countdown boutiques-francophones Beauty Furniture Kindle sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
496
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: LP Record|Change
Price:$44.51+ $3.49 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 10, 2001
If you are a pink floyd fan and you DONT own the wall, you shouldn't be aloud to be a fan. This album tells a story of a mans life. Through a tough childhood and a depressing adulthood. This album has songs from singing about his "mother" to songs speaking of "young lust". Songs about being "comfortably numb" to having to "tun like hell". The album is filled with epic melodic songs to having depressing songs with distored guitar and evil lyrics. My personal favorites on this album are "Another brick in the wall(all of them)", "Mother", Goodbye blue sky" "Young lust", 'Hey you", "Comfortably numb", Run like hell" are my favorites. But if buying this epic of an album i suggest you do not listen to it all at one time. It is a hazard to your health. If Listening to pink floyd to long and you slip into your own little coma than please consult parametics. It is better to listen in sections. They need to put a warning label on it. But anyway this is the greatest album of the 70's. If you enjoy the album then see the movie. Of course that probably has a higher health risk than the album due to that u see they trauma that the man goes through as well as hearing it. GET THIS ALBUM!!!!!!!!!!!(sorry for my poor grammer in this, i didnt review)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2004
Truth be told, Pink Floyd shares the pain of a child without the cliche of just words. Somehow, as we listen, there is a change in our perception of our own world as we know it. Somewhere in our subconscience we all know how it feels to really hurt. "Pink" Floyd is a child in an abusive household whos anguish has no words. Trauma can never be described in words alone. Verbage will never do justice to it; to know pain is to have felt it firsthand. In the title song "The Wall" part 2 the ending phrase being yelled "If you don't eat your meat, you can't have any pudding! How can you have any pudding if you don't eat your meat!?" only scratches the surface of the verbal abuse he deals with. The outcry earlier in the song "we don't need no education, we don't need no thought control" only further describes the ultimate frustration that he deals with when he screams "HEY! Teacher! Leave them kids alone!" The entire album describes an abused child as he developes into a man and grows into the dysfunctional individual that he eventually becomes. To read down the track titles of the 2 disc set can only verbally describe the horror that he has endured. He has eventually employed every escape tatic that he has in his arsenal to dull the ultimate pain. "Run like Hell" "Comfortably Numb", these songs only lightly, vaguely describe the methods of self preservation that "Pink" employs to keep himself sane, yet at what expense? That, I suppose, is the question that we all have to ask the child in each one of us.
~DJPrimal
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2001
For people whose first introduction to Pink Floyd was The Wall, this is the best and most original Pink Floyd album. But, it really isn't. It is about 25% too long, including songs that don't really add to the story and aren't that good musically. The ideas here have been expressed in earlier Pink Floyd work, such as Dark Side of the Moon and espcially Wish You Were Here.
I consider this Pink Floyd's answer to Genesis's Lamp Lies Down on Broadway. They are nearly identical albums in theme, format and structure. They both have a cathartic grand finale and a hopeful epilog. Even the album covers are similar. Only the Genesis album came out several years earlier.
Since The Wall is basically a rock opera, it works much better as a live show. The recently released live version, Is There Anybody Out There, is an improvement over the studio version. It brings out the energy and emotion of the story. My criticisms of the Wall are minor, and the live version pushes the work into five star material.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2002
ok, let's get down to the basic point of this - this is a really great album. it is not my absolute favorite floyd album but is a pretty [darn] good one. here's a partial line up -
in the flesh - great opener, sets the mood for the piece
the thin ice - starts out very mellow but continues into a hard rocker
another brick in the wall (pt. 1) - a great laid back song, good opener for pt. 2 which is 2 tracks away
the happiest days of our lives - sets the mood for another brick in the wall pt. 2 and displays the feelings of "pink" about his childhood school days
another brick in the wall (pt. 2) - everybody has heard this song, regardless if they are a floyd fan or not. its a great song though, really good single.
