SHOULD TELL PEOPLE THAT GUNS AND GANGS AREN'T THE WAY TO GO. THIS IS STILL THE BEST HOOD MOVIE TO EVER BE RELEASED.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse