countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more scflyout Home All-New Kindle Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
299
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$13.70+ $3.49 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 18, 2003
Here's a track by track breakdown:
One of These Days: A nice bouncing bass line, Dr. Who Synth lines, and wicked lyrics make this one a 5/5
Pillow Of Winds: A sentimental favorite of mine, and of the prettiest songs ever. Listening to this reminds one of a falling feather. 5/5
Fearless: Amazing!!! Life Changer!!! Holy moly!!! The accoustic guitar is so clear and perfect and the singing is so amazing!! It's so well thought out and delivered with a level of sensitivity that is only achieved by the greats.This one is written from deep within. 5/5
San Topez: Catchy song. One that you may not like at first but just you wait you'll find that you'll have "As I reach for a peach...' stuck in your head. 4/5
Seamus: Seamus is pronounced Shamus. It's kind of like Sean/Shawn. On this one Floyd plays some deep blues with a real dog adding a nice effect. Not a life changing song, but short and pleasant. 4/5
Echoes: Pure genius!!! This song foreshadowed some of the greater themes to come on Dark Side of The Moon, Wish You Were Here, and so on. This song is a well orchestraded psychadelic masterpiece. 5/5
Final note, the genius of Fearless and Echoes makes up for any blemishes (as tiny as they are) that this album may have. This album is up there with the greatest albums ever made in my opinion and should be a part of any serious CD collection for a fan of rock music.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2003
Before The Wall, before Dark Side of the Moon, Pink Floyd created a very different kind of masterpiece. While their later albums were a triumph of concept, it is on Meddle where one can hear the *musical* peak of Pink Floyd's career. This is not a concept album--it is a musical journey showing off a variety of musical styles. The lyrics do not demand--they suggest, and allow the music to do the rest of the talking. Perhaps the most wonderful thing about Meddle is the fact that the band was truly functioning as a *band* here. Everyone's talents can be clearly heard, and no one shouts anybody else down.
There is no such thing as filler, on Meddle. Bookended by the mindblowing tracks "One of These Days" and "Echoes", the four "interior" tracks are severely underrated. "A Pillow of Winds" and "Fearless" are both pleasant, leisurely guitar-driven songs, and seem fairly well appreciated by fans. However, I believe that the much-maligned "San Tropez" and "Seamus" are also deserving of appreciation. "San Tropez" is particularly notable for some very unique Roger Waters vocals--rather optimistic and even a touch bluesy...a style he unfortunately never pursued after that point. "Seamus" gives a rare glimpse of the fun side of Pink Floyd, as well as a flashback to the band's origins as a blues cover band. This was never a song meant to be taken so seriously as some do. "One of These Days" is an explosive, energetic instrumental that perhaps foreshadows the angry, driven rock of Animals, but with only one lyric--a rare appearance by Nick Mason, whose processed vocals growl menacingly, "One of these days, I'm going to cut you into little pieces!"
The album's final piece, "Echoes", may be Pink Floyd's greatest work ever. From first to last "ping", this brilliant near-symphony is fantastic. Each bandsman's talents are clearly audible, even the simple-yet-effective contributions of Nick Mason and Roger Waters. The vocal harmony of David Gilmour and Richard Wright is mesmerising. Without question, this song contains the best verse Mr. Waters ever wrote: "Strangers passing in the street, by chance two separate glances meet, and I am you and what I see is me. And do I take you by the hand, and lead you through the land, and help me understand the best I can?"
Unfortunately, this reminder to walk a mile in the other man's shoes was a lesson Mr. Waters forgot in later years, at the price of devastating consequences to the band's output and to the members themselves. This moment in Pink Floyd's history is therefore one-of-a-kind, completely irreplaceable. The entire album can be summed up by the "jam" sequence in "Echoes". Never before, never again do the pieces fit together so seamlessly, each a joy on its own and in combination.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2002
Do you ever wonder what it would feel like to experience sonic perfection? I don't either...but if such a thing existed, this would be it. The album's highlight is the 23-minute "Echoes," considered by many to be the band's crowning achievement. Somehow, the song is able to keep your attention for the full duration...even though it's mostly instrumental. Also on this album are the (absolutely hilarious!) track "Seamus," about a dog who would howl when he heard blues music, and the hard-hitting "One Of These Days," in which Nick Mason's growling vocals make you wonder if you're in danger of being chopped "into little pieces." If you don't own this album, I must apologize profusely for not asking you to buy it sooner.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2008
The extravagant piece, Echoes, remains brilliant to this day because it stretches the listening ear and imagination of the listener. The opening riff and subsequent lyrics soon explode into a totally mind-expanding, improvisational set that is totally absorbing and slightly unsettling. Then the piece gradually returns to a more melodic sound and the listener is set gently down on the ground to the sound of the original echo. To this day I have never heard such a brilliant piece of "rock" music, and when I first heard it in 1970 it was THE radical sound.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2006
I could listen to this album all day, and I often do!! It's seamless, timeless, and ethereal music will get you through that rough day at work without a hitch! LOVE IT! This and "Wish You Were Here" are my two all-time fav Pink Floyd albums. I saw them several times in concert in my youth (those darn YUTS!@) and wow, if only we could turn back time..........buy this one, you won't regret it!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2004
It's to say that the album has two very separate halfs. One is very early 70's sounding, with the heavy-rocker 'One of this Days' and the soft 'A Pillow of Winds' as highlights, really a very experimental and unique side, if not reaching the standards for a Pink Floyd's album side, and the other half.
This one contains an only track, 'Echoes' which is for me the biggest achievement from Pink Floyd as a track, maybe along with 'Shine on You Crazy Diamond'. Not only that, but maybe it's one of the long tracks that will have to be exhibited in the future to explain people what "was" symphonic rock. The theme starts with a submarine-radar sound lost in the immensity of the ocean's silence. Some sonsensy keyboards start to groove and a beautiful guitar from mister Gilmour draws a slow and sinuous melody, and the band starts playing over Nick Mason's lazy drum beating. So the vocal part appears with a nice and sensitive harmony between Gilmour and Wright. Everything develops to an almost pre-funky jam and after that the music starts disappearing under a scary and breathtaking sinfony of what is like underwater screaming creatures. That lasts for some minutes, and so a muted electric guitar leads the way gradually from silence to what is one of the most beautiful, energetic and full of emotion musical crescendos a band has ever achieved. Find out the rest of it for yourselves!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2004
1. One of These Days- This instrumental reminds of a battle (no battle in particular). I liked the bass and the drums especially. I watched the Floyd do it on 'Live At Pompeii' and it was terrific, just like the recording.
2. Pillow of Winds- This one is not my most favourite off the album, it sounds pretty nice, though. If you like that really folky sort of thing you might like this one.
3. Fearless- I just really like this song. The lyrics and the way they sing them is nice.
4. San Tropez- I like a lot of blues and jazz. This sounds like it and it's really smooth. I really like the piano in this.
5. Seamus- I wondered why they put this song on there, but it's alright, just a little weird. I liked the dog in the background, he/she sounded nice.
6. Echoes- This song is, without a doubt, the greatest song ever composed. Everything about it is terrific. I watched this on 'Live at Pompeii' too and it was great. I really liked that one part where they all jammed before heading into that mysterious bit (listen to it and you'll know what I'm talking about).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2004
This is one of Pink's more unknown albums, which is unfortunate since it's one of their best. This is a great album. I would recommend it for anyone who likes stuff like The Beatles and Yes. It's different and original, just like every other Pink album out there.
There is much less electric guitar and synthesizer in there, which is what makes it good. Not that the albums with that in it aren't good either.
The lyrics are excellent and reflect Water's growth in writing throughout his career. The lyrics in this start to look like those of Dark Side of the Moon, one of the greatest music epics ever, and you can see by listening to them both how Meddle is the missing link to Dark Side.