mother - a great acoustic song which displays roger waters' great song writing ability - very simple but very good
goodbye blue skies - a song about world war 2; beautiful but a bit depressing
empty spaces - good song; very deep & dark thoughts by roger waters
young lust - song about being a rock star & the rock star life
one of my turns - mellow keyboard song which turns into a high adrenaline rock theme (about "pink" crashing a hotel room to pieces and scaring a groupie out of her mind)
don't leave me now - very depressing and dark song about pink's loneliness and depression, particulary about his wife leaving him
another brick in the wall (pt. 3) - a high adrenaline (but very short) rendition of another brick in the wall
goodbye cruel world - a very straightforward and depressing song about pink's further descent into madness
disc 2:
hey you - very good song; great opener for disc 2; very much about loneliness
is there anybody out there? - another depressing song about pink's building of "the wall" and his alienation; the title is the only set of words in the song
nobody home - very sad piano-based piece; but a great song, even roger waters himself said that
vera - another very sad song following "nobody home" - very orchestrated song
bring the boys back home - an orchestrated band song; very self explanatory about bringing home the british soldiers of war
comfortably numb - originally a david gilmour song, with the help of roger waters' writing as well; awesome rocker song; really brings the tempo up on the 2nd disc a lot
the show must go on - very short but good acoustic song; like "hey you" it is not on the movie
in the flesh? - another version of in the flesh?; little bit longer, as it has different words
run like hell - song like "in the flesh" about pink's uprising of a fascist nazi-like army
waiting for the worms - a good song, once again following the fascist portion of the story (if youre in a band, i recommend not singing the words to this live as a cover, being as how it is extremely racist and may result in an [rear] beating)
stop - a very slow, short and simple song after the downfall of pink's "hammer" army
the trial - a very humorous song "showing feelings of an impecable human nature" as the schoolmaster puts it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2001
The Wall is a towering achievement that causes nearly all other rock albums to pale in comparison. The third best-selling album of all time (after The Eagles greatest hits and Thriller), the Wall tells the tale of an angry young man who was verbally abused as a child, and consequently builds up "The Wall" to protect himself. Each attack on his young psyche results in "Another Brick in the Wall."
As the angry young man grows up, The Wall interferes with his relationships and some pretty weird stuff happens. At one point, the wall is so complete that the man becomes, "Comfortably Numb" -- a chilling thought that still sends shivers up my spine. I always envision that serial killers become "Comfortably Numb" before they are able to kill people with dispassion, again and again. Ultimately The Wall is a story about a child who just wanted to be loved and isn't, and on this level anyone can relate to it.
Aside from perhaps Tommy, how many other two-volume sets in Rock tell a complete vision of a single story? None that I'm familiar with.
Aside from the depth and resonance of the material, the music is also mesmerizing, powerful and deeply disturbing. Spare instrumentals, the use of sonic sounds like breaking glass and busy signals as music, are all far more original than any of the rock-schlock that has been released in the past 20 years. I could list all of the great songs on the record, but that would be pointless. To me, the amazing thing is that there are no BAD songs on this record!
So, go out and buy this, and, maybe, ten years from now, The Wall can overtake Thriller and The Eagles as having the No. 1 best-selling album of all time. It would certainly be worthy of that title.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2001
I don't care what anyone says, this album blows Dark Side of the Moon out of the water!!!!! Dark Side is good, but this album is, well, perfect... I love the story, and the music is totally awesome... I spent so much time trying to pick apart every little aspect of the lyrics to piece the story together, and I finally feel like I have it... although there is more detail, the basic idea is about a symbolic wall that was built up around the character Pink... the first cd talks about different things that added to this wall, hence the titles Another Brick in the Wall parts 1 - 3... an over protective mother, death of his father, abusive teachers, etc, etc, whereas I think the second cd is about what is happening inside the wall, and the eventual tearing down of the wall... the album seems to play almost like a cycle, where the music that starts the album ends the album as well... hmmm, I wonder if that has some meaning... ahh well, this album is great... it's full of great music, and great literature... definately among my top albums of all time...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 16, 2002
The Wall was probably the best Pink Floyd album to date, as any Floyd fan would agree (or not, some of your tastes are just odd). It signified a descent from stardom into insanity, the story of a man who builds a psychological wall around himself, cutting himself off from the world around him and running his childhood memories back through his mind like a reel of 8mm film. It was certainly was a dark, depressing way to end what was a great band. After The Wall, Pink Floyd fell apart, what with the firing of Richard Wright, tensions between band members, and Roger Waters, who really couldn't get over the success of The Wall (his later music was along the same line, politics and "theatrical", epic-sounding music). Even though this album was pretty much the downfall of the band, it's nothing to be disheartened about. They left a magnificent parting gift. From the manic rushing of "In The Flesh?" and just plain scariness of "One of My Turns" and "Don't Leave Me Now", to the raw, quiet insanity of "Is There Anybody Out There?" and "In The Flesh" (the second one), the album sucks you into Pink's psychadelic guilt and memory trip. The song "Vera", though short, was actually really good, I thought. Also, "The Trial" was a great piece of music. It was almost like a theatrical presentation (as I mentioned earlier). I would recommend this album to most Pink Floyd fans, mostly because it's the last real Floyd album (The Final Cut doesn't really count, and neither do the Gilmour albums, which are good in their own ways), and also because it's just a great, thought-provoking album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2001
"The Wall" is the greatest full-length concept album of all time, period. The recording is immense, somewhat unaccessable, dark, and completely brilliant. Nine Inch Nails and Tool come to mind when reviewing this album, because these two bands and Pink Floyd are some of the few that are more interested in making great music than keeping the fans happy and the record deals coming. This CD is an experiment in seeing how much strangers will get into the band's personal work. Fortunately for Pink Floyd, they're such a great band that they can make a living out of this kind of idea. "The Wall" isn't really a collection of different songs, but rather a twisted musical that floors me every time I pop it in the CD player. As with all Pink Floyd albums, I find it hard to describe the beauty and complexity within them, so I urge you to just pick up a copy of one or more of their classic albums. I guarantee (unless you're a Slipknot redneck) you will be hooked on Pink Floyd before the album you've bought is done playing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2004
The Wall is without any doubt one of the best conceptual albums ever written, a classic work of art that has changed the way I listen to and appreciate music forever.