The vocals are great, especially Rick Wright's performance in "Echoes" adding a great end to a great album.
Overall, if you like Pink Floyd to the point where you could never hate them no matter what they do, then buy The Wall. But Meddle is for all music fans, especially those who are Pink.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2004
Pink Floyd's seventh album Meddle is now considered a masterpiece and many consider this album as the precursor of Dark Side of the Moon, especially the 23 and a half minute side long work on Meddle entitled Echoes which was originally called when performed live as either Nothing(parts 1-23) or Return of the Son of Nothing or How We Won the Double. However, when Meddle initially hit record stores in November of 1971 here in the States(I got my first copy in November of 1987 on cassette as a gift from my father). The album was a big time commercial failure in the States peaking at #70 because most Americans at the time were not quite ready for Floyd and were too busy focusing on forgettable artists like The Carpenters, Carole King, James Taylor and other Johnny come latelys. Those aforementioned groups and artists(save James Taylor) have gone the way of the 8-track tape since then. Meddle did eventually go Gold(in October, 1973 in the wake of Dark Side of the Moon's success) and Double Platinum (in March of 1994). Meddle was once again produced by the four Floyd members and was recorded at Morgan Studios, Air Studios and Abbey Road throughout early to mid 1971 as the latter two studios first equipped 16-track recording studios to record more parts with ease. Meddle kicks off with the classic instrumental One of These Days(which would remain a live staple until 1973 and was resurrected for both post-Waters Floyd tours) with the double tracked bass guitars from bassist/vocalist Roger Waters and guitarist/vocalist David Gilmour(whom also added some great slide and regular guitar work on this track), organ swirls from keyboardist Rick Wright and the notorious vocal phrase from drummer Nick Mason(this is his most famous vocal appearance, he had sung Corporal Clegg on A Saucerful of Secrets but Dave and Nick are embarrased about Clegg). The next track, the Waters/Gilmour penned A Pillow of Winds sounds like an outtake from Wish You Were Here. Fearless is next and I first heard this track on the 1983 Floyd collection Works which I got in 1985 on tape and introduced me to the early pre-Dark Side Floyd. San Tropez follows and sounds like the father of Free Four musically. Then Seamus was a funny blues that ended the first half of the album which then was reworked as Mademoiselle Nobs on the Live at Pompeii film. Then comes the album's 23 and a half minute tour-de-force Echoes which is the major reason why fans love and own this album. The song features a classic lead vocal performance from Wright and Gilmour, excellent solos, a trippy middle section and great musicianship from the band. I recommend Meddle, especially this repackaged/remastered version released by Capitol in April of 1995, to all Floyd fans. This album was the stepping stone towards The Dark Side of the Moon and is my fourth all time favorite Floyd album after Wish You Were Here, The Dark Side of the Moon and The Division Bell.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2004
Ok, my opinion on "Meddle" is it's a great peice from Pink Floyd. From the incredible "One Of These Days" to the opus "Echoes" Which has gotten a new nod with the recent "Hit's" collection. My dogs love "Seamus"!
Now to what I don't get in people like the last reviewer. Comments like :You are not a Pink Floyd fan at all if you don't love this album" I am sorry. You don't need to love EVERYTHING by a band or artist to make you a fan! Everyone has different tastes and thank God for that or someone like Mr. Roger Waters wouldn't be so unique! To add insult to injury by adding "Not wanting to sound like a fanatic...", looks like ya already did. It reminds me of Trekkies who love every episode of Star Trek. There is good with bad in everything. I love reading people's alternate opinion. That's what makes this forum so great. I also don't agree with this album should have been called "Intro to Dark Side Of The Moon" It is a fine peice all on it's own without being attached to an album released 2 years later. I would be disappointed if "Obscured By Clouds" didn't get released. Which came out in between "Meddle and "Dark Side.." My review in a nut shell: If you are a fan of Pink Floyd's unpredicible genius. You will love "Meddle"!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$12.88