From the very first tune In The Flesh till the last Outside The Wall,it is a musical journey into the very dark and troubled world of Pink,a rock musician and Roger Waters alter ego, full of angst, frustrations, anger, disappointments, haunting past, failed relationships, inability to communicate with society at large or express himself to others and ultimately a burning need for redemption and inner peace.
But one important factor must be clear while reviewing this masterpiece: Although it was released and produced under the Pink Floyd name, and although band members, mainly Dave Gilmour, have contributed to it, it is still a very personal work, more specifically Roger Waters's..his world, his memories and still simmering grief about his father's early death ,his alienation from his fans, and his
very clear and outspoken criticism of the social, educational and political state of his beloved England, all themes that have recurred before in all Waters Pink Floyd's work from Dark Side of Moon onwards.
The Wall was the result of an artist battling his own demons, at the height of his anxiety and creativity, and as if in writing it, he was trying to exorcise these demons.(For instance In Goodbye Cruel World, you can tell that the lyrics are so real, so personal and private)
This personal dimension to The Wall was instrumental in touching so many listeners in a way few records were able to do before or after, and making it the all time classic that is today.
The story of Pink and the wall he built around himself also touched a very raw nerve with the listeners, and most did identify with this sense of alienation that has steadily grown post 60s on a personal level, and with the bold message about the freedom and individuality of thought that educational and political establishments try to stifle on a broader level..Another Brick in the Wall pt2, and with its opening line' We don't need no education..'has become the most recognized song the world over.
Musically, along with Eloy's Dawn and Power and the Passion, I have yet to hear tunes that perfectly match the mood and development of the plot!Waters and to a lesser extent Gilmour (mainly with Comfortably Numb and Run Like Hell) match the life, and transformation of Pink with music so brilliantly, leading to the climax of the epic and operatic Trial.
To listen to the Wall, is to live an experience that will touch your heart and engage your mind.
A lot has been said about the deep rift that happened between band members while making this album, and about Waters's ego , which led to the inevitable break up in ''82-'83, but whether you like Waters attitude or vision or not, you can not deny the fact that his creative genuis and inner demons and his alone, were responsible for one of the best rock albums ever written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2003
Quite simply, an absolutely staggering accomplishment. Like all great Pink Floyd albums, this one is a concept piece, and Roger Waters is arguably at his best in this fascinating, two-disc look at loneliness, depression and introspection as felt by a rock star. Sure, "Another Brick In The Wall" and "Comfortably Numb" have been beaten to death on classic rock radio stations (what really irritates me is to hear the three-minute version of "Another Brick" on "1980's" formatted radio stations, but that's another story for another time).
The bottom line is that these twenty-odd tracks transform themselves into a truly superior listening experience when enjoyed in their entirety. There's blistering lead guitar from David Gilmour throughout, and some great rock and roll moments on this two-disc set. But there are moments of acoustic beauty as well, as is the case on all Pink Floyd releases. "In The Flesh," "One of My Turns" and "Hey You" are fabulous songs and would probably make a Pink Floyd best-of compilation, if such a thing were possible, but I can't emphasize enough that this is the rare case of a concept album being a complete and total success. If you aren't familiar with this all-time classic, give it several hard listens. Although you might not be able to name more than just 4-5 songs, you'll be thoroughly aware of all of them--and you'll remember the sound effects and asides as well (like the television sets exploding). The older I get, the more I appreciate this one. Strongly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse